Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for BEAR RIVER CLAN KENNEL
Testimonials (29) | Back to BEAR RIVER CLAN KENNEL
Submitted by: ed nagel on Aug 26, 2021
So sorry to hear of Joes passing. I bought sparky (renamed Rigby) who was actually joes house dog when he was 1 year old. He is not your typical PP as he is all black with a 100 percent short coat. More on the English pointer side than the pudel. Probably why he wasnt sold to begin with. The dog has been nothing short of spectacular when it comes to upland bird hunting. Points, holds and honors with very little training. Retrieves to hand. Works close which is very important in the draws of central Kansas.
Wasnt that interested in the the water to begin with (typical english pointer) but now you cant keep him out of it. Rigby is a little over 2 years old now so going into his second upland bird year. Cant wait to watch him work. This year will be his 1st for duck hunting, looking forward to that also.
Submitted by: Mario Franchi on Jun 10, 2021
RIP Joe.

Awesome dog, very pleased with our pup.
Submitted by: Dennis Waldron on May 12, 2021
Joe passed away last night (5/11/2021). What a gentleman. God rest your soul Joe. Semper Fi.
Submitted by: Sam Schanfarber on Mar 17, 2021
Cannot say enough good things about my dog, Otto, that I got from Joe as a puppy about 6 months ago. He is shaping up to be a wonderful dog—extremely smart and athletic, yet incredibly sweet and affectionate for a bird dog. I also greatly appreciate the way Joe does business. His knowledge and genuine love of his dogs makes it easy to go with him with confidence. I am already considering another pup from Joe in the future.
Submitted by: Brittany Lesmeister on Mar 13, 2021
I can’t say enough about the puppy we got from Joe! Hatchet is amazing and so loving. He has a personality of his own and brings us so much joy. He is our first pudelpointer and we didn’t know what to expect, but will probably never own another breed. He is high energy and wants to play! We take him bird hunting. He is not gun shy and gets so excited to go!! Love him so much and couldn’t picture our life without him!!! Thank you Joe!
Submitted by: Betsy McConnell on Feb 08, 2021
We got our sweet Molly from Joe in June 2020 when she was just about 8 weeks old. She is now 9 months old and is an unbelievable dog for so many reasons! She went on her 2nd hunt yesterday, with ZERO formal training and quite frankly little training at all besides some retrieving, gun training and us just working with her on obedience. Let me tell you, the natural ability that comes from Joe’s dogs is amazing! She not only found all the birds, she also held a point and followed commands! We were blown away with her natural abilities! She is also an amazing pet! She is VERY sweet and LOVES attention and loves to cuddle! When they say Pudelpointers are great work dogs and great pets, it is no exaggeration! I can’t speak to other breeders, but the dogs Joe at Bear River is breeding have an amazing blood line with natural hunting ability that is very strong! I would highly recommend if you are looking for a great dog that will need little training to hunt that you buy from Joe! We couldn’t be happier! Thank you!!!
Submitted by: Bob Heisser on Feb 04, 2021
We got Mabel in Dec 2017. The original intention was that she was going to be my newest hunting dog. Well...that didn't quite work out as I thought it would; but it's actually better. My wife (and I) fell in love with her almost immediately. Anyone that comes in contact with Mable feels the same: She is the most "loving" dog I've ever had on top of that she is super smart, does point well, great nose and did I mention that she's loving??? My mother-in-law moved down to the Denver area with us a couple of years ago from her ranch in MT. They have had a lot of good dogs, mostly border collies and she has never had a dog in the house. Well, Mabel is the exception. My mother-in-law lives just a few houses from us and we are over there every day. She has made Mabel her own bed and big leather chair with afghans on it so she is "comfortable"!!! Her deceased husband is probably just shaking his head in heaven right now! BTW, Joe is awesome and would highly recommend him and his dogs. You can tell when a breeder "loves" his dogs and Joe is at the top of my list.
Submitted by: Jacob Oomens on Oct 29, 2020
So I just got my first Puddle Pointer Puppy about a month ago. I've wanted one for about 25 years but never had the right situation to have one. I got in touch with Joe at Bear River Clan Kennel. Lucky for me that he had puppies at that time. Over course of next month I talked with joe and visit his beautiful property met all of his dogs/puppies. Joe is a First Class Gentleman and you don't find someone like Joe very often these days. Extremely friendly and unbelievably knowledgeable about the breed and his dogs. Everything that Joe told me about the breed and his dogs have been 100% accurate to the T. After much debate between the wife and I total of 5 hours spent with joe on a Saturday afternoon we decided on a boy "Chester". So far Chester has been such a blessing to our family and hands down the best puppy my whole family has ever seen. Very observant good listening pup. Chester is 10 weeks now and today he pointed his very first bird this afternoon when I took him out for his afternoon walk. At 10 weeks Chester is smart enough to be walked off the leash he doesn't wonder much further then 10 yards from us. with out stopping to see where I am. On the rare occasion he gets distracted as puppies do a simple Chester that far enough bring him back or to halt. Honestly when were walking this afternoon I had no idea what he was doing when he locked up and went into point being there was little brush in the way of my view. when I got closer and flushed the bird, I couldn't describe the feeling I had in that moment. At 6 weeks Chester was playing fetch and every night he curls up next to you when its bed time. Like Joe said they will run/hunt all day and not tear up the house because there bored. Joe knows his stuff we plan on buying Chester a buddy in a couple of years. Chester sleeps typically from 9pm to 6am with maybe one potty break around 2am most nights. My uncle who raise several puppies had never had a pup like Chester. If you are looking for calm/mellow house dog that will run all day in the field. Then you seriously need to call Joe up and get one of his pups. You will not be disappointed. If you have any questions reach out to Joe.
Submitted by: NATE VARNER on Oct 05, 2020
Just an update on my dog "Echo" who we got from Joe. Echo has far exceeded my expectations in the field. She has been great for pheasant, but she has shined on the water. I spend more time duck hunting than I do upland hunting. Echo has retrieved every duck we have downed. She is just over 2 years old now and she is already getting much more calm and patient in the duck blind. It is all business for her duck hunting. After her second time out last year she started watching the sky. Now she is always watching the sky and this year has alerted us on 2 different occasions of birds coming into the decoy spread before we saw them. She is fantastic with the family and pretty chill. I highly recommend Joe's dogs to anyone looking for that versatile hunting dog that is great with the family and sheds very little. They say that they don't shed which is not true. However, it is next to nothing when compared to most hunting breeds.
Submitted by: Jake Kaminsky on Feb 13, 2020
It has been a year since we picked up our beautiful dog Molly from Joe at Bear River Clan kennels.
She has been a joy, a wonderful companion dog and great huntress. She has been a life changer for us. I wish you the best.
Jake Kaminsky
Walla Walla Washington
Submitted by: Randy Piasecki on Sep 17, 2019
I was considering several of the versatile breeds until I spoke with Joe. His knowledge of the breed and confidence in his dog convinced me the pudelpointer and his pups were for me. My wife and ISS traveled to meet Joe, his dogs and our prospective pup, having our heart set on a black female. We drove back to MN with our pup and it's been a fantastic 8 weeks! I've owned 5 other hunting breeds over the years and Joe's pup is showing great progress and potential as both a hunting machine and family member. Highly recommend Bear River Clan pudelpointers!

Randy Piasecki
Submitted by: Randy L Piasecki on Sep 16, 2019
I can't thank Joe enough for the time and patience over several calls with my questions about the Pudelpointer. After a couple weeks conversation, my wife and I drove to Colorado from our home in Minnesota to see his litter and find our new family member. After hearing Joe's description and seeing pictures, we settled on a black female before leaving home.

Joe and Max met us at the gate, the females greeted us at the ranch house. We were amazed at how calm the adults were with no jumping or barking, only jockeying for position on who got pet and scratched first!! Joe was right, these dogs are calm and we'll mannered. My wife was not raised with dogs in the house, but after meeting Joe and his pudelpointer family, she could see this pup joining our terrier in the house...and between us in bed!

Remi is now 4 months old and doing EXTREMELY well with all aspects of her training. We just completed the first weekend of the MN grouse season and she did very well, quartering, checking the wind and checking my position in the north woods. Considering the puppy training and little introduction to live birds at this point, I'm ecstactic about her progress. We will only get better as a team as she ages and training progresses.

Wonderful breed, knowledgeable and trustworthy breeder, and beautiful pups...how can it get better than that!!?? Trust Joe, he know his dogs and he knows HIS DOGS.

Hopefully my wife doesn't read this, because I'm thinking another of Joe's pups in 2021.
Submitted by: CLIFTON DODGE on Sep 10, 2019
I RECEIVED MY PUPPY RIGHT AFTER THE FIRST OF THE YEAR. I AM PLEASED WITH MY DOGS PROGRESS THUS FAR. HE IS EAGER TO PLEASE AND HAS THE DRIVE THAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN AN ALL AROUND HUNTING DOG. THIS WILL BE GUS' FIRST UPLAND BIRD SEASON AND AM LOOKING FORWARD TO GETTING HIM IN THE FIELD ON WILD BIRDS.
HE IS ALSO A GREAT FAMILY DOG. MY KIDS LOVE HIM.
JOE: I CAN SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE GUY. HE LOVES EVERYONE OF THOSE PUPPIES.

CD
Submitted by: Ray Foss on Sep 04, 2019
I bought my puppy last thanksgiving from Joe , I just ran her in her N A (natural ability ) test . Ran her 2 weekends in a row in two different states 2 different sets of judges , due to signing up late and not sure I would get in . Well she received a 112 prize 1 both times .
Submitted by: Chad Eversole on Aug 12, 2019
I have one of Joe's pups a black male. I could not be any happier with him, full of personality, drive and natural instinct. He is joy to be around. Dealing with Joe has been easy and enjoyable. Joe and I have not actually met. Joe had family commitment so we did everything on the phone. Amy his daughter met me at the ranch and we did all the puppy dealings and it couldn't have been easier. I highly recommend Joe and his dogs.

Chad
Submitted by: Amie Collins on Jun 29, 2019
A year ago we traveled from Oregon to Maybel Colorado to meet our new puppy, not only did we gain a puppy we gained a life long friend. Joe is amazing. He knows the pudelpointer breed very well and his dogs are incredible. As soon as we brought her home she instantly had the instinct to hunt. She is now a little over a year old. She can spend the entire day out in the field hunting then come home and be a loving family dog. We could not be happier.

Thank you so much joe!!!!

-Amie, Jake and kids 😁-
Submitted by: Donald Frigaard on Jun 06, 2019
Our family was already familiar with the Pudelpointer bread after adopting our first Pudelpointer in February of 2018. Stella immediately became my dog and had the natural ability to hunt, point, swim, and retrieve. She was and is amazing. We wanted to find a boyfriend for Stella so the search began. My kwife was very specific about wanting a black Pudelpointer so the search began and we were willing to wait. Well we didn't have to wait long. I saw a picture of Joe Calhoun's Bear River Clan Pudelpointers and called to interview Joe and talk about his dogs. It turns out it may have been one of the best calls I ever made. Joe had a young 10 week old black puppy that was magnificent and Joe was very eager to share his knowledge and experience about raising Pudelpointers. Over the next two weeks we worked out the arrangements to get Bodie home. It turned out that I ended up making a 1700 mile round trip in February to meet Joe in Maybell to pick little (now big) Bodie up. Bodie was well socialized and traveled well for the 650 mile trip home. It was the best move for our family. This boy is growing and is beautiful. He may be the best looking Pudelpointer I have every seen at 8 months. (and I thought Stella was good) I wish I could download his picture. He is strong, intuitive and willing in all aspects of training. I can't wait for the season to begin. until then we'll have fun learning together with his big sister. Thanks so much Joe for providing such a great legacy of Pudelpointers. Your Friend Don
Submitted by: Nate Varner on Jun 04, 2019
I got our pup from Joe last October. Her name is Echo and has been dynamite! She has a great nose and drive to go with it. She also has a perfect temperment. Very chill around the family and hanging out in the house but a beast in the field. Been very good for the upland birds, but will be using her just as much for duck and she already retrieves well in the water. Echo is not a year yet but I can tell she is just what I was looking for. Very, very happy with the purchase.

Thanks Joe!
Submitted by: John Small on Jan 08, 2019
Mr. Calhoun has been a joy to work with, and our pup The Grimm of Bear River Clan (born end July) is perfect - both as a family dog and in the field - and is strikingly beautiful with a long/curly black coat. Her "birdiness" is strong and immediately apparent. At less than 6 months she is already pointing and comfortable with gunfire. And besides that, my 12 year old daughter is in love with her! Grimm gets along with our other bird dog (2YO Wirehaired Pointing Griffon) beautifully, both at home and in the field. We simply could not be more pleased. One of the best experiences I've ever had with a breeder and a new pup, and I've had bird dogs for 35 years.
Submitted by: Jed Musgravd on Jan 04, 2019
I got Mae in September of 2018. She has been the best dog ever! From October through December she has tracked and retrieved over 50_pheasants. She is a persistent hunter. She is a great dog around and in the house. I have trained her in the field she stays in range, she retrieves and has a calm and friendly disposition. She has done all of this at 6 months old!
Joe was great to work with and let me spend a lot of time on 2 trips to his ranch to pick my puppy. I am everglades with this dog!
Submitted by: Ray A Foss on Jan 01, 2019
I bought my pudelpointer from Joe , I had many puppies to choose from ,Joe steered me to (Sage ) the one I bought ,I can,t get over the instincts she has out of the box you might say . I,ve had labs up till now that I had to teach to zig zag in front of me not so with my new puddle pointer from Bear River Clan . Took her to a game farm to start her on wild birds , You would have thought she was 5 not 5 months old , She pointed like a champ . She (Sage ) is so calm in the house I just can,t say enough good things . She loves loves the outdoors even here in Wisconsin at below freezing temps. Thanks Joe .
Submitted by: caleb roubison on Aug 06, 2018
We got our first puppy from Joe in the spring of 2016. She is only just over two now and has amazing instinct and is already winning comptition We love everything about her, high energy, loyal and smart. We were so happy with our first one we want second puppy. I would highly recommend any puppy that Joe would provide. He also provides cabins for his guest while they select of pick up their puppies. He is available with help and provide guidance on care and training for your dog as well. He has become an amazing family friend since we first met him and will return for all our Puppy needs.

With Respect
Cab
Submitted by: Wayne on Jul 07, 2018
I got my first pudle pointer from Joe, he’s only 3 months old and already retrieving anything and everything back to hand. Has great hunting instincts and is super birdie. He’s very calm and gentle with my young children abouslty no complaints. Joes a great guy and takes personal interest in each puppy he sells. If you want a good hunting/family dog give Joe a call.
Submitted by: DK & Teresa Dameron on Apr 21, 2018
Pistol Pete of Bear River Clan is a natural hunter, swimmer and retriever. He is an great example of a well bred Pudelpointer. Pete is loyal, obedient, eager to please and is relentless in the field and in the water. He is also a special part of our family, he loves all people and is gentle with kids.
Joe Calhoun is a very reputable breeder and raises top of the line puppies. He has awesome breeding stock and spends lots of time with his puppies which are socialized from birth.
Pete just turned two years old and he is by far the best dog we have ever owned. Over the last year he has proven himself to be an excellent versatile hunting dog for waterfowl and upland game birds alike.
Thank you Joe for giving us the opportunity to be a part of the Bear River Clan.
Submitted by: Bob Heisser on Feb 05, 2018
First of all, Joe is the best. He takes a personal interest in whomever is going to buy a pup from him. He also has a super personality and won't steer you wrong. Now for our pup, Mabel. We have only had her for 5 weeks (she's 15 weeks old). Yet, the instincts, the wanting to please, the intellect and the disposition is the absolute best I have ever experienced with a pup at this age. I have had labs and wirehaired pointing griffons and while they were/are good dogs Mabel is way beyond them. If you are looking for an incredible put from someone you can trust do yourself a favor and call Joe.
Submitted by: Roger Sells on Jan 20, 2018
We got our first puppy from Joe in the spring. He is only five months old but has amazing instinct and is already hunting! We love everything about him, high energy, loyal and smart. We were so happy with our first one we just went back and picked up our second puppy. I would highly recommend any puppy that Joe would provide.
Submitted by: Jeremiah Holthus on Jan 12, 2018
We got our little girl, Sage, from Joe the end of last May. She is now nine months old, and I have been hunting with her since September. She is an amazing puppy. Points and holds really well, and will retrieve anything you knock down. Very Very happy with the dog we got from this kennel. Would recommend to anyone!
Submitted by: Randall Hixson on Jan 29, 2017
We got our puppy from Joe, born a year ago today. He is a high energy dog with a lot of natural ability. many people want my pup but there is no way. He will only get better I would like to get another pup from Joe, if you do you will not regret it!
if there were a higher rating Joe would get it
Submitted by: jeff meisberger on Nov 29, 2015
I bought a pudelpointer from joe an he is a awesome water loving dog listens really well I will be getting me another one.

Submit your testimonial Back to BEAR RIVER CLAN KENNEL