Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Christy Lee's Setters

Testimonials (25) | Back to Christy Lee's Setters
Submitted by: Shearer Ann Anderson on Jul 18, 2014
I have been owned by English Setters my entire life. Dad and I hunted quail and dove until I left for college. I've also had Show Setters. I even had a National Champion. But my heart is for a little hunting setter. I have been doing English Setters Rescue for years. In rescue it is rare you find a liter. My hunt was on... I know the breeders I wasn't going to consider. I put out feelers. I have relatives in Birmingham who told me about Christy Lee. I looked her up and liked what I read. Then two friends had her dogs. Mind made up. Looked at her web page and a new born litter front and center. Not a pretty site but this 60 year old woman was doing the happy setter dance. Called Christy Lee and put my deposit in the mail. It is worth taking time to check out your breeder. Christy Lee is, in my humble opinion, one of the good ones. Several things that impressed me. Within the first few days pictures of Sire and Dam with several generations were in a post, at least 1 photos and videos per week more as it is safe to touch the liter, finally she takes takes individual photos, group and videos about every 3 days. Her litter was raised in her home and was from what I could tell an impressively clean. They spent daytime outside to play. She informs you when the dew claws are coming off, offers to have a micro chip put in for a great price, and answered all my questions in less than a day. She starts early training that is a blessing when you get your puppy home. Tells you the food the puppy is on and why she uses it. Christy Lee communicates your new baby progress so you feel like you are there. Christy Lee works with you about a pick up date. All necessary papers were ready and my Gracie Ann was clean smelled great and her puppy breath melted my heart. This is usually where the breeder exits the picture. However, with Christy Lee she explains how she has started potty training. If you follow her training you are good to go. Gracie came home and I only had a few accidents. I also liked that she raised the litter in the laundry room. The noise of her washer and dryer prepared Gracie for the sounds in the field and at home. She isn't a scared puppy that you have to slowly introduce noises. Gracie is very birdy and is already pointing. Her nose is always to the ground. She is starting to track quail wings. The mark of a superior breeder is one that communicates with you when there may be a medical issue. I know to many breeders that would sweep that under the rug. I really could go on and on. I respect Christy Lee so much I would buy another English Setter from her and I would also recommend her to my family and friends.
Submitted by: Myles Malone on Jun 02, 2014
I have recently purchased my first setter and it was from Christy Lee's Setters and so far this has been the best dog I've ever purchased! Christy crate trained and began the potty training for Blue and since we've had him we haven't had any problems out of him its been a shock to see how smart and well trained he has been and he is a very quick learner. I highly recommend Christy Lee if you are looking for a great setter.
Submitted by: Phillip Hyche on Jul 31, 2013
Tip Toe, that's my dogs name and you bet he is tip top. I purchased him at 15 weeks for a hunting dog and pet for my son Luke. At first sight he was fiesty compared to his sibling and I like him right away, so did Luke. I didn't post early because as a hunter I wanted to see if he could do the job for future hunters to read. Pointers, Gsp's are known for hunting not so much as indoor pets and hunters. Brittany's and setters are (typically) known as indoor pets, more family members and hunters. However are known to be harder to find in hunting quality. In Setters you look at size for superior hunting, the larger are usually show type. When I looked at Pilot, tips dad I knew he had it , the hunting gene smaller and athletic. I was right, easy to trainand loves his job. He is a hunter that is what make him tick. My finest to date. We have a very hard to find bond and he is only10 months old. Make no mistake these are gun dogs and also great pets. Thanks P
Submitted by: Veronica Willey on Apr 02, 2013
We purchased our English Setter, Lucas, from Christy Lee and it was a great experience. We were able to visit Ginger and Pilot before making our decision about breeds and that was it! we knew after meeting them that we wanted a puppy from their next litter. They are beautiful, loving, smart, healthy dogs. Christy Lee kept us informed during the pregnancy with Facebook messages and phone calls. Then we were able to see pictures and videos of Lucas from birth until the day we got him. I was able to call Christy (and still do) whenever I had questions regarding training or anything and she has been very good about sharing her experience and knowledge with me. Great tips in how to raise a healthy loving dog. Lucas has been an amazing dog and he is still so young (6 months next week). He is so smart and loving, just the perfect family dog for us. He does great with my girls (5 and 9 yrs old) and he is super friendly with everyone (He loves carpool time). Training has been actually pleasant and easy, to the point that we are considering getting another one soon. Christy keeps in touch with her puppies and their families....she took Lucas hiking with Ginger and Pilot few days ago! did I mention that he is also extremely handsome? yes he is a beautiful dog too.
Submitted by: Jeannie Walker on Apr 02, 2013
My husband and I had never owned an English Setter but were interested in the breed. We do not hunt but have owned a Brittany as our last dog and we loved the sweetness and loyalty in a gun dog breed. I found Christy Lee's Setters in Alabama, listed on the Gun Dog Breeders web site. We contacted Christy Lee and set a meet and greet with her and her male Pilot and female Ginger, at their home. Christy talked to us for a good while about her work with Traing gun dogs and about her two fine setters and about their past litters. We put our deposit in for a female due from the next litter. We became the new family for our beautiful tri- color setter that we named Skeeter. What a smart puppy. We brought her home at the age of 6 weeks and within a month, she learned to go to the door to go out for her business. She is a very loving, fun filled young pup. She has taken to her puppy obedience classes really well. Skeeter is very friendly to all! Being a puppy still, Skeeter gets along with the small dogs in the local dog park. Skeeter does set the doves under the bird feeders as well as those that fly up to perch on the wires. She holds this pose for a good while. The natural talent to hunt is there. Skeeter gets her exercise daily with our walks, romps in the dog park, rides I the car, and play in her fenced yard. I make sure she has a fun and stimulating day with her well deserved naps listening to classical musical. Christy has offered any help if we have any questions or needs concerning Skeeter. Oh by the way, a lot of people complement us and Skeeter on her beautiful English Setter looks and demeanor. Thank you Christy for the best setter companion!
Submitted by: Casey Garrett on Mar 14, 2013
I have an English Setter that's 8 months old. We live in the city but have a house in the country and go there about 2 weekends out of every month. She is very familiar with our home in the country and roams about 10 acres but knows where home is. I saw your pictures of Ginger and Pilot at Ruffner Mountain and wanted to know if u put GPS's on their collars. I would love to take my setter hiking around bham but nervous about taking her somewhere where she isn't familiar. I would greatly appreciate your opinion. Thank you!!

Casey Garrett
c.garrett@hotmail.com
Submitted by: Terry Lyster on Apr 13, 2012
Our Dixie is now 3 years young.. She is a great family dog. Definitely a bird dog. We have kept in contact with Christie and definitely would get another setter from her and have recommended her web site.
Submitted by: Jessica Stowell on Feb 09, 2012
We have had Maggie since October when she was 6 weeks. She has been an amazing dog thus far and she continues to learn quickly and she is a natural hunter. We had a great experience through the whole process and would recommend Christy Lee's Setters to anyone looking for a great dog.
Submitted by: Jodi Pitchford on Dec 28, 2011
I am so pleased to say that I purchased my english setter pup from Christy Lee's Setters! My experience was outstanding from the very beginning to the end of our transaction, and we continue to stay in touch. At first sight of Ginger and Pilot, I knew that Christy cared about her english setters! They are beautiful dogs, with a superb temperaments, not to mention their pedigrees! I showed up unexpectedly to pick up Champ, and Christy came home from work to deliver him to me. Thanks Christy!
Submitted by: James Kahler on Dec 24, 2011
Christy, I just wanted let you know, that not only do we feel super lucky to have such an attractive young addition to the family (and I am personally wowed by all the compliments we continually get (as you've probably noticed through FB), but Phin simply has the sweetest personality. In a couple short months he has already become an integral member of our family. I continually smile as I watch my boys (and wife) have so much fun with him. His training is also going really well. He's a smart guy. His manners around the house are great, he does great on walks, with people and dogs each of all ages, and loves loves loves our regular runs and walks around our local trails and lakes.

As you know, Phin will not be raised as a hunting dog, but as a family dog and running companion. We are surrounded by wooded running trails and Phin already absolutely loves those surroundings. At 4 months, he's too young to go too far or often, but I can share that just the other day, he and I ran a comfortable 4 miles with him only dragging a short leash. He spent the entire run 10-30 feet in front of me, continually checking where I was. At the end, he clearly wanted to go out again!

You might have noticed, but I've kept him in a green collar, similar to the ribbon you put on him as a puppy. I'll always think of him as Mr. Green.
Submitted by: Nancy Trepashko on Dec 10, 2011
I purchased Conner from Christy in October of this year. He is an English Setter, now 4 months old. Conner is our third English Setter and I can't say enough great things about this breed. They are sweet, goofy, loyal and extremely loving dogs. Conner was our first purchase from Christy Lee's English Setters. She was wonderful throughout the entire process. She had pictures and videos posted, so I have a photographic record of Conner from day 1. She telephoned me often, both prior to and after picking Conner up, letting me know what was going on with him and then checking up on him. One thing that I think is wonderful about Christy's setters is that they are raised in her home, not a kennel. They are totally ready to be perfect house pets when they come home. I'm not sure when I'll be ready to get another setter, having 2 in the house right now is enough for me, but if/when I do decide to get that next English Setter, you can be sure that I'll get get him from Christy.
Submitted by: Ian Hock on Dec 02, 2011
Just recently our family was lucky enough to take one of Christy Lee's Setters into our home. Our new pup, Ranger, is a strong, healthy, and an amazingly personable puppy. We got him around the age twelve weeks old and we couldn't be more blessed. Christy's pups are the perfect fit for family life in addition to the sport of hunting. Thanks to Christy, and the champion bloodlines of the her breeding dogs Pilot and Ginger, upon arrival to our home Ranger was already extremely obedient. Within a short amount of time he was already pointing at the birds in the backyard. We are so pleased with him and can't say enough good things about Christy Lee's Setters. If you are looking for a great setter to add to the family she's who you want to turn to for answers! Highly recommend her! She is great!
Submitted by: Nick Nicholson on Aug 18, 2011
I recently (2 months ago) had the pleasure of "adopting" an 11 month old English Setter, Maggie, from Christy Lee's Setters. Maggie was out of Christy's litter last year and unfortunately, due to a broken home, was returned to Christy in hopes of finding her a good home. Christy was incredibly helpful and was also very peculiar about who would get the opportunity to take this beautiful dog home. I knew from the way Christy interviewed me over the period of almost a week, that she is first and foremost concerned about her dogs and giving them the best possible chance for a perfect family situation. When I went to pick up Maggie, I had the chance to see the Dam (Ginger) and I was blown away at her beauty and disposition. Christy is very particular with her breeding and also the placement of her puppies and just does an outstanding job. I drove 12 hours round trip to get my puppy from Christy and I can tell you it was a terrific experience! If you are looking for an impeccable English Setter from a top quality breeder, I would highly recommend Christy Lee's Setters!

Nick Nicholson
Spartanburg, SC
Submitted by: Tim on Feb 02, 2011
Christy has kept me up to date on Ginger's progress with pictures and emails. Pups soon to arrive. No puppy mill here! Ginger and Pilot are well cared for, no doubt the pups will be healthy too. I look forward to trying to pick out just one! Thanks again.
Submitted by: T.J. Wolters on Feb 02, 2011
I am set to get a setter from Christy in this next set of pups, and am beyond excited. She has been extremely helpful and supportive in thinking through this process and deciding on getting a pup from this litter. I especially appreciate the obvious care she takes of the dogs and pups leaving no doubt of their care. I will be receiving the best of a family/hunting dog. Loved bringing my boys(yrs 5 & 3) to see the dam (ginger) and sire (pilot) and was pleased to see their interaction. Highly possible I will use her training services after acquiring pup...Again, I do not have pup yet, but will go ahead and say you will be pleased.

TJ Wolters. Feel free to contact with questions...
Submitted by: Ed on Jan 29, 2011
I had the opportunity to hunt over two of Christy's great setters today. What a display of style and grace. Both did what in my opinion a gread bird dog should do. She said because of her work load, they had not been hunted in a while, but they surely had not forgotten what a bird was, nor what their job was. Thanks Christy for a great day!
Submitted by: Connie on Dec 31, 2010
December 31, 2010
Christy Lee setters are a great place to find the perfect family member and mighty bird hunter for the woodsmen. My sister had own an English setter many years ago. We decided this was the year to look for a pup after some years had past since having one. Once we found Christy Lee setters and read her Ginger was ready to give birth to a litter in July, we became serious about having a setter in the house again. We knew we wanted a male and we thought were set on a tri if possible. As prior testimonial state Christy was diligent in putting out pictures and video clips of the new borns. Once we saw Red, who is now named Riley Red Stingray; it was love at first sight. Riley began pointing his first bird at 7 weeks old. He has natural instincts and is a fine breed.
Christy is a professional breeder and expects nothing less from potential interested owners of Gingers pups. Riley is a mighty hunter, but above all he is a big part of our family. His grandmother thinks he is cute as a button and grand dad thinks so too, but never says that to Riley. LOL I would recommend Christy Lee setters for those looking for a great hunting dog and a new addition to the family. All English Setters are so loving and would be great to al loving family. We would consider getting another brother or sister for Riley from future litters from Christy Lee.

Submitted by: Zach on Dec 22, 2010
Christy was great at keeping me up to date about my puppy breeze before I got her. She would put pictures and videos up of them which i thought was cool and would watch them every day to see how my Breeze was doing. Her setters have great temperament and hunting instincts. I would recommend Christy Lee's Setters to anyone looking for an exceptional bird dog, and/or a new fun, sweet, loving family member. Plus these are the most beautiful breed of dogs on the planet.
Submitted by: Derek Neece on Dec 21, 2010
Christy Lee is a great breeder and I would recommend her to anyone looking to get an English Setter. My setter, Gunner, is about 6 months old and is a great pet and exceptional on birds. I have had Gunner out three times hunting and have shot about 20 quail over him. He is great on point and has retrieved every bird to hand. Gunner would sit, stay, come, and perform other basic commands at about 9 weeks. He has been a great pet and great on birds, and I would recommend to anyone looking to get a setter, to get one from Christy Lee. She is great with the dogs and really knows what she is doing!
Submitted by: Randy Smith on Jul 21, 2010
I wanted to give you an update on our setter we bought from Christy. Gogi (female, almost 17 months old).

Gogi is a excellent bird dog and great pet for our three children. Gogi has an excellent nose and is staunch on point. She backs and retrieves to hand. Additionally, we are able to hunt her without a shock collar.

I could not ask for a better family pet, she is loving and gentle. Gogi has a great temperament (she deals with a lot from our four year old). Our 2 older children (7 & 12) are a little easier with her but still rough house with her. She has fit in with our family wonderfully and we can't imagine not having her.

If you have any questions I'd be happy to answer them.

Randy
Submitted by: John Wallace on Jul 19, 2010
Daisy is 16 months old now and still the perfect pet. She has a desire to hunt that can be seen on her daily walks or just when I let her go into teh backyard. She takes after her Mom (Ginger)and her grandparents with genes for hunting.

However, she is the perfect indoor pet. Super friendly, obedient and a quick learner.

I would def. buy another dog from Christy and recommend her to anybody who is looking for a high-quality dog either for hunting or for a family pet.
Submitted by: Missy on Feb 12, 2010
Well, what can I say about Christy's Setters? They are perfect!!!!! lol

Forgive me for being partial, I am her sister and all. I never thought my husband and I would have more then 2 dogs at a time but our baby Cinnamon changed all that. Christy doesn't have any kids yet so she spoils mine rotten. Cinnamon was a gift to my daughter Alyssa and son Seth. We saw her and her sweet little dot on her head and couldn't say no. Ginger (christy's spoiled baby girl) is a perfect dog. You would think she's a person. Ginger give us all hugs and kisses whens its time to leave. That sweet attitude runs in her perfect blood. Cinnamon still thinks she's a one pound puppy. She lays in the laps of my baby's and watches over them like they are hers.

I highly recommend setters as hunting dogs and for just being the the sweetest dogs around. Ginger's puppies are some of the best i've ever seen.
Submitted by: John Wallace on Feb 04, 2010
We had a family dog growing up, but this was my first dog as an adult. Christy was very helpful. She is very knowledgeable about the breed and answered all of my questions. She even helped me come up with a list of supplies I would need as a first-time dog owner. Daisy (the English Setter I bought from Christy) has been an ideal puppy. She had no trouble being potty trained. It was a breeze to crate train her, too. Daisy still surprising me at least once a week with her smarts and her bird dog instincts. She is a loyal, faithful and obedient puppy (she will be 1 year old on March 3). I highly recommended Christy as a source for bird hunters and families looking for a great family pet.
-- John W.
Submitted by: Tricia on May 22, 2009
Christy was great throughout the whole experience of getting our pup. She consistantly sent pictures and updates throughout the wait. We drove from PA to AL and it was definitely worth the straight drive. When we finally got Dixie (our puppy)she was very sociable and absolutely perfect! She was great during the long drive home and has been a great addition to our family. She loves being outside and is constantly looking for birds and knows exactly where they are when she hears them. She's very smart and has even been on point already and she's only 10 weeks old. I would definitely contact her again if I plan to have another one day.

Tricia
Submitted by: Randy on May 20, 2009
Great experience working with Christy! Christy kept me up-to-date on her puppies on a weekly basis. We drove to look at the puppies with the intention of selecting a pup, however, she recommended that the pup should be selecting us. After two hours of spending time with Chrisy and her setters we left with a great dog. We are extremely pleased with our setter which will be both a family pet and hunting partner. Please contact me if you have any questions.
Randy

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Christy Lee's Setters