Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Best Gun Dogs

Testimonials (32) | Back to Best Gun Dogs
Submitted by: Ben Rogers on Mar 24, 2014
Jared,
First of all I would like to thank you for an amazing puppy, Dixie, we got her out of the vig and sadie litter. She is an extremely smart and obedient puppy. My one year old girl just loves to grab and pull eat her hide up, and Dixie just lays there and takes it. She is now about 5 months old and is retrieving to hand every time she stays like a champ and kennels very well. I am very excited about her.

Submitted by: Beth Jackson on Dec 21, 2013
We cannot say enough good things about Jared and the GSP we purchased from him, Ace. My husband wanted a started dog, yet one that would do well with our young child and two other dogs. Jared told us about Ace in detail by phone. We never went to visit Ace in Utah. Jared shipped him to us by plane per our request. We have had Ace for about a year and a half now and he is everything Jared described. He has a gentle, calm personality at home, yet he loves to work when he is in the field. We receive many positive comments about him.
Submitted by: Julie Norman on Jun 28, 2012
Thank you so very much for the Female -Liver GSP
she is outstanding, already pointing and retrieving to hand ,she was made for our family and the children love her….
You did a great job picking the pup for us, I highly recommend you and your dogs.
It is great to have another Quality breeder that cares about the dogs and is breeding to better the breed not just breed for the Money/ pups..

You are GREAT JARED,AGAIN THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL PUP> GRACE…

Julie Norman
Submitted by: Chuck Hopkins on Apr 02, 2012
Molly has found a great new home with Chuck H in Canada. Chuck has been very happy with Molly in the home and in the field. She has a great nose with lots of style. She is getting along well with the other dogs. Chuck will hunt her extensively this coming fall. It’s always rewarding when you can place a dog in a great home.
Submitted by: Larry Swallow on Apr 02, 2012
Jared,
Just wanted to say thanks for all you did ensuring I received the type of dog I wanted.Aspen is great.Her temperment,bird drive and personality have amazed me.She is simply been a pleasure.Her personality has friends,family and people I come across asking where i purchased such a great dog.I tell them Jared Moss at Best Gun Dogs.Thanks Again Jared.Here are some pictures from her first sharptail grouse hunt,and some training sessions.I cant wait for this hunting season to start.Scott Swallow and Aspen
Submitted by: Art Hughes on Apr 02, 2012
JON & JARED, WANTED TO THANK YOU BOTH FOR ALL YOUR EFFORT WITH CHIEF. HE IS SETTLING IN AND DOING GREAT. LEARNS FAST AND IS A GREAT FIT FOR OUR FAMILY BUT ALSO WITH "DAN", OUR OTHER BRITT. THEY ARE PRETTY MUCH THE SAME SIZE AND HAVE REALLY BONDED.

THANKS AGAIN ART & NANCY HUGHES
Submitted by: Dave Turner on Apr 02, 2012
Jared,

I can’t tell you how pleased I am with “Odie”. He is everything you said. I’ve had the opportunity to take him hunting twice and he impressed everyone. The first time he had only been here for four days and we killed ten of the eleven quail put out for us. He was FANTASTIC. I can’t tell you how much fun I had. I was a little worried about purchasing a dog in Utah, when I live in Virginia – sight unseen; but you are a man of your word – he’s a wonderful dog and companion. I’ve enjoyed working with you and will try to send business your way

Thank you, David
Submitted by: Rick White on Apr 02, 2012
Jared,

I just wanted to drop you a line and tell you how happy I am with my new dog Scout from Best Gun Dogs. Scout is currently about 9-month-old and has exceeded my expectations (and my skeptical wife). Already Scout has been an excellent hunting companion, thanks to the great bird training he received earlier this fall. To date he has successfully hunted pheasants, chukars, hungarian partridge and ducks (all WILD birds I might add). The GSP is truly the ultimate versatile breed! I attribute his success to a solid introduction to birds and a natural genetic drive to hunt. I am excited to see him improve his skills as he matures. My wife was very apprehensive about getting a typically wild dog to be around the house, but Scout has proven her wrong. He is a very good dog at home and is well socialized and behaved with all the neighbors pets and little children. I look forward to him returning to Best Gun Dogs this spring for additional training!

Thanks again,
Rick White
Submitted by: Lise Hewitt on Apr 02, 2012
Lise Hewitt from Washington purchased a solid liver German Shorthair puppy from us earlier this year. Lise heard about a contest for the front cover of City Dog in Washington state. They decided to enter. Their little pup placed in the top two of forty dogs and was voted to make the Christmas cover. We are so proud of him. What a great looking dog!
Submitted by: Mike Kantor on Apr 02, 2012
Dear Jared,
Well i have wanted to write to you since 7-14-2011 (the day i picked the puppy up
at the Airport) so here goes my comments and observations.
I have been a breeder of Labrador Retrievers for the last 25 or so years and about 10
years ago i decided that Labs are great Duck and Goose dogs but when it comes to hunting Quail,,Pheasants and Woodcock their noses are not as refined as “Bird Dog’s ”
I read as many books as i could on picking out Bird Dogs and their training.
Everything pointed to the German Short Haired Pointers ,so i looked at as many litters as i could and all their
AKC papers.
I picked out a puppy that had as many Field Champions in the line as i could find locally only about 5 total champions.
God smiled on me as the puppy was a great dog with great inborn talents and although i have trained many Labs this was the first attempt i have ever experienced with bird dogs.
Molly was a great dog with a great nose and a extreme desire to hunt ,she would have been a Field Champion if i had entered her and
still be out in the field if it wasn’t for Lyme’s Disease with a touch of Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever .
I lost her within a few years after being treated and after hunting birds with Labs for a while ,I again realized i needed to get another “Bird Dog”
My search started the end of May this year. I looked for a new puppy at the local newspapers and magazines . I talked to my friends and others at my Gun Club .
I wanted a dog with all the abilities that Molly had ,but i couldn’t find any blood lines that came close to hers’
I decided to look at the larger picture the Internet.
My wife told me that you should get the best puppy you can find and don’t worry about the cost of shipping the dog ,so that was what i decided to do.
I found many ,many puppies for sale, some very cheap ,but nothing compared to the blood line that you ,had for sale.
When i reviewed your puppy’s blood line and talked with you in detail, i was convinced that i wanted one on your dogs.
The puppy was, and is all that you and your pictures represented and i am totally
happy with this little girl, we call “Utah Nakota”
She has only been with us for 12 days and she is sitting and coming back on voice commands and will find any hidden Quail wing within a short distance. She is not pointing yet but with live birds she may start soon , I’m sure.
The pictures you sent did not do her justice as she is truly, perfect in build and temperament. Her colors are as pretty and striking as you could paint
with a canvas .
Between the fees for the Vet. Certificate, Shots, Airfare and Crate, I spent more then i wanted to but ,i would do it again in a heart bet.
The old expression that “You only get what you pay for” defiantly applies here .
If i evaluated what the cost were to buy “Utah Nakota” and what kind of puppy i received I would say that i got the better of the deal.
At this point, I would pay more then i did knowing what i have in “Utah Nakota”
I know that it is possible that she could develop into a complete flop, or my training could be a cause ,but i would “ bet the ranch ” against that happening.
The way i see her is that you made a big mistake getting rid of her , you should have kept her for yourself ,and i think that all the Quail,,Pheasants and Woodcock
in New Jersey and Pennsylvania better start hiding out now, because she’s coming to get them this fall.
I also want to take a minute and thank you ,for your involvement and your patients with me, taking so long to decide on one of your puppies.
I now understand why you picked “Bestgundogs” for your Web Sight it truly applies to you.
Thank you,
Mike Kantor

Submitted by: Irene Hodson on Apr 02, 2012
Hi Jared
We took Sophie out on her first hunt this weekend. She did really well. She actually locked onto a pheasant right before breaking for lunch. Unfortunately everyone had emptied their guns because we were less than ten feet from our trucks. Thanks for such a great dog!
Enjoy! Irene Hodson
Submitted by: Todd Smith on Apr 02, 2012
Jared, Just a note to let you know that Maggie is a wonderful dog. She is very eager to please and taking to training very well. Thanks again. Todd
Submitted by: Jesse Nielsen on Apr 02, 2012
Special thanks to Jared:
Jared took my first dog, Lacee, and turned her into a hunting machine. Lacee is a brittany spaniel out of Idaho. I first contacted Jared after I was more or less confused on where to start. I wanted my dog to be a hunter. Jared was able to introduce her to birds and instill a pointing drive in Lacee that has since blossomed into one of the best pointing dogs in Western Wyoming. Lacee turned one in January and she out hunted four other dogs in a local pheasant hunt. I have taken her to four different states hunting pheasants. I have to give the credit to Jared and his ability to read each individual dog and their owner to develop a good hunting relationship. With Jared’s low training cost and great attitude you just can’t beat the training. Lacee is not gun shy and is conditioned to the e-collar. All of her training was given by Jared in a one month time frame and I could not be more pleased. I have already made lifetime memories with my dog. When she is three or four she will be un-touchable around here. Thanks again Jared!!
Jesse Nielson – GR, Wyoming
P.S. Jared, post some pics of Lacee on your site if you still have some. If not let me know and I’ll e-mail you some recent ones.
Submitted by: Gennie Salzsieder on Nov 10, 2011
I had first contacted Jared in the spring about a puppy. We decided to wait. Jared checked in with me a few months later to see if I would be interested again. At this point we were ready. We had also contacted some other breeders. Jared was by far the BEST and most hands on breeder we found. One breeder wouldn't provide pictures..Jared did. Another breeder gave me her number to call her...Jared asked for ours and called US. When I asked another breed about the puppies personality she had no idea. Jared listened to what we wanted and were looking for and knew the right puppy for us because he KNEW his puppies!! He PERFECTLY matched us with our Axel. We couldn't be happier!!
Submitted by: Lise Hewitt on Aug 23, 2011
Dear Jared,

We have had a wonderful experience receiving our puppy at 5 months. He came
to us in early August, 2011 by airplane into Seattle. We surprised our
8-year old daughter with this dog for her birthday.

Jared was extremely helpful in sharing details of the personality of our
dog, how he trained him, etc. Jared was most helpful in addressing our
concerns about our puppy's adjustment and transition. We have a very-well
adjusted puppy who is practically a celebrity here in the city. Multitudes
of people stop to admire and pet him when we are out in public. We highly
recommend Best Gun Dogs for acquiring beautiful, well-mannered German
Shorthaired Pointers.
Submitted by: Ty Angel on Jul 19, 2011
Jared,

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to purchase Milo. He was everything you said he was and more. He is very well behaved and loves to hunt. Milo first California valley quail point were intense. ( please see photo). I am sure we will have many good field experiences to come. I will bring him back for his finishing training soon or when you recommend.

Thanks,
Ty
Submitted by: Todd Smith on Jun 29, 2011
Jared, Just a note to let you know that Maggie is a wonderful dog. She is very eager to please and taking to training very well. Thanks again. Todd
Submitted by: Jesse Nielson on May 04, 2011
Special thanks to Jared:
Jared took my first dog, Lacee, and turned her into a hunting machine. Lacee is a brittany spaniel out of Idaho. I first contacted Jared after I was more or less confused on where to start. I wanted my dog to be a hunter. Jared was able to introduce her to birds and instill a pointing drive in Lacee that has since blossomed into one of the best pointing dogs in Western Wyoming. Lacee turned one in January and she out hunted four other dogs in a local pheasant hunt. I have taken her to four different states hunting pheasants. I have to give the credit to Jared and his ability to read each individual dog and their owner to develop a good hunting relationship. With Jared’s low training cost and great attitude you just can’t beat the training. Lacee is not gun shy and is conditioned to the e-collar. All of her training was given by Jared in a one month time frame and I could not be more pleased. I have already made lifetime memories with my dog. When she is three or four she will be un-touchable around here. Thanks again Jared!!
Jesse Nielson – GR, Wyoming
Submitted by: Jason Thomas on Jan 01, 2011
I bought sadie a few months ago, a one year old GSP. She has been everything and more than I ever wanted in a dog. I have shot several birds over her and on every occasion she has pointed, held and retrieved to hand! Better yet she is a great family dog for my boys they can play with her and love her but as soon as we get to the field she is all business! Jared did a great job with her! I would recommend to any of my friends to look through best gun dogs before purchasing a dog! Thanks Jared!

Jason Thomas
Submitted by: Kevin Stevenson on Nov 22, 2010
My experience with Jared and bestgundogs.com was first class. Jared really went out of his way to provide me with excellent service. We worked together and arranged flight arrangements to fly the pups to Montana. He got the proper vaccinations for their flight. He drove to Salt Lake to Fly them to me. I received my AKC certifications in a timely manner. Overall It was a great experience.
Thanks
Kevin Stevenson
Billings, MT

Submitted by: Randall Gorham on Sep 09, 2010
We bought a beautiful German Shorthair from Jared at Best Gun Dogs. He was 12 weeks when we got him and we have really enjoyed him. We have started working with him and he is so eager to please. He has a great temperament and is the perfect family dog. We have absolutely enjoyed the experience with Jared and Best Gun Dogs. Thanks a lot!

Randall Gorham
Submitted by: Doyle Stogner on Aug 24, 2010
I purchased Jake a 7 month old liver Male Shorthair. When I picked him up jared took me and the dog to the field and worked him on quail and a few pigeons. For a 7 month old dog Jake is a hunters dream. I took him out this past weekend to work him and he locked up on some quail and we shot a few doves over him. He went directly to the dove(approx 25 yards) picked them up and brought them to me and put them in my outreached hands. It doesn't get any better than that for a hunter and dog lover. At 7 months he is where most hunters would want a fully trained dog. He works well and stays close and comes when you call him. I used my shocker one time on a very low setting just to get his attention and that is all he needed. I think Jared's early training has made this a very good dog and I'm sure he will get better.
Submitted by: Leslie Burr on Aug 05, 2010
We recently bought a started 11 week old female German Shorthaired Pointer called Socks from Jared Moss at Best Gun Dogs. Although she is still very young, she loves the birds and has a great foundation for further training. This is the first dog that we have bought from Best Gun Dogs and I look forward to seeing how she does as she matures. So far I am very pleased with the start that she got before we purchased her.

Submitted by: Erik Ekberg on Aug 03, 2010
Our family has been looking for a great first dog and have been very pleased with our GSP from Best Gun Dogs. Jessie's (formerly known as Hershey) personality of a sweet and loyal friend has already come through at 9 weeks. She loves to play fetch, helps the kids cut the lawn and has even found a favorite place on the porch.
Jared Moss was great in helping us select Jessie for our specific needs and we appreciate his efforts in starting to train her so our first dog experience starts out on the right foot.

We look forward to taking her camping and fishing with the family and attribute her good nature to a wonderful team at Best Gun Dogs.

Erik Ekberg & Family
Submitted by: Kaelin Porter on Jul 02, 2010
Jared at Best Gun Dogs was awesome to work with. He was very willing to work with us and make sure the German Shorthair Pointer pup we chose was the right match for our situation. We ended up with a well adjusted, well behaved dog, that is happy as a family dog and great to take out bird hunting as well. We could not be more pleased and highly recommend him. We will definitely contact Jared first when looking for bird dogs in the future!
Submitted by: dave heath on Jul 01, 2010
I've hunted with Jard Moss and his dogs for over 10 years. I can promise you they are the best dogs you will ever hunt behind. Having traveled all over the u.s and Canada hunting birds, i know that his dogs are the best. I would rather hunt behind them than any other dogs. Do yourself a favor and get your dog trained by Jared.
Dave Heath
Sportsmans News
Submitted by: kristy langford on Jul 01, 2010
I have watched Jared work with his dogs and was amazed at how well they obeyed his commands and saw the mutual respect for dog and owner. I have a lab and springer that Jared has worked with so that they can be part of our family. He did an outstanding job. My springer loves to Hunt and thanks to Jared's training He is a happy and loved dog.
Submitted by: andrew vaughan on Jul 01, 2010
I recently purchased a started dog from Jared and cannot be more pleased. At 6 months old her training is excellent. I have greatly appreciated their commitment to not only my dog but in helping me learn how to continue the training. I would strongly recommend them if you are looking for a dog.
Submitted by: Jon Lee on Jun 07, 2010
I have had the pleasure of training dogs with Jared several times and can't say enough about his dog training skills. Some people just have a way with bird dogs and you can't explain it. Jared has helped me a lot with training my brittany dogs and getting them ready for AKC hunt tests. We even co-own a young brittany now and I really enjoy his friendship. It is a rare breeder that can so quickly become your dearest friend. You can't go wrong with Jared and his bird dog training program at Best Gun Dogs. If you live within driving distance of Utah, you should consider paying him a visit.
Submitted by: David Clarkson on Jun 05, 2010
I recently bought a 3 month old liver puppy from Jared and she's already trained well. She points excellently and holds it very well. She gets along well with our other dogs. Overall he is really family oriented and good people. We stay in touch and I send pictures of the puppy to him periodically he is a very good trainer.
Submitted by: Travis Gillins on Jun 01, 2010
I know Jared very well and have been hunting with him and his dogs for many years. His dogs are very obedient and fun to see in action. I would have to say that Jared is one of the best at training dogs and getting results that I know. Jared seems to have the right patience and persistence that allows him to produce top gun dogs that provide for a much more successful hunting trip.
Submitted by: Preston on May 31, 2010
My wife and I had a great time hunting with Jared and watching his dogs work. I would recommend Jared and his crew to anyone!

Preston

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Best Gun Dogs