Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for LOCKNLOAD KENNEL, LLC

Testimonials (41) | Back to LOCKNLOAD KENNEL, LLC
Submitted by: ariel deguzman on May 20, 2014
recap on Max
I had Max on bird this weekend, all i can say WOW!! and Thank you, thank you Mike. Max work the field like a pro, and his training on obedience was just flawless. I saw what Max has learned and perfectly executed them. he held a good point, stood still when whoa was given. All i can say now is "I GOT ME A HUNTING DOG!!!. thank you Mike, you are the best!!!!

Ariel DeGuzman
Submitted by: Ariel DeGuzman on May 06, 2014
I just want to let who reads Mike (LockNLoad) testimonial. You are reading all comments accurately. Mike is the best. Not just a person who really cares of what he does with training but also as a person. He will give you the 100% best when he trains your dog. I have sent my Max to Mike, due to I did not feel his first training with another trainer was in aliquant and was horrible and show no results, and Max seem to have developed gun/noise shyness along with all kinds of behavior issues. You can say I was not happy person with the other trainer, no name mentioned.
I called Mike and I explain Max issues, and my frustrations. Mike listened and advised to bring Max for review. During the review Mike has this sense that he already know what to do with Max. Mike gave his recommendation and all made sense. Then after a month I took Max to him. I am very happy with Mike, he gave me a weekly update, he tells me if Max was not responsive, Mike would do other method that works for training. Mike is a perfectionist!! I can sense that he would not be happy if you are not happy. Believe me what he has done with Max, is far beyond my expectation, I wanted a companion and a Hunting Dog, Mike gave me a companion and a Hunting dog with no Gun/noise shyness. I owe Mike more. I am very happy. And if you are looking for your dog to be trained,you found him Mike Weis. Mike will always be my life time dog trainer and a friend.

Submitted by: Bernie Petersen on Oct 13, 2012
I heard about Mike through my wife's nephew. I have 3 year old German Wirehair that was not showing any interest in birds and was demonstrating some degree of gun shyness. Mike evaluated my dog and told me he felt he could work with him. I took my dog up to Mike and he spent 4 weeks with him. The results were nothing short of amazing. My dog shows no signs of being afraid of the gun, is coursing well when in the field and is getting the hang of what hunting is about. I took him to Montana for pheasants, and prairie grouse. For his first time out he did great. He hunted close, found some birds and listened and paid attention to where I was very well.
I have ti recommend Mike for anyone wanting someone who can bring out the best in their dog. He is truly a great trainer and exceptionally honest.
Submitted by: mike opatik on Apr 10, 2011
I met mike through a friend and pheasant competitions. i never thought about getting a dog but when i did he was the one that i took him to. he did excellent with deuce. when we first got him he didn't want to come, fetch, retrieve, or even be around anybody. now that i have got him back from mike i went and guided my first pheasant challenge with deuce he had the top five fastest times for the hunters (four pheasants in less than 5 min). he is just an all around dog mike did a a great job with him and i would recommend him to anyone with dog issues or just wanting a new hunting dog
Submitted by: Jim Sladky on Mar 22, 2011
Kate has been the second GSP that I have had Mike do a force break to retrieve on. Mike is very thorough in making sure the dog is finished before sending the dog home. He calls often to give updates on the progress of the dog, and is caring of not only the mental side of the dog, but the physical condition of the dog. He also firms up the other obedience aspects of the dog, such as whoa and backing. Spending an hour of time to see what he has done with the dog at his place has been the best education I could get with further training of my dogs.

Knowing that Kate would test me when I got home with her, Mike has been great in answering all my questions that have come up. Mike has made me a better trainer of my own dogs. If ever needed, Mike would take her back to correct any thing that I could not take care of on my own. I owe Mike more than what I have paid for the training.

Thanks. Jim Sladky
Oxford, NE
Submitted by: Jim Sladky on Mar 09, 2011
Kate has been the second GSP that I have had Mike do a force break to retrieve on. Mike is very thorough in making sure the dog is finished before sending the dog home. He calls often to give updates on the progress of the dog, and is caring of not only the mental side of the dog, but the physical condition of the dog. He also firms up the other obedience aspects of the dog, such as whoa and backing. Spending an hour of time to see what he has done with the dog at his place has been the best education I could get with further training of my dogs.

Knowing that Kate would test me when I got home with her, Mike has been great in answering all my questions that have come up. Mike has made me a better trainer of my own dogs. If ever needed, Mike would take her back to correct any thing that I could not take care of on my own. I owe Mike more than what I have paid for the training.

Thanks. Jim Sladky
Oxford, NE
Submitted by: Kyle McConnell on Feb 08, 2011
Great breeder and trainer! Not only has Mike done an exceptional job of training my dog, he has done wonders in training me. His care and compassion about the animals is second to none, and there is no other dog trainer whom I would send my dogs to or refer my friends to go. TOP NOTCH!!
Submitted by: Wayne Baker on Jan 06, 2011
I trained labs for field trials for 20 years. Iíve seen good and bad dog trainers come and go. It's been 15 years since Iíve done any dog training. Because of the fact being that I have never trained pointers, I knew I needed to find a good, honest trainer. I started by getting a lot of referrals. Mike Weis's name came up often. I interviewed many dog trainers before making my final decision to work with Mike. Mike is the type of trainer you can trust with your hunting or field trial dog. Some would say he is honest to a fault. Mike will tell you the truth about your dog and your ability as a dog trainer/handler. He doesn't just tell you what you want to hear to keep your business. It's not about the money, it's more about what is best for you as a customer and your dog, not for him. He has high standards and expectations to see high-quality field work, in the dogs he trains, whether that's field trials or hunting. You will be very proud to own a dog that he has trained. However, if you choose to train your own dog and run into problems he can help you come up with a solution.

Mike worked with my dog Buck. In Buck's first NSTRA trial weekend he took a second and a third place after Mike's help. I really value Mike's advice and training. His weekly phone calls on how my dog was responding to his training was a nice added touch.

I highly recommend him to anyone who wants a fine hunting or a field trial dog.

Wayne Baker
Arvada, CO.
Submitted by: Stuart Hennen on Dec 01, 2010
I recently purchased a finished dog from Mike. She has been everything he said she was, I couldn't be happier. What has impressed me the most is the concern Mike showsfor his dogs and his customers. Mike has gone out of his way to make sure the transition has gone smoothly, calling to check in mulitple times, offering to meet up with me to work thru any problems I might encounter, and answering any questions I have.

I would not hesitate to buy from Mike again!
Submitted by: Jim McDermott on Sep 07, 2010
Mike has worked with 3 German Shorthairs for the past 5 years. I just had Mike work with my two youngest dogs, JO BO & Hoss for a fall tune up. All I can say is wow, one week each and if they are not perfect, I'll eat my hat! I guided last week with JO BO and he was dead on, pointing, held tight, & retrieved fantastic. Mike's patience and ensuring your dog is what you want can't be matched. Thanks
Submitted by: Phil Abeyta on Sep 07, 2010
I have had excellent results with Mike's dog training.I was refered to Mike by a hunting guide who had a GSP that Mike trained. I was disapointed after having my GSP(MAX) in a dog training program for 5 weeks with no results.I took MAX to Mikes place and with in a few weeks Max was ready to take hunting. Max is steady on point,very obedient and is now a excellent hunting companion. We also bought a female GSP puppy from Mike. We recently attended a field trial and saw both of our puppy's parents(Cash and Dutch)do very well.This just re-assured us that we made the right decision in buying a dog from Mike. I wouldn't take my dogs to anyone else for training. You can really tell that this is not just a job for Mike, but a passion that shows itself in the results of the dogs he trains.
Submitted by: Trevor Andersen on Sep 01, 2010
I have bought two pups from Mike. My first pup was 5 years ago (Dandy X Cash). She is a small female but has and gives everything, probably more so than the larger dogs. High Head and tail. Very fast and excellent retriever. She has been used mainly as a club dog and has been one of the best there, if not the best.

I just received my 2nd Pup (Dutch X Cash), I had to have another. I am very pleased with this new pup. Excellent looking pup. It is very bold and I am excited for her future. My experience with Mike has always been a pleasure. He has been great to work with on both purchases. I would recommend him to anyone.

Trevor Andersen, Utah (435)865-2306
Submitted by: Dan Chase on Sep 01, 2010
Mike Weis really knows GSP's. We made a trip up to Mikes place to pick up our puppy last week and really love the results. Mike answered all our questions and really went the extra mile explaining things to us. Mike even showed us the two parents in action at his place when we picked up/out our puppy. Their pedigrees really showed through when they pointed the birds he had hidden for them. I really look forward to having Mike help with some training and learning more about GSP's. Thanks Mike.
Submitted by: Dean Barber on Feb 14, 2010
We picked up our male GSP on January 3, 2010 and he is a pup from Cash and Dutch's latest litter. He is now 13 weeks old and doing great. Mike made the entire process very straight forward and carefree, while taking the time to answer all of my questions thoroughly. His commitment is to the satisfaction of his clients and finding good homes for his puppies, and that was obvious in every step of the process. After seeing both Cash and Dutch work a field and looking at all of their accomplishments, I know our new dog, if trained properly, will be both a great hunting and family dog.
Submitted by: Troy Glasmann on Feb 09, 2010
I just wanted to let everyone to know if you need a dog trained or need help with your dog mike is the guy you need! I'll tell you why I have a 2yr old lab that would go out in the field to hunt and run back to the truck this was real up setting for me. I took her up to mike to see what was wrong with her, That afternoon see was wanting to chase birds around, That made my whole day and he took time to explain to me and my 10 and 13 yr old kids how to handle her when were out in the field. On the last weekend of hunting she was wanting to hunt instead of going back to the truck. I will be taken her back to Mike this summer for she will be ready next year. THANKS Mike !
Submitted by: Bret Elliott on Jan 06, 2010
Hello,

I thought I would add a follow up to my first post. We have had Jager now for a little over a year,
he was 6 months old when we picked him up. Mike has worked with us to get him ready for his
first hunting season. I took him on a 3 day pheasant hunt in November and then on a day hunt
last weekend. He did great, pointed birds on the first day and just got better after that, he still has
a ways to go before he has it all down, but he has a great dog and a natural hunter. We are hoping
to get another pup from Mike this spring.

On another note, we are socializing one of his puppies and are thing about starting a small business
providing this service to other for others. If you are interested please call me.

Thanks
Bret
970 356 2268
Submitted by: Nick DeCarlo on Jan 03, 2010
My name is Nick DeCarlo. I own A-plus game birds in Wiggins,Colorado. I had a gentelman that won a bird hunt at a charity auction. He asked if he could bring his dog trainer. I said sure. I have seen and worked with dog trainers before. But what I saw mike do for this man and his dog was unbelievable. He has a way with dogs. The dog he was training was a little timid at first and at the end of the session this dog was hunting and ranging as well as any dog I've seen hunt. I have had my business for 5 years and I have seen all type's. I saw a quiet man observing and listening to every word you say, with the patients of a saint. I saw what he did with this dog in as many of 30 min, and he really got my attention.
I told mike my story about a shorthair that I had, and that he got killed at 10 months. I got his brother at 10mths old, who had been a city dog until coming to me. I thought that he should be just like his brother, not. I got him and I started to notice that he cowed toward guns and anything to do with hunting. I didn't want another house dog and this dog had major problems. I talked to mike about evaluating this dog and he told me give him six weeks to see what the dog can do. He called me every sunday and gave me an update on my dog. After the first week I could not believe he was talking about my dog. By four weeks he called and said he is ready to go home. I was excited to get my hunting dog back but he had to train me to. I've had him back now for a month and he is turning out to be a great hunting dog. Other people that have hunted with me tell me that the dog is to young. Now I get praise about my dog. We shoot six birds and my shorthair pointed out five of the six birds. I see no problems with that. I recommend mike to anyone. He is the best dog trainer I've ever seen.
Mike, Thank you for everything. You have done wonders for me and jaxon. I now have a proffesional dog. I love it!

thx again
nick
Submitted by: Chad Roehrich on Dec 07, 2009
I am new to professional trainers as I have always trained by past (Goldens) my self. I always thoght I had done a darn good job but the experience I have had with Mike has humbled me to say the least.

January of 2008 I purhased a yellow lab that had some award winning pointing parents. I wanted a great all around dog that held on the famous running rooster, water dog, and family dog. This dog is just that but would not be without the training Mike did with Remington (Remi).

Believe it or not Mike started training "me" about 6 months prior to even taking the dog in. He guided me in the right direction Remi's first year. Mike's goal was to make sure I did not train the dog of bad habbits that Mike would have to break (which is tough for all involved).

Mike then took Remi this Spring for 6 weeks and when I got the boy back he was totally different. He really held to the "Whoa" command and held real nice.

Now the test, year to date Remi has held nice on birds and minds fantastic. He does not point like most of you are looking for in a tru pointer but his owner and hunting buddies are very pleased.

Mike is very professional and I would ask anyone looking for help in training your hunting partner to give Mike a call and let him work his magic. He truly does a fine job and at a very reasonable price. Thanks, Mike.
Submitted by: Jim Sladky on Nov 12, 2009
I sent my 2 year old male GSP to Mike for forced retrieve training. Benneli is a very stubborn dog, but did great out hunting, just didn't retrieve properly. Mike was very persistent and patient with my dog. It was not a quick fix. It took Mike 9 weeks to finish him, but when I got him back, he retrieved great. Mike kept me up to date on the progress of my dog. Mike was extremely fair in his pricing, he could have charged me more. He is a man of his word...and he definitely knows how to train dogs. Mike Weis comes highly recommended. I will send my next dog to him for forced retrieving. Thanks Mike!!
Submitted by: Seth Raulston on Aug 20, 2009
I have sent 4 GSP's to LockNLoad kennels as of August 2009, and I'm proud to say it's been worth every dollar. I beleive in Mike and his ability or I wouldn't be on here waisting my time. My dogs first and far most are upland hunting machines, they work 150+ days a year for me, but more importantly, they are on display for my clients. If i do it for a living and trust Mike, should you look any further? If you have any concerns or questions, you may call me direct. If I don't answer, leave a message and I will call you back.
Seth Raulston
Upland Hunting Dreams
970-590-3163
Submitted by: Tom Sullivan on Feb 03, 2009
I have a 21 month old female GSP sired by Dutch out of Cash who is everything I could have hoped for as a hunter, companion and family member.
I sent her back to Mike for formal training when she was a year old. Mike gave me back a dog who is solid on point, backs, and is an enthusiatic retreiver.
Kelly gets to hunt from Sept 1st through mid February on a variety of different birds, from Canada to Arizona, and has quickly learned how to handle each specie.
Her personality is something to behold. She loves people of all ages, is compatible with other dogs and driven to please.
She has the potential to become "my dog of a lifetime"! I cannot recommend Mike strong enough as an honest, hardworking individual who knows how to train and raise dogs. His blood lines produce outstanding dogs.
Submitted by: Blake Deuser on Feb 02, 2009
I have gotten two GSP's from Mike and LocknLoad Kennel, and they are outstanding. Both Females are the most natural hunters I have ever seen. they work great together and I highly recommend Mike and his dogs. He was great to work with and answered any questions that I had. If you are going to be a bird dog, get it from LocknLoad Kennels. Thanks Mike!!
Submitted by: Kyle Rehme on Feb 02, 2009
No question about it, when you're hunting one of Mike's GSPs, everyone knows there's something special about your dog.... Most especially the birds!
Submitted by: Bret and Michelle Elliott on Jan 31, 2009
We met Mike and Emma about a year ago as we were doing some research on breeders, we werenít in a position
to get a dog at the time. Mike and Emma were great and we were impressed with his kennel operation, his knowledge and care for his dogs

About a month ago we purchased a 6 month old male from Mike, we were looking for not only a hunting dog but a companion as well. Our pup, Jäger, is everything we expected and more, big personality, energetic hunter, and a quick learner, not to mention a beautiful dog.

In addition to that Mike has been a great help, we have been out to Mikeís kennel to let Jäger run with the other dogs and to work with Mike on training us on how to train Jäger.

My wife and I both highly recommend Mike and his dog, you wonít be disappointed with either.
Submitted by: Ryan Shepherd on Jan 28, 2009
The first pup we bought from Mike was a natural born bird dog! We honestly didnt have to teach her anything other than basic obedience. We thought it was a fluke so we bought another pup from LockNLoad Kennel and she was the exact same way. These are some of the best bred GSP's in the country. If you want a world renown bird dog....Call Mike at LockNLoad Kennels! Thanks again Mike!!!!!
Submitted by: Lee Bernson on Jan 28, 2009
Having lost my old dog to a neurovirus, I was looking for a partner for my 7 yr old GSP. After countless hours searching, I gave Mike a call as I had two friends with Mike's pups that were very impressive at an early age. The pup I chose was a double bred Fancy White Trash female. Fall of 08 at 4 mo. she was outstanding--- pointing, backing and retrieving at this early age. If you are looking for a top notch gun dog, give Mike a call. Great guy.
Submitted by: Russell Miller on Jan 13, 2009
Well let me start off by saying if you have yet to meet Mike, his family, and his dogs, you are missing out. Mike has single handedly shown me the ropes to training a gun dog. I have always hunted with dogs, and have been around hunting dog trainers, but never with my own dogs, and when I aquired a dog to be trained I was clueless on where to start. Now in the short time that I have known Mike I must say im confident in what I am doing, and I also believe that he is hands down the BEST trainer I have seen or been around. Mike shows his excellence in his perfectly upkept kennel, and his willingness to take people like me in on his own time and help out. If you have not been able to talk to Mike or see his dogs, you are truly missing out on one of the greatest experiences you can have!
Submitted by: Gary Webber on Dec 15, 2008
I recently purchased my first bird dog from Mike, and this dog is amazing!!!. I talked to Mike on the phone a couple of times and he told me what Regent could do, it was all true. I drov e up to see him and Mike assured me if I bought him, he would be there if I had any questions or problems and he has. I've had lots of questions but no problems. I'm extremely impressed with Mike's training techniques and the bloodlines of his dogs. If anyone is looking for a quality bird dog or needs one trained, Mikes the man to see. I'm confident that Regent will be an excellent hunting companion for years to come, also a life long friend, all due to Mike's knowledge and caring for these dogs.
Submitted by: Prairie Wing Ranch-Gerry Woelfel on Aug 08, 2008
Owning champion gun dogs of his own and knowing the right training techniques, Mike has helped me make two of my dogs competitive, placing with other champion dogs in NSTRA. Being a competitive person myself, Mike is one of the top reasons I am involved in this sport.

Thanks a bunch!
Gerry Woelfel
Submitted by: Terri Hart on Jun 10, 2008
I'm new to the bird dog world and Mike has gone above and beyond answering my questions and helping me with my pup. I am so impressed with his training methods and his dogs. Thank you Mike for encouraging and helping me help "Boone" be the best he can be.
Terri
Submitted by: Norm Kermmoade on Feb 17, 2008
I met Mike about a year ago at a NSTRA trial in Kansas, It was easy to see why everyone spoke so highly of him, he is honest hardworking and true to his word, shortly after this meeting Mike contacted me about a dog that he had bred and trained that a gentelman was selling, this was the first trained dog I have ever bought. Mike told me that the dog was a great dog so I took a chance and bought the dog sight unseen, Mike picked up the dog for me and worked him before a tial when we agreed I would pick him up, the dog was everything Mike said and more, this is just an example of the kind of guy Mike is, I hunted with Mike this fall in Nebraska and as always was impressed with his dogs and their training. Mike is an excellent trainer and Handler and one of those people that I am proud to call my friend, Please consider Him for all of your training needs as well as a top notch dog.
Submitted by: Serafin Barayazarra on Feb 14, 2008
I have had the pleasure of knowing Mike since I started competing in NSTRA back in 1999. His hard work and dedication over the last 10 years have helped make the Rocky Mountain region of NSTRA one of the strongest in the nation. He carries that same enthusiasm, dedication and thoughtfullness into his breeding and training programs. His soft hand and gentle nature has produced some of the most competative dogs in NSTRA. Not to mention correcting several issues in two of my pointers that I sent to him. I have also judged and hunted behind many outstanding dogs that have come out of his breeding programs and they are truely some of the finest dogs money can buy. You can't go wrong with a GSP or Setter out of LockNLoad Kennels!
Submitted by: Dan Sedam on Feb 12, 2008
I want to express my gratitude toward Mike Weis and Lock n Load Kennels. He is an ethical breeder of GSP and an excellent trainer of numerous different pointing breeds. I believe the reason he puts 100% into this is his passion and love for the dog. He has helped Me as well as many others become better dog handlers. I've got a nine month old pup, Blaze out of his 4X champion, Cash and I have high expectations for this pup, he has an excellent nose and style. I know Mike will help me get him there. I've not only found a good trainer and excellent breeder but also a life long friend. Thank you Mike!
Submitted by: Randy tangeman on Feb 10, 2008
Mike has been working with one of our dogs and getting her ready to trial this spring in Colorado. He is a concientious trainer who pays attention to the details. Mike listens to a dogs owner and builds on what he hears. Overall, we would recommend Mike to anyone.
Submitted by: Tom Lefor on Feb 10, 2008
I have purchased two pups from Mike in the past 8 years. Mike helped me get started with my first GSP hunting dog in training & handling, giving me the ability to train my second dog. Mike has always been very supportive when I needed help correcting my dog or with my handling.
Submitted by: Finishing Touch Bird Dogs- Bruce Anderson on Feb 10, 2008
I have worked with Mike, and NSTRA trialed against him in locally and Nationally. Mike is a good trainer and a great competitor. Mike and I bought this dog and his littermate at the same time. I have observed this dog before and during training, and had the pleasure of hunting with Mike and these two littermates this fall in Nebraska. The dog does what Mike states it will do. I own the littermate.
Submitted by: Jim White on Feb 08, 2008
I just wanted to express my deepest appreciation for not only the quality customer service Mike provided but his sincere kindness in helping me with my GSP "Ranger". I recently have experienced some unfovorable challenges in my life and could no longer provide Ranger the quality of life he deserves as an excellent gun dog. Mike came to the rescue and found a friend who saved him through adoption at the Denver Dumb Friends Lge. Ranger is on his way to flush birds in Idaho! God bless you guys and thanks for everything!
Submitted by: Jim McDermott on Feb 08, 2008
I have used LockNLoad Kennel off & on for the past three years. Mike has been excellent with both of my German Shorthairs as well as me who really needed the training. Mike has force broke my 4 year old to retrieve and this was done very professionally and TJ is doing fantastic. My year & half old pup was whoe broke and has been hunting this winter doing fantastic for a pup. All because of Mike.
Submitted by: Darin anderson on Feb 08, 2008
I have had golden retrievers for several years. I decided I wanted a pointing dog. Mike helped me train a rescued pointer pup with good blood lines. Mike has a great ability to read dogs. I have hunted with Mike and his dogs for many years. His dog work is very polished. And he has made me be a better dog handler with my retrievers and my pointer.
Submitted by: Trent Smith on Feb 08, 2008
Mike breeds excellent German Shorthaired Pointers, his knowledge about the dogs and their training is second to none. He literally eats, breaths and sleeps pointing dogs, which in my mind absolutely shows through 100% with the quality of dog & service you get with him.
Submitted by: zane mowers on Jul 07, 2007
mike breeds great dogs. He is very rsponsive and helpful with any questions long after the purchase of the pup and completely stands behind the ability to be a bird dog.

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to LOCKNLOAD KENNEL, LLC