Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Steady On Point Kennels

Testimonials (20) | Back to Steady On Point Kennels
Submitted by: Ned LeMaster on Apr 16, 2012
I've seen Alan work wonders with hunting dogs of all breeds and temperaments over the years. The one that impressed me the most, was my own gun shy GSP. Alan was able to correct my novice mistake and turn the shorthair into a bird crazy machine. Alan and Sue also breed a premium line of Brittanys. I've had the pleasure of raising a pup from one of their litters over the past three years. The hunt drive and trainability that this dog possesses are unrivaled in my opinion. The Ott's are responsible breeders and go the extra mile from OFA certifying, to finding the right home for the right dog.
As an educator, Alan Ott is top shelf. The training seminars that Steady on Point put on are first class. I've participated in several, and taken away something new each time. You get a lot of one on one attention at these seminars, and also learn from the other handlers and their dogs. If youíre looking to have your bird dog trained, buy a Brittany puppy, or attend a training seminar you canít go wrong with Alan Ott. Just be prepared to make a lifelong friend, who is passionate about dogs.
Submitted by: Bob Stoltzfus on Mar 11, 2012
Just a note to let you know how we appreciated
your training. Scout (GSP) has been a real thrill
to hunt with this season. He has been obedient in
the field, steady on point and has retrieved about
every bird we shot over him.
Thanks again for what you did for us, we may have
another for you in 2012.

Paradise Kennels
Mattoon, Il.
Submitted by: Doug and Sue Beaupre on Mar 11, 2012
We have 2- 18 month old Brittanys from Alan and Sue Ott. Their dad is Diesel. Tinker is a liver and white and Belle is an Orange and white. Color on the Ott's dogs doesn't mean anything. They both have hunted with our older Brittanys, their dad Diesel and many of our friends, co-workers etc.They have natural retrieve and they were easy to train, they didn't need much work at all. The hunting ability is in them and all we had to do was to turn the switch on! All the people we have hunted and guided with were very impressed and could not believe they were so young.We will ALWAYS get a puppy from Alan and Sue Ott. They are always willing to help us if we need it. They're the BEST!!!
Submitted by: Ryan Nikolich on Mar 02, 2012
Steady on point is a perfect name for Alan, his kennels & his approach to understanding your dog. I have experienced two other hunting dog training locations over the course of my hunting career, although drive is something you can't teach Alan sure knows how to bring it out in the dog. His work can be seen on my beautiful Vizsla Kansas who many friends envy and have often said is one of the best dogs they've ever hunted behind. Thanks Alan! Keep up the great work.
Ryan Nikolich
Submitted by: Jason Turner on Feb 17, 2012
I took my Drahthaar to Alan for training a couple of months ago and couldn't be happier with her progress. While I'm very impressed with her performance, I've been even more impressed with the way Alan interacts with her and the other dogs. I would recommend Alan and Steady on Point to anyone looking for a trainer. It's a great feeling to have your dog being trained by someone you trust.
Submitted by: Rob Mottarcr on Feb 15, 2012
I was looking for a breeder that cared about the home their puppies were going to. Alan is very passionate about all the dogs he come in contact with. Since I knew very little about training a bird hunting dog , I attended a couple of Alan's seminars. His methods are great. He is all about positive reinforcement. Nia, my 2 year old Brittany, has the genes of premium pointing dog and Alan taught me how to bring out the best in her. Alan also hooked me up with a bird hunting club that Nia and I have enjoyed every day we have been out in the field. Nia has more than exceeded my expectation as a bird dog, hunting partner, and friend. I am so glad I chose Alan.
Submitted by: Gene Schiesser on Feb 09, 2012
Though we did not get our Brittney from Alan, he did train her. He has a fantasic breeding and training facility and we could have been more pleased with the results. When we get our next Brittney, we will buy from Alan at Steady On Point!

Gene Schiesser
Submitted by: Louis on Feb 08, 2012
My experience with Alan Ott and Steady on Point Kennels was very positive. His training methods are gentle, fast, and effective. My GSP's skills were sharpened and reinforced by Alan in a short three week training period. I can proudly claim a dog that is consistently steady on point, flush and shot.The kennels are well designed and kept clean for all the dogs. This facility and staff has attention to detail and an overall great place to bring your gun dog for training. I would HIGHLY recommend Steady on Point and Mr. Alan Ott without reservation.
Submitted by: Barbara Davies on Feb 08, 2012
I adopted a pointer from a rescue and wanted to see if he had any hunt abilities. He is a typical high-strung pointer with some personality quirks as well, so I knew I'd have to find the right trainer. After interviewing several trainers, I felt Alan would be the best fit for him - I made a great choice ! Within a few weeks Alan had him working confidently in the field, and his interest in birds increased day by day. He now points and loves working in the field. I'm looking forward to a possible try at AKC Hunt Tests and definitely more training this summer.
Submitted by: Larry McKay on Feb 08, 2012
I did not buy my dog from Steady on Points Kennels but based on his training of my new puppy at the time I will look into in the future. He not only trained my dog he also trained me as owner of dog. I have gone to his follow up training and will do so in future. They make you feel at home and treat you as people too.
Submitted by: Larry O'Connor on Feb 07, 2012
I feel as comfortable, leaving Erin, my Brittney, with Alan Ott, as I would dropping off one of my children at their grandparents. I know that Erin will be well taken care of in clean environment. In addition any training I request is performed in a first class caring manner.

Steady On Point Kennels is Erin's home away from home.
Submitted by: Steve Ries on Feb 07, 2012
As Field Specialist with Native performance dog food, we have the opportunity to travel North America to work with kennels that breed and train hunting and other performance animals. Alan and Sue are at the top of our list for quality trustworthy individuals that provide a service to thier clients, sport and community. We would certainly endourse thier efforts to meet the publics needs in reaching their goals with hunting companions.
Steve Ries
Native Performance Dog Food
Submitted by: Doug DesLauriers on Feb 07, 2012
When we were looking for a companion hunting dog that would fit well in our busy household, including two young boys, Alan suggested one of his own females. I was a little leery bringing a 2 year old dog into our home but based on his recommendation and description of her demeanor we decided to bring P'nut home. Words cannot describe how much all of us have grown to love her and how well she has adapted to our chaotic family. She really is a special dog, her manners both in the field and in the home are a testament to Alan's passion for dogs and their training.
Submitted by: Jon Elsea on Feb 07, 2012
We purchased our Brittany, Lady, from Steady on Point Kennels seven years ago and couldn't be more pleased. Alan Ott is a caring professional whose operation is top-notch in every respect. Whether you are looking for a started pup or want access to proven, successful training methods, Alan deserves your consideration. He uses a sensitive, consistent, logical approach in preparing hunting dogs to meet the needs of his clients. We don't call him the "Dog Father" for nothing! Try Steady on Point - you'll be well satisfied!
Submitted by: Don King on Feb 07, 2012
I've been associated with Steady On Point for about 3 years. Though I didn't purchase my dog from Alan, I've used him as a trainer with great success. His training methods are firm and consistant, his willingness to work one on one with owner and dog is extremely helpful, (especially for someone with not much training experience). Alan seems to know what the dog is thinking so you can ready yourself to make a correction before the dog makes (his/her) mistake.
If you're looking for an excellent training experience Steady On Point is the place to go.
Submitted by: Steve Lambright on Feb 07, 2012
Alan Ott and his crew at Steady On Point Kennels have been fantastic. We adopted a one year old Brittany from a local rescue, primarily for a family pet. After leaving him with Alan for 2 weeks, what a transformation. He got his confidence back and has become a very good companion, both at home and in the field. We have also attended Alan's training seminars and I look forward to working with Steady On Point again in the near future.
Submitted by: Jason Randall on Feb 07, 2012
Alan Ott has been breeding and training excellent hunting dogs for many years. He is honest and reputable and has produced many fine dogs, both for the field and as family companions.
Submitted by: Rob Sheffer on Feb 07, 2012
I cant say enough about Alan Ott and Steady on point Kennels. Mr Ott is a true professional in every respect of the word. He breeds first class Brittany's and is an acomplished trainer. I have owned many Brittany's in the past,but have never had such a great experience with a breeder,and I believe that I have the best puppy I have ever owned.I have worked with Alan on making her the best she can be.His experience and wisdom when it come to training is second to none.He calls it"his passion" and it shows.Anytime I have had a question about training or anything else,he responds very quickly,with great advice.I am looking forward to enjoying the best bird dog I have ever owned,Thanks to Alan Ott.A first rate breeder,and trainer.If your in the market for a Brittany puppy,or having issues training your's,I highly recommend you get in touch with Steady on Point Kennels.You wont find any better!
Submitted by: Gil Nero on Feb 06, 2012
Before bringing my 2 year old female brittany to Alan at Steady On Point Kennels I investigated several other local trainers. In less than one week Alan did more with my high energy, excitable Brittany than I was able to do in the previous 22 months. Kelsey is my third Brittany. I leave her at Alan's for at least one week per year while I'm vacationing. Still, five years later, if I roll the car's window down within 5-8 miles of Alan's kennel she goes ballistic because she knows where she is going and is excited to get back there again! In my opinion Alan's training ability and patience is second to none and his facility is first class.
Submitted by: Adam Bissias on Feb 06, 2012
Alan is the best!! I took him my 1 year old German Shorthair. My dog was never on birds before Alan and in just a fee short weeks i have a great hunting dog. He is great with dogs and gets the right response from them. When it is time for another dog i will go through him again!!

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Steady On Point Kennels