Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Next Generation Gun Dogs

Testimonials (14) | Back to Next Generation Gun Dogs
Submitted by: Jamie Mannigel on Nov 25, 2013
Our Sammy girl will be turning 7 months this December. She is proving to be a wonderful pet and great hunter! We couldnt be happier with her! Thanks guys at NGD!
Submitted by: zachary on Oct 10, 2013
As a passionate hunter, I made the choice to invest in a hunting dog. After researching breeds for close to a year, I came across the Chesapeake Bay retriever. After deciding this was the breed for me, I began to research kennels. I spent hours contacting people to get no real answers. Eventually I came across Next Generation Gun Dog Training, it was clear immediately that they knew what they were doing. I contacted Adam Levy, with my inquiries about the business and what they specialize in; Adam stayed on the phone with me for over an hour and answered every question I threw at him with confidence. Adam reassured my decision to go with a Chesapeake, a year later Kodiak was born. I made the trip to the kennel from Colorado to pick up Kodiak, after that I spoke with Adam everyday with questions and concerns; he never failed to answer. Six Months passed by quickly and it was time to take Kodiak back to begin his much-anticipated Gun Dog training. Andrew (Head Trainer) did an amazing job with Kodiak. There has never been a doubt in my mind about the decision I made a year ago to ensure Kodiak’s success as the hunting dog he is. Kodiak has retrieved over 300 doves and 38 ducks so far this year at the age of one. I am excited to see how goose season goes, and how much Kodiak will improve in that time.

With Kodiak the compliments never cease. Everyone exposed to him is amazed by his character and behavior, and he continues to learn at a speedy pace. In a few months Kodiak will return to the kennel to continue his gun dog training. I would recommend Next Generation Gun Dog training to anyone interested in having an exceptional hunting dog. Not only are Adam and Andrew excellent dog trainers who know what they are doing, but I also now have new friends.



Zach
Loveland, Colorado

Submitted by: Kelly Irvine on Sep 18, 2013
Hi Adam!
Hope you guys are doing well after a busy summer. Just a quick note to let you know that Cotton (the kids named him Jack) is doing just great. He was mellow for awhile and lately is showing his full lab energy! He has grown really quickly...14 lbs between his first two vet appts, a month apart. Don't have the best photos on my phone but will send you more.

He's already a special member of the family!

Kelly Irvine
Submitted by: Kenny Breyer on Feb 28, 2013
Well Boone had his first full hunting season just come to an end, and he did GREAT! He picked up hundreds of ducks, over 100 geese, and did great on upland birds. Andrew did a great job on Boone. Boone started with Andrew as a 5 month old pup and stayed in training until he was a year and a half old. Boone will be back with Next Generation Gundog Training next month to get ready for this upcoming hunt test season. Here is a picture of Boone on a snow goose hunt 2 weeks ago where he retrieved over 40 snows.

Submitted by: James Davis on Feb 05, 2013
I just wanted to thank Next Generation Gun Dogs for my latest Chesapeake Bay Retriever. I purchased "Rogue" as a finished retriever who was a little under two years old. She is a great dog, sound in both disposition, looks, obedience, and hunting. What an amazing dog! Her disposition is great as I am a high school rugby and football coach and bring her into the school for practices and gym time as well as a spectator at games! She is friendly and always greets people with a wagging tail. She is solidly built and well bred....looking like a dark brown Chesapeake should with a nice wavy coat. As far as obedience the training done was top notch from come and sit to heel! I live in a suburban neighborhood and she is rarely on a leash. She lives in the house and I have had no problems with "accidents" or chewed objects. Not only does Next Generation Gun Dogs produce sound obedient dogs where they really shine is in their hunt training! Rogue is force fetched, cc, whistle trained, marks and retrieves birds from a blind and stays in range while flushing upland game. Within a week of owning her I shot 20 pheasants with her and each bird was flushed in range and retrieved to hand with a seated delivery. Overall, I cannot say enough about Next Generation Gun Dogs! I went to their facility and was very impressed not only by the dog that I purchased but the knowledge and professional atmosphere that they provide! I look forward to working with them in the future and would recommend them to anyone looking for a "real deal" hunting and family companion.
Submitted by: Tito Bourget on Feb 05, 2013
Thanks Adam!! The pup, not so much a pup anymore he's about 80lbs and soooo athletic!! He can launch so high in the air to catch his Frisbee sometimes I think he is just doing it to show off! He also can swim out past the surf and he barks at all the surfers its hilarious! He is so sweet and loving. I thought I could never love a dog as much as I did my old coon hound but this guy won me over. Do you think he will get much bigger? He's pretty lean and he eats like a champ. He's 1year and 4 months old now. Hope you guys are well!
Submitted by: James Davis on Feb 01, 2013

I just wanted to thank Next Generation Gun Dogs for my latest Chesapeake Bay Retriever. I purchased "Rogue" as a finished retriever who was a little under two years old. She is a great dog, sound in both disposition, looks, obedience, and hunting. What an amazing dog! Her disposition is great as I am a high school rugby and football coach and bring her into the school for practices and gym time as well as a spectator at games! She is friendly and always greets people with a wagging tail. She is solidly built and well bred....looking like a dark brown Chesapeake should with a nice wavy coat. As far as obedience the training done was top notch from come and sit to heel! I live in a suburban neighborhood and she is rarely on a leash. She lives in the house and I have had no problems with "accidents" or chewed objects. Not only does Next Generation Gun Dogs produce sound obedient dogs where they really shine is in their hunt training! Rogue is force fetched, cc, whistle trained, marks and retrieves birds from a blind and stays in range while flushing upland game. Within a week of owning her I shot 20 pheasants with her and each bird was flushed in range and retrieved to hand with a seated delivery. Overall, I cannot say enough about Next Generation Gun Dogs! I went to their facility and was very impressed not only by the dog that I purchased but the knowledge and professional atmosphere that they provide! I look forward to working with them in the future and would recommend them to anyone looking for a "real deal" hunting and family companion.

Thanks,

J.D. Davis

Milwaukee, Wisconisn






































Submitted by: Tito Ray on Feb 01, 2013
Thanks Adam!! The pup, not so much a pup anymore he's about 80lbs and soooo athletic!! He can launch so high in the air to catch his Frisbee sometimes I think he is just doing it to show off! He also can swim out past the surf and he barks at all the surfers its hilarious! He is so sweet and loving. I thought I could never love a dog as much as I did my old coon hound but this guy won me over. Do you think he will get much bigger? He's pretty lean and he eats like a champ. He's 1year and 4 months old now. Hope you guys are well!
Submitted by: Bill McGuffin on Jan 24, 2013
When we had decided to get my children a dog, we had several breeds that we were looking into at the time. After talking to some friends, and my cousin (our resident dog expert), we had decided on the Chesapeake Bay Retriever. I went online to look for breeders, and was lucky to find one so close to home. Adam Levy was a big reason why we purchased the dog. He was very welcoming, and let us come see the dogs several times prior to purchasing the puppy. He was very knowledgeable about the breed, and from seeing how he handled his dog, I was very impressed with what he had to offer.

When he chose the puppy for us, he did a great job. Sadie is such a great dog, and memebr of our family. My kids lover her to death, and call her their little sister. She goes everywhere with us.

I would highly recommend using Adam Levy if you are looking for a Chesapeake Bay Retriever, or any breed for that matter. He was very knowledgeable, and is still available when we have questions. It was a great experience overall.
Submitted by: Dan Davis on Nov 03, 2012
When I decided to start duck hunting again I researched breeds started reading about the cheseapeake bay retriever and was hypnotized by the breed and there history searched for puppies and found a litter which was a Gunner and Claire breeding and drove four hours to look at the 2week old puppies! Wow that was great to have 13 puppies crawling all over you and trying to pic one out and I picked Rebel which is not only my first chessie but also my first registered dog ,and I being completely ignorant to the whole registered dog world the help and encouragement I recieved from Adam and Andrew was invaluable I must have ask Adam a million questions day and night, him helping us through two dog shows ,one of which was the ACC Specialty and with Adams help our Rebel has brought home three blue ribbons two reserve ribbons one third place ribbon ,a triple crown trophy ,and he passed the ACC hunt test and has a working dog certificate ! At 9 months old.,he is a great pup! Loves other dogs and is great with our 1year old and our 2year old grand children even at his size of 75lbs at 9months I've owned dogs my whole life but have never owned such a quality heart stealing pup in my whole life everyone that meets him seems to love him, hopefully with Adam and Andrew's continued help Rebel can win some more ribbons and may be get some show and hunting titles in the future!
Dan Davis!!
Submitted by: Sara Rae on Mar 26, 2012
We searched for months and months to find a breeder that loved their dogs as much as we loved ours. After many empty attempts we came across Merit Kennels (Marks-A-lot Chesapeakes). It was apparent from the moment we spoke with Adam that he not only knew the breed in and out but loved his dogs. We were certain this was the perfect match for us. After weeks of updates through emails and pictures the moment came to finally pick up our Josey. The anxiety of flying her across the United States was lessened with the reassurance Adam and Richard gave us. And from the moment we picked her up from the airport there was an instant connection. We felt as though we had known her through the many emails and phone conversations we'd had with her breeders. Each question and concern,no matter how insignificant it may have seemed to most,was just as important to Adam and Richard and was answered without fail. We look forward to the many years of wonderful memories we'll have with our new family member,Josey. And we can't thank you guys enough for enriching our lives the way you have. I would suggest anyone looking for a dog with an innate eagerness to learn,beautiful build and personality,and even bigger willingness to love,look into Marks-A-Lot Chesapeakes and any of their upcoming litters. We couldn't be happier with the decision we've made. Thanks again you guys!
Submitted by: Suzanne Nangle on Mar 26, 2012
My husband and I have owned Labs for over 20 years. Triton, is our first “Chessie” and has been an amazing pup. You can be very proud of Sage and Gunner it was a great mix. Since the day we picked him up (and arrived home 6 hours later) he has been a joy. Not only handsome, he is extremely bright for his age. People who visit can not get over how well he follows commands at his young age. While energetic as all young dogs are, he understands when it is time to settle down. What has impressed us most is how alert he is to the world around him, he notices the most subtle sounds and movements. Obviously, his favorite past times include swimming and retrieving which he will do until he wears us out. Triton has become a wonderful member of our family and are watching your future pups as we are hooked on Chessie’s. Adam, your passion for breeding these fantastic dogs is evident. Thank you.
Submitted by: Eric Chaffer on Mar 26, 2012
Our decision to get a dog was not undertaken lightly. We knew going in that it would be a major decision for our family but from the get-go,we knew we wanted a Chesapeake Bay Retriever. I had 2 of them growing up and had great experiences with both. After searching for a few weeks,I had the good luck to come upon Adam Levy who had recently bred a litter and had a few pups left. I was sold at first sight as was my wife and a week later we brought Millie home to the delight of our three children.

We had a good idea of what to expect with the dog,but what we didn't know and what turned out to be the greatest bonus,was the care and support of Adam. He followed up,checked up, answered questions (both silly and legitimate) any time and helped us with every aspect of dog ownership that we encountered. He never pushed us into anything,always letting us make our own decisions (although I can't think of any of his advice that I didn't listen to). Feeding,training,house-breakin​g,toys...when I stop to think about how much I truly DIDN'T know,I shudder thinking about what would have been without his support. To this day,he is still in contact with us and I can't emphasize enough just how important a role he played in our adjustment to having Millie.

Sincerely,
Eric Chaffer
Submitted by: Nichole Kelly on Apr 30, 2011
Hello my name is Nichole Kelly and I'm looking for a famle puppy for my grandfather who has always had this breed of dog. Hope you have what im looking for.

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Next Generation Gun Dogs