Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Sur le Delavan Kennel
Testimonials (113) | Back to Sur le Delavan Kennel
Submitted by: Tina L on Aug 27, 2018
Hi Clint,

Just wanted to let you know I ran Nash in his Natural Ability (NA) test with NAVHDA today.

He scored a 112. Prize 1

Perfect Score!!!!!!!

This has been one of the best days of my life. I am so happy. Nash is such a wonderful dog and got to show that to a lot of people today.

I just got home but will probably post something about it later tonight or tomorrow on facebook. I'm exhausted. We had some rain delays so were essentially out in the field 10.5 hours today.

Tina Laurence
Submitted by: Ralph on May 23, 2018
Hi Clint,
The paperwork/awards finally came in from NAVHDA for Topanga's testing
She received a prize 1 natural ability, a prize 3 utility preparatory and and prize 1 utility preparatory
My wife is making copies of the paperwork and will be mailing it to you shortly.
We are aware Jake Bartells is keeping records on EB's who test in NAVHDA and will be sending him copies as well.
We intend on getting Topanga OFA'd after she turns 2 and and will mail you copies of those documents too.
Topanga is having a solid hunting season-including woodcock/grouse in Michigan/Northern Wi and it will extend into late March at the hunting preserve.
I also dropped a mallard, 2 wood ducks, a blue winged teal and a a Canada goose over her when jump shooting the creek during the duck season.
Topanga is doing great and is VERY spoiled (pink nose and all). In the morning, she will hide our daughter's shoes because she does not want her to go to school :-)
My old Griffon which I retired (going blind-nuclear sclerosis) when I got Topanga is still alive and kicking at 15. They sleep together at night.

Best regards to you and your family,
Ralph Ricci
Submitted by: Travis on May 23, 2018
Hi Clint and Suzanne,

Last spring I introduced Gabby to birds and at 6 months she would point, hold and retrieve. She can’t clean them or drive yet but everything else I ask her to do she does it well.

She is very very sweet and has a huge desire to please us. She comes to my office with me every day and sits in the chair across from my desk. We could not be more happy to have her. The way your family raised the puppies and the interaction with your kids definitely makes a big difference in how they turn out as a dog. The next time we are in the market( which could be soon) we would want one of your puppies.

If there is anything I can do to endorse you guys or help further your efforts in marketing your puppies please let me know.

Travis Oliver
Submitted by: Katie on May 22, 2018
Hi Clint,

Teddy is doing great and weighed in today at 23.1 lbs! He is energetic but still very snuggly. He loves everyone and other dogs, and he is fearless. He goes to the door when he has to pee and 95% of the time we get him outside in time to pee. He comes and sits and lies down, backs up, gets off, shakes, spins, waits/stays, goes to kennel, fetches, brings toys when we tell him to, and is learning more. Thinking I might do agility with him... he is teething now and has about 9 of his adult teeth in! He has been the picture of health since he stopped the panacur and started his kibbles like you suggested. Can't thank you enough for your help solving those stomach issues and for giving us such a great family member! You have gone above and beyond since I first called you, and I'm so glad we made the decision to buy a Sur le Delavan EB. Teddy may have ruined other dog breeds for us! If anyone ever wants to talk to someone who has bought a puppy from you, please give them my name!

Photos of Teddy from today attached.

Cheers,
Katie
Submitted by: Tina Laurence on May 09, 2018
Nash turns one today. (Hera x Leo breeding) He is currently at foundation training right now. I'm missing his 1st birthday, but I bet he is having a blast chasing birds. I have attached a few photos I received from the trainer. He is a great dog all around and gets compliments all the time about how good looking he is. He weighs 38.4 lbs!!

I am testing him in NAVHDA at the end of August for Natural Ability. He will be almost at cut off point (16 mos) for age, but I chose the later test so I have time to get him swimming reliably in warmer weather. I will keep you posted on how he does.

I am looking forward to his 1st season hunting in September. I didn't take him last year because I didn't want to rush things with him.

I connected with Janna with Neal on Facebook. It's nice seeing one of his siblings grow up too.

Just wanted to send some photos.

Thanks for the best dog ever!!

Tina Laurence
Submitted by: Doug Bollin on May 08, 2018
When I first spoke with Clint over the phone, I quickly realized that he had exceptional knowledge about this breed. I had looked long and hard for the right breeder and I knew soon after speaking and meeting clint and his family that my search was over. I could easily tell his heart was in the right place and his passion with strong. Clint, Sur le Delavan kennel is astounding. Thanks again!
Doug B.
Submitted by: Judy Casper on May 08, 2018
Clint is one of the top breeders and trainers out there. You will never go wrong getting a puppy from him or hiring him for training your dog. No one has done for the breed or the cub then Clint Lafary. He is a very honest person and truly loves this these little pocket rockets as they are known as by many. I got my first EB from Sur Le Delavan. Nothing has changed my life more then my Bo! He maybe more dog then I can handle as he is one strong hunting buddy if there ever was one. I am sure had he been in Clint's hands Gun Ch Gracen Sur Le Delavan TAN (aka Bo)would be a grand champion as so many of his family are. There are few trainers out there as loving with your dog when training as he is.
Submitted by: Jackie Hutwagner on May 08, 2018
GRCHF CH Gallant Thor Sur Le Delavan TAN came to our family as a puppy and has excelled in the field. He has earned his grand champion of the field title and his champion of the show titles at 3 years old. Thor had a close call at 8 months old when he and his 6 month old girlfriend ran away from home. We found Thor and Harriett 8 days later. He had been hit by a vehicle and his front leg was shattered. A surgeon in Dothan Alabama was able to fix him up and with a plate and 14 screws in his leg Thor almost won best of show but he had a limp that cost him the win. We had the plate removed and Thor healed up good as new and has never looked back. He has hunted birds all over the US including ruff grouse, huns, prairie chicken, pheasant, woodcock, and so on. He has 8 open class wins on wild birds, liberated birds in solo and couples. Thank you for producing our dog. Not only can he hunt, field trial and show but he is an excellent house pet and our family truly loves him as part of our family.
Submitted by: Phil Bowers on May 08, 2018
Clint runs a topnotch facility. He strives to produce dogs of the best quality. As he says, he will not cut corners. He is always willing to help with training questions whether you have one of his dogs or not. He is totally dedicated to the concept of a "Total Dog."
If you are looking for a puppy, help with training, or just information on this wonderful breed, he is the one to talk to...
Phil Bowers
Submitted by: Lynsi Hammond on May 07, 2018
There are many breeders out there on the web, and we checked into most of them. After weeding through the masses we settled with a few breeders we felt very comfortable with. Real breeders, ones that import dogs, trial dogs, show dogs and aren't afraid to move away from dogs that aren't working out. Sur le Delavan made the cut for us. We are looking forward to their June 2018 litter! This will be our 5th EB and the first time going outside our first breeder. Clint hunts his dogs. The same dogs are some of the best trialing dogs in the UKC. Clint is very willing to train his puppies or any other dogs for that matter...I encourage you to find a breed of EBs that will also train your puppy for you.

I highly recommend you give Clint a call if you are looking for a puppy or gun dog training.

Lynsi
Submitted by: Rex Holmes on Apr 10, 2018
I wanted to take a minute to share my experience using Sur le Delavan Kennel with others. Clint was very willing to work with me in trying to get us a puppy. At first, we were willing to wait for one of his puppies and looked elsewhere. When we spoke to many other breeders we quickly learned what set Sur le Delavan Kennel apart from many other breeders, respect. Clint was willing to listen to me for what I was looking for and never tried to tell me what I was looking for. Clint was also willing to train the puppy when it was ready, I found very few "breeders" train dogs also. I strongly believe this is another very good reason to look at Sur le Delavan Kennel. I don't believe my experience is any different than many others... I highly recommend Sur le Delavan for your puppy or training needs.

Rex
SD
Submitted by: Kayla Jordan on Mar 29, 2018
Clint,

I really have enjoyed following your 2018 blog on your website: surledelavankennel.com. It has been very helpful watching you train Otis for the past few weeks. While I didn't get our puppy from you, you have been a huge help in the training. Our next puppy will come from you for sure. Our new puppy won't even pick up a bird... how did you get your puppy to do so at such a young age?

I would wholeheartedly recommend your training and dogs to anyone looking for a trainer or puppy!

Thank you for all the time you have given me over the last few weeks...I didn't even get a call back from our breeder.

Kayla
Bloomington, MN
Submitted by: Dennis Sullivan on Mar 22, 2018
It was very refreshing to meet Clint and Bud at Sur le Delavan Kennel. They are just north of Springfield, IL just off highway 136. Very easy to get to. The kennel runs are clean and safe and seem to be attended to often. I took the time to come up and have them work with Maggie and I for 2 hours on a Sunday afternoon. Clint and Bud were able to see the issues we were having and in a very short time had her standing on point well. They sent me home with "homework" to do. We have spent the better part of a month now working on it. I am excited to report she pasted her AKC Senior hunter this past weekend. We couldn't have done it without their time and help! I high recommend Sur le Delavan Kennel for any pointing training you need.

Dennis Sullivan
Brighton, Missouri
Submitted by: Terrance Lowe on Mar 14, 2018
Our dog is now 6 years old. We have learned more from her than she has from us for sure. I want to let anyone looking for a puppy to think about getting one from Sur le Delavan Kennel. From day one, Clint has been willing to take phone calls and emails. I will have made many of them. He works hard to prove his dogs. He talks highly of other breeders and encourages you to talk to many breeders. He bought us a membership to the CEB US and we have been a member ever since. We don't take part in many of the events but enjoy the magazine and following other Sur le Delavan dogs in it. If you are looking for a puppy (like we are now) take the time to give Clint a call.

Terrance L
St Cloud, MN
Submitted by: Cantrall Gipson on Mar 08, 2018
I have been running dogs in trials for the better part of 25 years now. It is safe to say Clint and Sur le Delavan Kennel have brought the French Brittany to the game to win. Until last year, I had never competed against one and now I have been beaten by a couple. Clint runs a top-level kennel and takes the time to prove his dogs. I have had setters for many years and am looking forward to my first French Brittany from him. Few breeders train their own dogs, it is refreshing to see a young breeder spending the time to learn what his dogs are about. Many times breeders are shipping their dogs off to other trainers rather than training their own now. There is no way for a breeder to understand what they have unless they are spending the time to learn. Clint not only trains his own dogs he wins with them.

Cantrall G
OK
Submitted by: Raven Moton on Mar 07, 2018
If you are looking for a puppy or started dog, Sur le Delavan Kennel is one place you must look. Clint will take his time to answer your questions on the phone or email. It is clear that he is a student of the breed and cares about the direction of the breed in the US. We have own many breeds of pointing dogs and our next one will be a French Brittany, largely in part to the time Clint spent talking to us about them. We saw his dogs on Wingshooting USA and they seem to really be that way not just on TV. We again saw his dogs in Gundog Magazine shortly after the TV show. We have spoke to many breeders now and strongly believe Sur le Delavan will be where our next puppy comes from.

Check them out,
Raven
NM
Submitted by: William Wade on Mar 05, 2018
Hey guys,

I want to take a minute and review my experience I had dealing with Sur le Delavan Kennel and strongly recommend them to anyone looking for a puppy. We started our search looking for a puppy a month ago and Clint was one of our first breeders we contacted. They were not going to have a puppy for us this year, and we were ready for one now. Long story short, after talking to many other breeders we made our mind up to wait on one of Sur le Delavan's 2019 litters. Clint was helpful helping us find other breeders that had puppies. But none of those breeders had proven their dogs the way Clint had. That was very important to us.

Thanks,
William
Submitted by: Shavaun Leemon on Feb 23, 2018
Clint,

Thank you for talking to me on the phone last night. Like I said I really enjoyed learning about your breed on the Wingshooting USA show last night. I had not heard of the breed a year ago and now I have seen them on TV and in a magazine. I am excited to work with you next year when I get a puppy. Anyone looking for a puppy (or training as it sounds) should take the time to contact Clint. He didn't treat me the way the two other kennels did closer to my home in Saint Cloud did when I reached out to them. Clint took the time to answer my questions and never once tried to "sell" me a puppy.

Shavaun L
MN
Submitted by: Aaron B on Feb 12, 2018
Hey Clint, I wanted to publicly say thank you for such a great puppy! I had little hopes for hunting this season with a 5.5-month-old puppy. Well to say I am shocked at how quickly this little guy turned it on. I killed 3 types of quail, pheasant and Prairie Chicken over his point this season. He was great on retrieving too. We used him with ducks in the ponds and creeks too. His bird drive was great!

Thank you,
Aaron, AZ
Submitted by: Thomas Wye on Feb 05, 2018
Clint, it was great to meet you at our NSTRA event this weekend in Amo. This was the only way I knew how to contact you so I hope you don't mind. It was really nice to see a "new" breed do so well. Honestly, most of us think of your breed as a bit of a weak breed that is popular only because of its darker cooler. You proved that to be about as far from the truth as possible. Juno is one of the strongest "Brittany" I have seen in years, and I see a lot of them. Thank you for opening my eyes to the French Brittany!

Thomas
Submitted by: Keegan Miller on Feb 05, 2018
Clint,

Although we have never met, I am very interested in learning more about your French Brittanys and your kennel. I just learned about them in the Gun Dog Magazine. They sound like what I m looking for. We duck hunt some but spend most of our time upland bird hunting and relaxing at home. I sent you an email moments ago and I look forward to hearing from you.

Keegan
Submitted by: Jeff Erickson on Jan 29, 2018
Hey Clint and Bud,

I wanted to leave you guys a review for all your hard work with Zac. He handled so much better this hunting season. I don't know how you were able to tame him down and make him such a reliable and easy to hunt behind dog but you did! Were had one of the best woodcock and grouse season in 10 years because of your work. It is great to know that there are some breeders out there still training dogs not just selling them. I wish I would had found you when we were looking for our puppy. The breeder we got him from claimed to know all about training (and the breed) but offered no help when it came time for training. I too see the value in the trialing you do with your dogs. I haven't ever attended a trial, mostly because I never had a dog that I believed could do it. But now if they have any up here in MN I will be interested in doing them. Thanks again!

Jeff
Submitted by: Timothy Shepard on Jan 25, 2018
Clint and Suzanne,
Hope all is well. attached are some recent pictures of our Miel Sur Le Delavan "Mazie"
I simply cannot convey how much my wife and I enjoy her.
Around the house she is a absolute"hoot", she has such amazing temperament. Very loving and playful. She is great with people of all ages, our other EB "Beau", and other dogs at the home and in the field. I honestly have never heard her "growl". Although she is a good watch dog around the house.
In the home she is fantastic, I simply do not any issues with her behavior (other than tearing up the grass in search of gophers).
As for the utility part of her that I purchased her for, a hunting companion, she is coming along very, very well.
Her prey drive is through the roof. Her cooperation in the field is growing as she matures.
I have had Mazie out hunting Dove, Pheasant, and Quail this Hunting Season.Her performance while hunting is coming along very nicely.
Mazie and I train with three Southern California chapters of NAVHDA, the So Cal, Inland Empire, and San Diego Chapters.
Mazie ran and passed the NAVHDA Natural Ability test at 10 months. We are currently training for the NAVHDA finished dog Utility Test.
Thank you Sur Le Delavan Kennel for your work and efforts in selective breeding and truly working to better the breed.
Mazie was from the union of Rip and Hera. I would recommend to any one a pup from any further planned repeat litters.

Thank you agian,
Timothy and Renetia Shepard
Phillips Ranch, California
Submitted by: Ralph Ricci on Jan 25, 2018
Hi Clint,
The paperwork/awards finally came in from NAVHDA for Topanga's testing
She received a prize 1 natural ability, a prize 3 utility preparatory and and prize 1 utility preparatory
My wife is making copies of the paperwork and will be mailing it to you shortly.
We are aware Jake Bartells is keeping records on EB's who test in NAVHDA and will be sending him copies as well.
We intend on getting Topanga OFA'd after she turns 2 and and will mail you copies of those documents too.
Topanga is having a solid hunting season-including woodcock/grouse in Michigan/Northern Wi and it will extend into late March at the hunting preserve.
I also dropped a mallard, 2 wood ducks, a blue winged teal and a a Canada goose over her when jump shooting the creek during the duck season.
Topanga is doing great and is VERY spoiled (pink nose and all). In the morning, she will hide our daughter's shoes because she does not want her to go to school :-)
My old Griffon which I retired (going blind-nuclear sclerosis) when I got Topanga is still alive and kicking at 15. They sleep together at night.

Best regards to you and your family,
Ralph Ricci
Submitted by: Sam Holmes on Jan 17, 2018
We have used Clint (and Bud) for training. They have proven to be great trainers who are willing to work with issues that came up over the years in my GSP. He will set up a training program that will work for you and your dog. He may not be the cheapest but he could be the best in the area and well worth the money. His kennels are safe and very clean.
Submitted by: Scott Urish on Jan 17, 2018
We waited nearly a year for our puppy, and couldn't be happier that we did. We found cheaper puppies but never found any as proven as his breeding stock. Clint will challenge you to find a breeding in the US that is as proven as his, and if the price for those puppies are cheaper he will honor that price...He claims never to have done so in 10 years. Why pay more for less is something he will ask you to ask yourself...and that is a great question.

I would encourage anyone not in a rush to get a puppy to get on his waiting list.
Submitted by: Luke Wilson on Jan 17, 2018
I bought a started dog from Clint last year. I was nervous to buy a 1-year dog that I didn't raise and do the training on. But I didn't want to deal with a puppy. Moe has proven to be the best hunting and family dogs that we have ever owned. The training level was exactly what he told me it would be. Moe is very happy and willing to train and hunt. I can't believe how good a 1 year old dog can be. If you are looking for a well bred and trained started or a finished dog, you need to look at Sur le Delavan Kennel.
Submitted by: Ryan Smith on Aug 02, 2017
I was very pleased to see how far my young dog had made it in 3 months of training at Sur le Dleavan Kennel. When I drop her off, I hadn't done anything field related with her. At pick up she is excitedly pointing, hunting hard in the field, retrieving to hand, not gun shy in anyway. She is 100% steady to release to retrieve and honoring other dogs points. I couldn't be happier. While I will not be field trial or hunt testing, I will be hunting over a very finished dog this fall.

Ryan
Submitted by: Scott Rose on Jul 20, 2017
My training partner at NAVHDA; Ralph Ricci, has a LaFary dog. Ralph used to be the running back at Northwestern University in the 80's and now spends his free time chasing birds & putting up with me!!! Seriously, I had my doubts when I first saw Topanga (Mademoiselle Sur LeDelavan) but she proved me wrong. She is so small for a hunting dog! (30 pounds?) I laughed so hard last fall when Ralph dropped a wood duck in the creek over her and she brought is back! The wood duck was as big as her then! The dog is a firecracker who is VERY cooperative, has an intense point and natural retrieve instinct. Topanga is also demonstrating good sign that she can handle more complicated training such as steadiness on point and by the blind-yes the dog also dove hunts!. Ralph and Topanga are a good team and are good representatives for NAVHDA, LaFary Kennels and the Breton breed. We train on public land in Wi. and people always approach Ralph & ask him what kennel the dog is from, etc. What they have to realize; however, is that these dogs are not robots and need time & training to develop just like other dogs. Who knows, maybe my next dog will be out of LaFary :-)
Submitted by: Jackie on Jun 12, 2017
GRCHF CH Gallant Thor Sur Le Delavan TAN came to our family as a puppy and has excelled in the field. He has earned his grand champion of the field title and his champion of the show titles at 3 years old. Thor had a close call at 8 months old when he and his 6 month old girlfriend ran away from home. We found Thor and Harriett 8 days later. He had been hit by a vehicle and his front leg was shattered. A surgeon in Dothan Alabama was able to fix him up and with a plate and 14 screws in his leg Thor almost won best of show but he had a limp that cost him the win. We had the plate removed and Thor healed up good as new and has never looked back. He has hunted birds all over the US including ruff grouse, huns, prairie chicken, pheasant, woodcock, and so on. He has 8 open class wins on wild birds, liberated birds in solo and couples. Thank you for producing our dog. Not only can he hunt, field trial and show but he is an excellent house pet and our family truly loves him as part of our family.
Submitted by: Grant Martin on Jun 01, 2017
I used Sur le Delavan Kennel and their Gun Dog Training Program to have my GSP tuned up for some AKC hunt Test. Clint spent nearly 2 hours going over the the training he gave Scooter while he was in his care when I picked him. I was blown away at what he was doing. Steady to flush, retrieving to hand, recalling just to name a few.

Scooter passed his Junior Hunter in 5 straight runs over the past month. I couldn't be happier.

Clint
Submitted by: Nacey Flemming on Apr 03, 2017
Anyone interested in a top quality puppy or training: You need to take the time to check out Sur le Delavan Kennel. Clint took many of my phone calls and never pressured me to make a down payment or to offence when I asked or talked about other breeders. He spoke very highly of other breeders and their dogs. He will take the time to talk about the national club and why shows and trials are important even though I was at the time interested in either of those things. I was surprised to hear that a top breed like Sur le Delavan didn't charge as much as many of the other breeders out and even more surprised that lesser proven breeders were changing even more for their puppies. You owe it to yourself to give Clint a call before picking out your puppy.

Nacey
Submitted by: Stu Jackson on Feb 10, 2017
This is a good breeder. I saw one of his pups named Topanga. She belongs to a guy from Northern Illinois and was already being shot over when she was 4 1/2 months old! Pup has a nice point, is very athletic, pretty, fast and full of energy. Very impressed.
Submitted by: Judy Casper on Jan 30, 2017
Clint is one of the top breeders and trainers out there. You will never go wrong getting a puppy from him or hiring him for training your dog. No one has done for the breed or the cub then Clint Lafary. He is a very honest person and truly loves this these little pocket rockets as they are known as by many. I got my first EB from Sur Le Delavan. Nothing has changed my life more then my Bo! He maybe more dog then I can handle as he is one strong hunting buddy if there ever was one. I am sure had he been in Clint's hands Gun Ch Gracen Sur Le Delavan TAN (aka Bo)would be a grand champion as so many of his family are. There are few trainers out there as loving with your dog when training as he is.
Submitted by: Russell Hill on Nov 02, 2016
I just wanted to drop a quick note for anyone looking for a puppy or finished dog. You need to check out Sur le Delavan Kennel. We got a started dog last Spring and are truly enjoying a great hunting season with her.

Russell
Submitted by: Brandon Ward on Jul 21, 2016
Can't tell you how pleased I am with the two dogs I've got from hannahatche kennels. Jackie Hutwagner has some of the best dogs hands-down and breeding program is the best in the business. If you're looking for some great hunting dogs you need to contact Jackie Hutwagner or Clint William LaFary
Submitted by: Phil Bowers on Jun 13, 2016
Clint runs a topnotch facility. He strives to produce dogs of the best quality. As he says, he will not cut corners. He is always willing to help with training questions whether you have one of his dogs or not. He is totally dedicated to the concept of a "Total Dog."
If you are looking for a puppy, help with training, or just information on this wonderful breed, he is the one to talk to...
Phil Bowers
Submitted by: Chris Tinnon on Jun 01, 2016
We were able to go to a field trial in ND and see many EBs in action. Clint took the time to meet with us and we were able to see his dogs in the field. We are impressed to say the least. His dogs and his professionalism stood out from the rest. He has clearly taken the time to prove his dogs for his kennel and clients. We are excited to be on the deposit list for Juno's first litter.
Submitted by: Eric Willard on May 16, 2016
Clint,

Thank you for the time you have taken with us and helping us find a puppy that would fit our house. While we don't hunt as much as we would like to I still wanted a hunting dog. And we found it at our farm. Thank you again for all the extra you take on the phone and on training.

Thank you,
Eric
Submitted by: Scott Shay on Mar 08, 2016
Thanks again for the chance at a great puppy! I can't believe how natural everything has been. We still have the puppy things going on but over all- WOW!

Thanks again,
Scott
Submitted by: Jackie Hutwagner on Dec 15, 2015
GRCHF CH Gallant Thor Sur Le Delavan TAN came to our family as a puppy and has excelled in the field. He has earned his grand champion of the field title and his champion of the show titles at 3 years old. Thor had a close call at 8 months old when he and his 6 month old girlfriend ran away from home. We found Thor and Harriett 8 days later. He had been hit by a vehicle and his front leg was shattered. A surgeon in Dothan Alabama was able to fix him up and with a plate and 14 screws in his leg Thor almost won best of show but he had a limp that cost him the win. We had the plate removed and Thor healed up good as new and has never looked back. He has hunted birds all over the US including ruff grouse, huns, prairie chicken, pheasant, woodcock, and so on. He has 8 open class wins on wild birds, liberated birds in solo and couples. Thank you for producing our dog. Not only can he hunt, field trial and show but he is an excellent house pet and our family truly loves him as part of our family.
Submitted by: Tony Allen on Dec 09, 2015
Frankie is awesome! We lost our 20 year old cat this summer and the house was too lonely and organized so I did my research and decided a Brittany would be a good fit. Little did I know how wonderful Clint and Suzanne would be to work with. We met with them prior to the puppies being born. Suzanne kept us informed and shared pictures for the first 8 weeks. During puppy classes, the trainer commented often how smart Frankie was and how quickly he learned besides just being adorable. Our little Brittany puppy turned the family room into a play zone. Our house is filled with love and excitement and we could not be happier!! I did read "Puppies for Dummies" before we got our Frankie since I have not had a dog since childhood. That was a huge help in knowing what to expect and no surprises. Frankie is a wonderful addition to our family. We do not hunt but go for long walks and jogs. I recommend Sur le Delavan Kenel to anyone interested in a Brittany.
Submitted by: Cam L on Nov 30, 2015
We are very excited to be getting a puppy from Sur le Delavan Kennel. It has bee a long wait but one I am sure will be worth it. Clint has be very willing to talk and answer questions (and we have had many) over the past 2 years. We have visited his farm a number of time to see the dogs and he even invited us to go hunting over his dogs. I had no idea that dogs could be so good!

The fact that Clint will take his puppies back in fro training and help us out during the learning process set him apart from the other breeders we spoke with. Clint hides nothing from you while you are looking for a puppy. We hadn't even heard of the Sable Coat pattern until meeting him.

Thank you!
Cam
Submitted by: Steve P on Nov 18, 2015
I am leaving this testimonial for Clint and Sur le Delavan Kennel. I have had the chance to work with Clint and his staff a number of times now. First as a breeder and following as a trainer and help learning the ropes in the UKC field trial world.

You truly won't find a more educated and hard working breeder for the French Brittany breed. Clint has always been willing to stop what he was doing and help me even with dogs that I have bought from other breeders before I met him. He has never talk down to me unlike many of the so called experts of the breed. He stand behind his dogs and training.

I was a bit worried buying a puppy out of trialing stock...I have never been more happy. He hunts and trials his dogs across the US the same way I do. And it shows in his dogs. I live in MN where there are a number of "experts" on the breed and I will always drive past them to get to Sur le Delavan Kennel now.

So if you are looking for your next uppy or trainer, do yourself right and give Clint a call.

Thank you,
Steve
Submitted by: Doug B on Nov 05, 2015
When I first spoke with Clint over the phone, I quickly realized that he had exceptional knowledge about this breed. I had looked long and hard for the right breeder and I knew soon after speaking and meeting clint and his family that my search was over. I could easily tell his heart was in the right place and his passion with strong. Clint, Sur le Delavan kennel is astounding. Thanks again!
Doug B.
Submitted by: Mike on Oct 20, 2015
As a professional trainer I have found Clint's dogs to have everything I look for in a quality Field Trial or hunting dog. Clint's dogs have demonstrated great trainability, strong prey drive, beautiful style, incredible endurance, and the love of what they are bred to do! They are also very personable dogs that can be your buddy in the house and then be a first-class bird dog in the field. I've had the pleasure of training and competing with several of Clint's dogs and we've had some great success. If you're looking for a great pet & first-class bird dog, I feel very comfortable recommending the LaFary's French Brittany's.
Submitted by: Ed Wise on Aug 12, 2015
I wanted to take a second and thank you guys once again for my little Lacy. Clint with your guidance and help in training Lacy has turned out to be a wonderful hunting dog. She has not only proven herself in the field during her two short years of life but also has proven herself as a wonderful family dog. She has became best friends with our one year old son trying to share her bones and making sure his face is always clear of food. She is a pleasure and a joy we couldn't ask for a better dog.
Submitted by: Tim Cech on Jul 28, 2015
I recommend Clint for gun dog training. He is willing to working around your schedule and needs. He has really helped me as much as my dog. Thank you. Tim
Submitted by: suzannelafary@yahoo.com on Jun 15, 2015
I contacted Clint about purchasing a EB puppy last November, and while he didn't have any available, he did point me in the direction of a breeder he was familiar with, who he has gotten dogs from, and who he trains dogs for. Clint was more than helpful in finding me a great dog! I brought my puppy to Clint when he was 6 months old with very little training under his belt. Clint did an excellent job at gun and e-collar breaking my dog as well as getting him on lots of birds! Clint was great about keeping in contact while he had my dog and was very patient with my questions. When I picked my dog up from training, Clint was more than willing to take me out into the field to see what they had been working on and to make me feel comfortable working with my dog over the hunting season. I would certainly recommend Sur le Delavan Kennel to others and I will be bringing mine back to Clint to keep him on birds during the off-season and to fine-tune different aspects of his training.
Submitted by: Todd Farris on Jun 15, 2015
Sur le Delavan Kennel is one of the best. Clint spent several hours on the phone educating me over several calls about the Epagneul Breton. I was looking for my first upland dog as a new hunter. I was fortunate enough to get a puppy from him a year ago. I could not be happier with my dog. He performed well in the field his first hunting season allowing me to limit on pheasant opening day in Oklahoma. As a new upland hunter having a dog with great prey drive and natural instincts (with limited training) proved invaluable to my hunting success. Solid breedings lead to great hunting companions. You get what you pay for!
Submitted by: Bet Henderson on Jun 11, 2015
We want to take the opportunity to publicly thank the LaFary family. Even though their current litter was sold out already, they work very hard to find us a quality breeder with puppies on the ground. Never once did they talk bad about a breeder, they took a different route and only talked about breeders that they would use and trusted. We learned so much about the breed and how much work it takes to truly have a HIGH quality bird dog. We hope to own a Sur le Delavan dog in the future.
The Hendersons
Submitted by: Bryce Knight on Jun 02, 2015
I just wanted to drop a testimonial for Sur le Delavan Kennel. I haven't had the opportunity to get a puppy from them but they did help me find one with another very good breeder. I think that speaks a lot for them. While we were at there farm checking out there dogs, Clint spent 2 hours show me his very good dogs and never thought twice about time at all.

I highly recommend Sur le Delavan Kennel for training and puppies,
Bryce
Submitted by: Jackie Hutwagner on May 27, 2015
GRCHF CH Gallant Thor Sur Le Delavan TAN came to our family as a puppy and has excelled in the field. He has earned his grand champion of the field title and his champion of the show titles at 3 years old. Thor had a close call at 8 months old when he and his 6 month old girlfriend ran away from home. We found Thor and Harriett 8 days later. He had been hit by a vehicle and his front leg was shattered. A surgeon in Dothan Alabama was able to fix him up and with a plate and 14 screws in his leg Thor almost won best of show but he had a limp that cost him the win. We had the plate removed and Thor healed up good as new and has never looked back. He has hunted birds all over the US including ruff grouse, huns, prairie chicken, pheasant, woodcock, and so on. He has 8 open class wins on wild birds, liberated birds in solo and couples. Thank you for producing our dog. Not only can he hunt, field trial and show but he is an excellent house pet and our family truly loves him as part of our family.
Submitted by: Luis Cruz on Apr 16, 2015
Clint,
Thank you for letting us come to your farm on very short notice last Nov, the day before your puppy delivery trip to New England. We very much liked getting to see our pup's parents Fergus and Hera, in the flesh. Even as your last female pup available, there is no doubt Jackie was the right one for us. From the first night she has slept(with us)every night through.
She is now about 5 months old and we couldn't be enjoying her more. She's one very smart pup! At 9 weeks, to be taken out, she had learned to ring a sleigh bell, hung from the backdoor knob. About the same time she was pointing a pheasant wing on the fishing rod and knew the pop of a cap pistol meant time for the wing game. By March, I expect she'll be ready to work with a few quail.
Anyone getting one of your pups, is a very lucky person. Thank you for ours, Luis Cruz
Submitted by: Randy on Mar 25, 2015
I am not sure where to begin. The quest for a quality bred bird dog began 7 years ago. I did my homework and decided on the (French) Brittany as the dog for me. Next big challenge was to find a breeder that had the stock I felt would provide me with several years of companionship and quality days in the field. I found Sur le Delavan Kennel on the web and thought I would give Suzanne a call and see what they had. Needless to say I was impressed with her knowledge and her dedication to maintaining quality dogs. I settled on a pup and never looked back. Duke has been and is the best. I realize it is time for him to slow down a little and I am going to order another pup from Sur le Delavan Kennel. If you are looking for great companions and hunting desire, you can't go wrong with Sur le Delavan Kennel. Buy with confidence and don't look back. I will leave you with this, as you call around- think about how each breeder treats you and talks about their dogs. Sur le Delavan will treat you like a friend and help you the best they can. They won't talk down about other breeders.
Thanks Randy
Submitted by: Toney Allen on Mar 23, 2015
Frankie is awesome! We lost our 20 year old cat this summer and the house was too lonely and organized so I did my research and decided a Brittany would be a good fit. Little did I know how wonderful Clint and Suzanne would be to work with. We met with them prior to the puppies being born. Suzanne kept us informed and shared pictures for the first 8 weeks. During puppy classes, the trainer commented often how smart Frankie was and how quickly he learned besides just being adorable. Our little Brittany puppy turned the family room into a play zone. Our house is filled with love and excitement and we could not be happier!! I did read "Puppies for Dummies" before we got our Frankie since I have not had a dog since childhood. That was a huge help in knowing what to expect and no surprises. Frankie is a wonderful addition to our family. We do not hunt but go for long walks and jogs. I recommend Sur le Delavan Kenel to anyone interested in a Brittany.
Submitted by: Doug B. on Mar 17, 2015
When I first spoke with Clint over the phone, I quickly realized that he had exceptional knowledge about this breed. I had looked long and hard for the right breeder and I knew soon after speaking and meeting clint and his family that my search was over. I could easily tell his heart was in the right place and his passion with strong. Clint, Sur le Delavan kennel is astounding. Thanks again!
Doug B.
Submitted by: Eric Price on Feb 23, 2015
Clint- thank you for hosting a great trial in IL. My wife and I hadn't ever been to one before and found it exciting. Your dogs did great and were fun to watch. I am hopeful that our puppy grows up to run in the same manner.

Thanks,
Eric
Submitted by: Scott Busch on Jan 22, 2015
I just wanted to say a couple words about Clint and his French Brittanys. It is nice to meet someone like Clint who "really" hunts his dogs. I have talked to many breeders lately who want to tell me about their hunting dogs but very few can talk hunting the way Clint does. I don't think you will find another breeder in the country that tests their dogs as well as Clint does. He truly tests his dogs in the field, ring and home.
I wasn't able to get a puppy this year but I am on the list for 2016 and know it will be worth the wait.
Submitted by: Zack Plank on Aug 28, 2014
I could not be happier with Gabby (Gabrielle Lee Sur le Delavan). She is an excellent housedog and an enthusiastic birddog. She is the reason
that I became a hunter: Seeing how much she loves being in the field, it is pure joy to give her that time. Not only did I get a great dog,
I gained new friends in the LaFary family. Clint and Suzann have been kind in answering questions and helping me with the training. We have met other Sur le Delavan owners-one who I have been able to hunt with locally and many others on Facebook. It is so nice to have a group of
people who love these dogs. And really, you can't help but love them. They are smart, beautiful, steady, bird loving fools. A trainer at a local bird farm calls Gabby his "pointing fool" because she pointed before she knew what a bird was. Coming home to a French Britt always
seems to turn into a celebration because they love their humans as much as we love them. My only regret is that I did not find this breed years ago! In fact, we are so pleased with our pup, we are getting ready to welcome another addition into the family!

Zack Plank
Submitted by: Mike on Aug 21, 2014
As a professional trainer I have found Clint's dogs to have everything I look for in a quality Field Trial or hunting dog. Clint's dogs have demonstrated great trainability, strong prey drive, beautiful style, incredible endurance, and the love of what they are bred to do! They are also very personable dogs that can be your buddy in the house and then be a first-class bird dog in the field. I've had the pleasure of training and competing with several of Clint's dogs and we've had some great success. If you're looking for a great pet & first-class bird dog, I feel very comfortable recommending the LaFary's French Brittany's.
Submitted by: Mike on Aug 11, 2014
Griffin is growing by leaps and bounds! I think when I last sent you photos, he weighed about 9 pounds...now he's up to 23 pounds! He's a little lover...he loves everybody and gives lots of kisses and even gives hugs by standing on his back legs and putting his front legs up around our necks...hahaha...the vet thought that was hilarious when he hugged her, too! Mike takes him for long walks every day so that he gets lots of exercise, and I usually have him outside in the backyard two or three times a day as well...we have snow now, so I shoveled paths in the backyard where the dogs can do their potty business and run and play...Griffin and Jaxon are friends finally and like to wrestle and play together outside, although Jaxon grows tired of it much more quickly than Griffin does!

I have lots of photos to send to you, so I'll send them in several e-mails again so they come through for you...he's a BEAUTIFUL (handsome) guy!! His coloring has changed to an even darker reddish color all over his body so now his body matches his head color, and he has LOTS of the roan markings and freckles on his face and legs...he's still got the cutest face!! Have any of the other puppy owners sent you updated photos? We've been wondering how they're all turning out.
Submitted by: Todd on Aug 05, 2014
My husband and I had a very positive experience finding our EB through Sur le Delavan kennel. Daisy is two years old now, and she is truly a cherished family member. In addition to wanting a hunting dog, it was important to us to find a dog tolerant of children, cats and other dogs as well as being a friendly companion....Daisy is all of that and much more! It's hard to describe this breed to anyone who has not met one, but this dog's personality is enthusiastic, silly, joyous and loving, and she has loads of serious bird-hunting talent. We enjoyed every step of the process of finding and adopting this dog, and Paulette was informative, friendly, and professional all the way. The Lafary's were very open and straight forward with us. I will say we talked to many breeders before picking Sur le Delavan. They took the time to talk to us and answer all our questions. That wasn't the case with many out there.
Submitted by: Scott Shay on Aug 04, 2014
I have been using Clint, Sur le Delavan Kennel< for 4 years as a tune up trainer for the season. He ALWAYS has my dogs ready for the hunting season. I highly recommend Clint as a trainer and breeder.
Thanks,
Scott
Submitted by: Doug Blanders on May 29, 2014
When I first spoke with Clint over the phone, I quickly realized that he had exceptional knowledge about this breed. I had looked long and hard for the right breeder and I knew soon after speaking and meeting clint and his family that my search was over. I could easily tell his heart was in the right place and his passion with strong. Clint, Sur le Delavan kennel is astounding. Thanks again!
Doug B.
Submitted by: Doug Blanders on May 27, 2014
When I spoke with Clint over the phone, I realized quickly that he had exceptional knowledge about this breed. I had looked long and hard for the right breeder and knew after speaking and meeting Clint and his family that my search was over. I could easily tell his heart was in the right place and his passion was strong, it was a breath of fresh air!

Sur le Delavan is astounding

Doug B
Submitted by: Mike Lang on May 27, 2014
Clint and Suzanne,

I wanted to let you know that my family and I are very pleased with our dog! Two weeks ago we got a few pigeons and my son and I and have been working with him we couldn't have asked for better! We can't wait to hunt him!
Submitted by: Bill and Katie on May 22, 2014
We want to thank you for he opportunity to get a puppy from your kennel. While it would have been nice to have a puppy from a spring litter. We don't mind waiting until the fall. You guys have been very willing to work with us.

Thank you again,
Katie
Submitted by: Bill Benson on May 20, 2014
In a world where no one tells the truth, especially when money is involved it was refreshing to meet Clint. He took the time to explain things I wasn't aware of, the sable gene and OFA testing of the hips are two major issues we talked about. Everything he said about my puppies came true. They are dogs now and I love both of them for thier hunting abilities, which are fantastic. But, both dogs live in my house with me and they shine. Fantastic instincts, great temperment, and a willingness to learn are what these dogs exhibit. Thank you, Bill
Submitted by: Beth Henderson on May 12, 2014
We want to take the opportunity to publicly thank the LaFary family. Even though their current litter was sold out already, they work very hard to find us a quality breeder with puppies on the ground. Never once did they take bad about a breeder, they took a different route and only talked about breeders that they would use and trusted. we learned so much about the breed and how much work it takes to truly have a HIGH quality bird dog. we hope to own a Sur le Delavan dog in the future.
The Hendersons
Submitted by: Toney Allen on May 01, 2014
Frankie is awesome! We lost our 20 year old cat this summer and the house was too lonely and organized so I did my research and decided a Brittany would be a good fit. Little did I know how wonderful Clint and Suzanne would be to work with. We met with them prior to the puppies being born. Suzanne kept us informed and shared pictures for the first 8 weeks. During puppy classes, the trainer commented often how smart Frankie was and how quickly he learned besides just being adorable. Our little Brittany puppy turned the family room into a play zone. Our house is filled with love and excitement and we could not be happier!! I did read "Puppies for Dummies" before we got our Frankie since I have not had a dog since childhood. That was a huge help in knowing what to expect and no surprises. Frankie is a wonderful addition to our family. We do not hunt but go for long walks and jogs. I recommend Sur le Delavan Kenel to anyone interested in a Brittany.
Submitted by: Jeff on Apr 25, 2014
I am not sure where to begin. The quest for a quality bred bird dog began 7 years ago. I did my homework and decided on the (French) Brittany as the dog for me. Next big challenge was to find a breeder that had the stock I felt would provide me with several years of companionship and quality days in the field. I found Sur le Delavan Kennel on the web and thought I would give Suzanne a call and see what they had. Needless to say I was impressed with her knowledge and her dedication to maintaining quality dogs. I settled on a pup and never looked back. Duke has been and is the best. I realize it is time for him to slow down a little and I am going to order another pup from Sur le Delavan Kennel. If you are looking for great companions and hunting desire, you can't go wrong with Sur le Delavan Kennel. Buy with confidence and don't look back. I will leave you with this, as you call around- think about how each breeder treats you and talks about their dogs. Sur le Delavan will treat you like a friend and help you the best they can. They won't talk down about other breeders.
Thanks Randy
Jeff
Submitted by: Todd Vohland on Apr 15, 2014
My husband and I had a very positive experience finding our EB through Sur le Delavan kennel. Daisy is two years old now, and she is truly a cherished family member. In addition to wanting a hunting dog, it was important to us to find a dog tolerant of children, cats and other dogs as well as being a friendly companion....Daisy is all of that and much more! It's hard to describe this breed to anyone who has not met one, but this dog's personality is enthusiastic, silly, joyous and loving, and she has loads of serious bird-hunting talent. We enjoyed every step of the process of finding and adopting this dog, and Paulette was informative, friendly, and professional all the way. The Lafary's were very open and straight forward with us. I will say we talked to many breeders before picking Sur le Delavan. They took the time to talk to us and answer all our questions. That wasn't the case with many out there.
Submitted by: Glenn on Apr 10, 2014
I contacted Clint about purchasing a EB puppy last November, and while he didn't have any available, he did point me in the direction of a breeder he was familiar with, who he has gotten dogs from, and who he trains dogs for. Clint was more than helpful in finding me a great dog! I brought my puppy to Clint when he was 6 months old with very little training under his belt. Clint did an excellent job at gun and e-collar breaking my dog as well as getting him on lots of birds! Clint was great about keeping in contact while he had my dog and was very patient with my questions. When I picked my dog up from training, Clint was more than willing to take me out into the field to see what they had been working on and to make me feel comfortable working with my dog over the hunting season. I would certainly recommend Sur le Delavan Kennel to others and I will be bringing mine back to Clint to keep him on birds during the off-season and to fine-tune different aspects of his training.
Submitted by: Eric Scott on Apr 09, 2014
we just wanted to let you know that we have purchased our second pup from Sur le Delavan Kennel. Our first is 3 years old and has awesome field abilites, he's very smart and dependable. Those qualities come from a well thought out breed line.
Our second is 12 months. He is very energic, loves to play with the girls and is always ready and willing to retrieve. We highly recommend Sur le Delavan Kennel to anyone looking for high quality Britts. Clint cares about the future homes of his pups.He is available to answer questions or concerns about the Britts. His Kennel set up is accessible, clean and the Britts are happy in their environment. You will also find that Clint is very knowledgeable and trustworty of this breed.We are pleased with our selections from them.
Submitted by: Mike on Apr 08, 2014
As a professional trainer I have found Clint's dogs to have everything I look for in a quality Field Trial or hunting dog. Clint's dogs have demonstrated great trainability, strong prey drive, beautiful style, incredible endurance, and the love of what they are bred to do! They are also very personable dogs that can be your buddy in the house and then be a first-class bird dog in the field. I've had the pleasure of training and competing with several of Clint's dogs and we've had some great success. If you're looking for a great pet & first-class bird dog, I feel very comfortable recommending the LaFary's French Brittany's.
Submitted by: Duffy on Apr 07, 2014
Our experience with Sur le Delavan Kennel was amazing, we highly recommend Sur le Delavan to anyone searching for a great hunting partner/family dog! Not only are the LaFary's wonderful people to work with, but they are honest, caring, and their love for the breed truly shows in their dogs. We are enjoying our pup very much and look forward to many great hunting years with him!
Thanks again!!!
Submitted by: Nicole Benson on Mar 28, 2014
Thank you for all your help wit training. Iggy is doing great and is so well behaved. Also I enjoy seeing your updates on Facebook now. If anyone every has questions about your training programs feel free to have them contact me. Thanks again.
Submitted by: Mike Cudney on Mar 14, 2014
Griffin is growing by leaps and bounds! I think when I last sent you photos, he weighed about 9 pounds...now he's up to 23 pounds! He's a little lover...he loves everybody and gives lots of kisses and even gives hugs by standing on his back legs and putting his front legs up around our necks...hahaha...the vet thought that was hilarious when he hugged her, too! Mike takes him for long walks every day so that he gets lots of exercise, and I usually have him outside in the backyard two or three times a day as well...we have snow now, so I shoveled paths in the backyard where the dogs can do their potty business and run and play...Griffin and Jaxon are friends finally and like to wrestle and play together outside, although Jaxon grows tired of it much more quickly than Griffin does!

I have lots of photos to send to you, so I'll send them in several e-mails again so they come through for you...he's a BEAUTIFUL (handsome) guy!! His coloring has changed to an even darker reddish color all over his body so now his body matches his head color, and he has LOTS of the roan markings and freckles on his face and legs...he's still got the cutest face!! Have any of the other puppy owners sent you updated photos? We've been wondering how they're all turning out.
Submitted by: Brett Wilson on Mar 13, 2014
We are very pleased with the treatment we get each time we head over to Delavan for some training help. We run English Setters and Clint is very willing and eager to help us. You normally do a 1/2 training day on the weekends. Their fields and birds match with Clint's knowledge of pointing dogs sets my dogs up to be successful each time out. As what has been echoed in the other responses- I highly recommend using Sur le Delavan Kennel for training.
Submitted by: Bob Grant on Mar 05, 2014
We are very excited for our soon to be puppy. We can't wait to see the puppies in April! You guys have been a huge help. We will also be using you for training later on. Thanks again for all your time and help.
Bob
Submitted by: Sydney Bontz on Feb 19, 2014
It is very hard to find a true hunting dog, show dog, trial dog and family pet...let alone all in one dog. We found Lucy to be that dog when we met her. Her puppy Fergus was also very special!! We are very excited to be on the waiting list for her upcoming litter. Thanks again for all you help. We learned so much about the breed we never knew about for you!
The Bontz family
Submitted by: Jordan Kelly on Feb 11, 2014
Thank thank for working with us and getting on the list for our fall puppy. Hera and Fergus sure are nice looking dogs! 2014 should be a great winter!!!
Jordan
Submitted by: Jeanne Bell on Feb 04, 2014
Hi Suzanne and Clint,

Here are pictures of Karst pointing Ruffed Grouse in WV. George goes out on XC skis with his shotgun and the dog. Great fun. Please come and join us sometime. We may get out to your neck of the woods to hunt this year. We'll let you know. We love this dog. We want to get his TAN. Looking for a UKC event in easy reach. He's pointing really well on wild grouse. Lots of them this year. We are signed up for the foundation and intermediate Ronnie Smith seminars this spring in MD.
Best,
Jeanne Bell
Submitted by: Judy on Jan 27, 2014
Great job at the CEB US Nationals Su le Delavan Kennel.
Submitted by: Josh Hill on Jan 10, 2014
Just wishing Sur le Delavan Kennel the best of luck as they head to GA for the CEB US Nationals. we are very please with our Gabby. We truly couldn't ask for a better looking or hunting Dog. She is a blast to have. We can't wait to get another.

Josh
Submitted by: Brett Wright on Dec 20, 2013
Just a quick thank you and wishing you a happy holidays. Thank you again for working with Izzy and me. I can't believe the difference in the field and home. He truly is a much better behaved dog now. Your training has made it possible for all of us to live together...my wife included!

Thanks again- can't wait to see what 2014 bring for your kennel. Good luck in GA.
Brett
Submitted by: Jordan Thompson on Dec 10, 2013
Just wanted to send you a quick update on Harper. She is now 2 years old and is a great dog. She has an unbelievable nose. We just went on our first hunt this year where they put out 20 quail. We shot 23, she probably found close to 30. She is a great dog.

Harper had a little training from me in the backyard but that had nothing to do with how good she is. The first hunt we went on she just knew what to do. She is unbelievable.
Submitted by: Katie Platt on Dec 03, 2013
This family is great to work with. As a first time gun dog owner, they have made training and hunting with my dog much easier. Always easy to talk to and willing to help! I recommend them for anyone looking for gun dog training!
Katie
Submitted by: Skyler S on Nov 26, 2013
We are on the waiting list for a Vern and Lucy puppy. I have hunted over a few puppies that that breeding has produced and they are truly amazing. The Lafarys have been great to work with and has even offered to help us find a puppy from another breeder if we don't get one from them. It is clear they care about the breed and are willing to anything to help us out. Thanks you!
Submitted by: Walter Artis on Nov 19, 2013
The LaFarys take a lot in their dogs and their breeding program...and they should. I was surprise that the cost of puppies and training are lower than most breeders we spoke to. And the quality and standards they hold is second to none. They have very proven breeding stock and puppies on the ground that are doing great too. I can't wait for our first puppy from them early in 2014.
Submitted by: LaShay Praitt on Nov 13, 2013
I just wanted to drop a quick note and say that Suzanne was great to work with. She made me feel very at ease with our new puppy. Hope was nearly 100% house broke when we got her and Suzanne was willing and able to answer any questions we had. I hope you take the time to check out there kennel while you are looking for your next puppy.

Shay
Submitted by: Ashley Heorr on Oct 22, 2013
Hey LaFary's, just wanted to let you know that this year's hunting season is off to a great start and we can't say thank you enough. When you told us that you breed for a calmer, closer working dog...we thought it was just your selling pitch- haha. But we are so please that you were right. At just over a year, we have a great hunting dog and more importantly for you- a great inside pet. Can't wait for you upcoming litters. We will be getting another Sur le Delavan puppy.
Submitted by: Brett P on Oct 11, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank- that is all I can say. You have take my dog that I didn't ever think would hunt and made him a hunter. I know your not a setter guy but the time you spent with Jay was perfect. He is doing so good as a family pet and a hunter now. I hope anyone looking for dog training takes the time to check you guys out. Please feel free to give my name out as a reference to anyone!
Submitted by: Kevin B on Oct 10, 2013
We are excited for another season in the field. Our dog for Clint is just a great dog. We have had him to Delavan for training before each season for a "tune up" and the pay off has been many birds in the bag and many more birds pointed...just poor shooting. And that is ok with me- as love just love to watch him work. We are impressed with the amount of time Clint is willing to spend with us and takes the time to go hunting when we have the time.
Submitted by: JSean R on Oct 03, 2013
HEllo- I just wanted to drop a quick note about the first year. He is doing great- really easy to train and a joy to be around. His point has been solid and simply great from an early age. He love the water and is great at retrieving too. Great job with this breeding pair!

JSean
Submitted by: Ashley Heorr on Oct 03, 2013
We got Thorp last Sept., he was a year old this week. Smart as a whip. The easiest dog I've ever had to train. Great with the family, and a real joy to have around. Still in puppy stage (trouble sometimes) but maturing fast. Can't wait till fall for first hunt. The LaFary family is great to work with, answers your questions very well. Highly recommend the breed and Sur le Delavan.
Submitted by: Jeff C on Oct 02, 2013
Hi Suzanne.
I have been meaning to send you guys some pictures so going to dump some that I took this morning when we were out for a run on the Public Hunting area. We found 4 young pheasant today.
Gidget (AKA Lovey) is going to be a great dog. Been working her on wild pheasant. She pointed her first wild bird at about 5 months. Locked up on it at 20 yards away. She is like a guided missile when she locks on.
Like all Brittany's she has been very easy to train. She is always checking back with me and keeps here range at 75 yards or less.
Jeff
Submitted by: Erica Cady on Sep 23, 2013
We are on a waiting list for a Sur le Delavan puppy and very excited. The LaFary family has been great to work with and up front and honest with us. When we called them (many times) they always made time to talk and answer our many questions. Never once did we feel talked down to or made to feel like we didn't know what we were looking for...that happened to us when we call a couple other breeders. Thanks again, Erica.
Submitted by: Brett Wilson on Sep 19, 2013
We are very pleased with the treatment we get each time we head over to Delavan for some training help. We run English Setters and Clint is very willing and eager to help us. You normally do a 1/2 training day on the weekends. Their fields and birds match with Clint's knowledge of pointing dogs sets my dogs up to be successful each time out. As what has been echoed in the other responses- I highly recommend using Sur le Delavan Kennel for training.
Submitted by: Rick Springer on Sep 16, 2013
We have come down to Delavan a couple times now for 1/2 training days. What a great value. The LaFary family is very willing to work with you and your dog on what ever you would like.
Submitted by: Robert Wilson on Sep 05, 2013
We used Sur le Delavan Kennel to train two of our English Setter for the upcoming hunting season. Clint has my hunting buddies ready to go. We entered them in their head start program- I can't believe what a nice job he did. He will be getting these two back after this first hunting season to finish them up. If you are looking for good quality pointing dog training, you need to check out Sur le Delavan Kennel.
Submitted by: Pat Arnold on Aug 29, 2013
We have a puppy from Sur le Delavan. He has been one of the birdiest dogs we have owned. Very easy to train and great with our kids. He has been healthy and is a great athlete! I will be getting another dog from them in future.
Submitted by: Jeanne Bell on Sep 25, 2012
Hi Clint and Suzanne,

Eureka!

Karst and George got their first grouse together yesterday! They got into a bunch of them. Karst found this bird and flushed it. They then moved on and he found many others. By the 4th find he pointed. This was the first time he’s been on birds. They’ve been tramping around for weeks without any luck. 4 ½ months – first bird. And a wild grouse at that!

He’s not the least bit gun shy or timid in any way. Very bold. We finally found some quail to buy and picked up a few for him the day before they found these grouse. We have not had him out with the quail yet. We’re giving them a week in the recall pen before we turn any loose.

I predict some big fun coming .

Jeanne Bell

Submitted by: Mike and Bonnie Cudney on Sep 25, 2012
Griffin is growing by leaps and bounds! I think when I last sent you photos, he weighed about 9 pounds...now he's up to 23 pounds! He's a little lover...he loves everybody and gives lots of kisses and even gives hugs by standing on his back legs and putting his front legs up around our necks...hahaha...the vet thought that was hilarious when he hugged her, too! Mike takes him for long walks every day so that he gets lots of exercise, and I usually have him outside in the backyard two or three times a day as well...we have snow now, so I shoveled paths in the backyard where the dogs can do their potty business and run and play...Griffin and Jaxon are friends finally and like to wrestle and play together outside, although Jaxon grows tired of it much more quickly than Griffin does!

I have lots of photos to send to you, so I'll send them in several e-mails again so they come through for you...he's a BEAUTIFUL (handsome) guy!! His coloring has changed to an even darker reddish color all over his body so now his body matches his head color, and he has LOTS of the roan markings and freckles on his face and legs...he's still got the cutest face!! Have any of the other puppy owners sent you updated photos? We've been wondering how they're all turning out
Submitted by: Travis O on Sep 20, 2012
Hi Clint and Suzanne,

Last spring I introduced Gabby to birds and at 6 months she would point, hold and retrieve. She can’t clean them or drive yet but everything else I ask her to do she does it well.

She is very very sweet and has a huge desire to please us. She comes to my office with me every day and sits in the chair across from my desk. We could not be more happy to have her. The way your family raised the puppies and the interaction with your kids definitely makes a big difference in how they turn out as a dog. The next time we are in the market( which could be soon) we would want one of your puppies.

If there is anything I can do to endorse you guys or help further your efforts in marketing your puppies please let me know.

Travis Oliver



Submitted by: Terry and Kim on Sep 06, 2012
I just wanted to take a minute and let you know how things were going. August was a great month for training out here! we finished our Champion in the show ring this summer too. Thank you for all your help and direction over the past year. Also, love the new webpage. I hope we can get him over to you this spring for field training...Thanks again Sur le Delavan. Also we enjoyed reading about you and your dog in the CEB publication. Keep up the great work. Terry
Submitted by: Ken Teppel on Sep 04, 2012
I proudly own a male from the first litter of Lucy and Vern. He has surpassed our expectations not only in the field, but also in confirmation and as a companion. He has become a champion in the show ring, and is well on his way to earn his champion of the field. I have also seen the second litter from the same breeding and I am impressed with each dog. We have come to know the LaFarys quite well, and you will be hard pressed to find someone more committed to their dogs and the advancement of the breed.
Submitted by: Judy Casper on Aug 24, 2012
Bo is the first pointing dog I have ever owned. He has amazed me since the first week I had him home. At only two months old he was sleeping on the couch and heard a turkey on tv. He woke up and pointed to it. He is from Vern and Lucy's second litter. EXCELENT PUPS! Both Vern and Lucy are great hunters and it shows in their puppies. When Bo was 5 months I brought home my grandson's first pheasant from being mounted; Bo went to point the moment he saw it hanging on the wall! He has been training with Clint this August and has truly amazed us all as to just how fast of a learner he is. A natural hunter. Bo has been the fastest learning of any pup I have ever owned. I highly recommend Sur Le Delavan Kennels!
Submitted by: Terry on Aug 22, 2012
What a wonderful puppy. I have trained several dozen pups and this one stands out. Even at 1 year, he is clever, collected, attentive and a fast learner. He is fast becoming a part of the pack here. I have not seen a smarter more settled pup in all my years. Again thank you for the attention you have given to your line. These breeding pair of Vern and Lucy is tops.
Thanks again,
Terry
Submitted by: Steve on Aug 11, 2012
I am very excited to see Clint and family are once again breeding Lucy to Vern. We have a pup out of the second breeding. After having hunting dogs that were out of average breedings in the past, we contacted Sur le Dalavan looking to take the next step...and could not be anymore impressed. Guy is a natural pointer, works the field very boldly and retrieves great. The LaFary's have left no stone unturned when planning this breeding pair. Good hips, great hunting parents and GREAT pedigree for the Sir and Dam. If you are looking for something that is simple better than your average dog...contact the LaFarys.
Submitted by: Robert Nash on Aug 09, 2012
Sur le Delavan far surpassed our expectations. Our puppy is now a two year old hunting dog! We couldn't ask for anything more from our time spent with the whole LaFary family to the hours spent on the phone asking training questions.They may only have one litter a year but the dogs the produce are of the highest natural ablity.
Submitted by: Marilyn Hayes on Nov 16, 2010
We have been blessed with our new puppy "Fancee Fae" from Heart of the Prairie. She became a part of our family the minute she walked in the door. Because of the socialization received from Clint, Suzanne and their children Will and Annabelle. Since the day I first talked to Clint about putting up our deposit on a puppy we have been friends. They kept us informed about the breeding of Lucy and Vern and after the puppies arrived updates were weekly. When we went to Illinois to pick Fancee Fae up and bring her home we felt very welcome to their home. They have done a wonderful job with the puppies and I'm sure in the future they will do it again. With the joy, heartbreak and time consuming love it takes to rear a litter of puppies they have done a fantastic job. Thank you Clint,Suzanne, Will & Annabelle.

Submit your testimonial Back to Sur le Delavan Kennel