Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar

Testimonials (20) | Back to Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar
Submitted by: Ron Figler on Jan 06, 2010
As a first-time handler of a Deutsch Drahthaar, I have had the pleasure of owning a male from Fred’s “J” Litter born in May, 2006. As a pup, he pointed rabbits and upland birds, retrieved ducks and geese from cornfields and frigid winter waters, dispatched wounded coyotes and fox, treed raccoon and squirrel. He also recovered two book-bucks, in the fall of 2008, for two very grateful hunters. He is truly a versatile hunting dog.
I didn’t just buy a dog from Fred. Part of the package was his “service after the sale”. While some dog breeders are interested in just selling you a pup, Fred proved to be an invaluable resource to me. With 300 miles between us, and having never owned a bird dog….let alone a DD, I was able to pick up the phone to discuss training sessions and techniques with him. Fred would always offer his insight and share helpful DD training tips.
Fuchsfluesschen Kennels provided me with an intelligent, well-balanced, performance-bred puppy. With guidance and assistance from Fred, we completed and passed the German-standardized tests, the VJP, HZP and VGP, all prior to reaching 2 ½ years of age. At almost four years of age, Jax still continues to improve on his abilities and impress those that come along for the hunt.
Submitted by: Doug Hansen on Jan 05, 2010
Fred's dedication to the breed itself and the success of his dogs is second to none. If you are ready for a serious hunting dog contact vom Fuchsfluesschen Kennel and get a Deutsch Drahthaar.

Fred is not about selling a dog. He is about making the hardest hunting, healthy, intelligent and versatile hunting dog; and seeing that it is properly trained and cared for.

vom Fuchfluesschen Kennel, the dogs in it, and the man behind it are all top shelf.
Submitted by: craig coble on Dec 28, 2009
One of the many reasons I selected Fuchsfluesschen kennel was based on Fred's involvement in the Atlantic Chapter of VDD/GNA. Fred is always available to answer training questions and help as needed with "Orla", my first DD. I have been very impressed with her drive and desire to hunt. Definitely a high energy hunter but quiet and calm in her kennel. Easy to train with a huge desire to learn and train. Would I recommend Fuchsfluesschen DD's......ABSOLUTELY !
Submitted by: Brian Sturgill on Dec 25, 2009
After the unexpected death of my dog I needed to find a pup that could handel intense training and long days in the field. Fread went out of his way to get me a pup. Ivan is now four years old and has surpased my expectations. He was able to handel the training to become a finished DD. He hunts hard and travels well. Fred is always willing to answer any questions and help in the training of your dog. besides breading DDs Fred hosts chapter training days throughout the summer to help members prepare their pup for testing and hunting. GREAT KENNEL! GREAT DOGS!
Submitted by: Jim Hepler on Dec 23, 2009
I purchased a Drahthaar from Fred Turjan in July 2005. I could not be happier. Prey drive, search and intense points were there from the beginning. Lost cripples are a thing of the past. My dog continues to impress me to this day with his athletic abilities and passion for the hunt. With much help from FRed I am the proud owner of a dog that can and will do it all. I am hoping for a new pup in 2010 and I know whom I will be looking to purchase from.
Submitted by: John Martorano Jr. on Dec 21, 2009
I have been a bird hunter since 1971 and thought I knew a little something about breeders and dogs,boy was i full of it.Since having the pleasure to meet Fred and be introduced to the best all around breed of hunting dog, my hunting experiences have evolved into something special.The support Fred continues to offer after the sale never dies.

I am now the proud owner of my third Drahthaar from Fred's kennel and will never stray from this exceptional breed.If your passion is upland,waterfowl,or big game recovery this breed
shines above all others.

Fred thanks for a lifetime memorable experiences,its all about the breed.
Submitted by: Max McAllister on Dec 16, 2009
Fred's commitment to the breed, his line and what would be a good fit for the client is exceptional. This dedication is paramount for the integrity of the breed, the quality traits of his line and ultimately to insure a successful transition for the new owner and dog. Fred's client followup to insure a smooth transition for dog and owner is very thorough and refreshing. Lastly Fred is and accomplished trainer and always available to review any followup needed. Yes I would highly recommend his kennel and blood line. Sincerely Max
Submitted by: Doug Werth on Dec 15, 2009
Mr. Fred Turjan is a professional, both in character and as a dog breeder. My wife and I were cordially invited to his home and his kennel. We were introduced to his family and all the DDs in his kennel. Mr. Turjan answered all of our questions about the Deutsch-Drahthaar breed. After we purchased a pup from Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar any question or probkem we had with our pup Mr. Turjan would answer. My wife and I live in New york state and have been invited to train with Mr. Turjan on more than one occasion. Any one interested in a Deutsch-Drahthaar I encourage you to contact Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar.
Submitted by: Kevin Long on Dec 12, 2009
In my opinion Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar is a premier kennel with a well established performance based breeding program. The kennel facility is THE best I have ever seen.

Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar breeding selections are purposeful and provide the owner a DD that truly meets the goals of the versatile hunting dog. I hunt 30 to 45 days a year a lot more days then that are spent at home with the family as a pet. My “N” litter pup has fit right in with my 6 and 8 year olds as well as the neighborhood kids and pets. NOT CATS… NOT CATS AT ALL!

The Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar web site is also great and provides a lot of information about the kennel and the breed.

Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar also helps with the training and care of pups long after you take them home. 18 months and counting…

One negative thing about Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar can be the owner’s intensity and commitment. This is an observation but not something I feel personally. Fred’s intensity and commitment is all a large part of the reason he produces some of the best pups outside of Germany.

One more is I still can pronounce the name, Fuchsfluesschen.

Neo vom Fuchsfluesschen-Deutsch Drahthaar-May 2008
Submitted by: Mike and Lori T. on Dec 06, 2009
We wanted a hunting dog that could do and be everything. Fred helped us find that dog. At eleven weeks she was retrieving birds half her size from water without any training. She points and holds so long it is a sight to see. She tracks rabbits and squirrels at the house. We have shot a rifle over her many times. It gets her attention but she is not the least bit scared or wary. When we are not hunting, she is the first to hop on the boat to go fishing. If we are within twenty feet of the shore, she will jump out, swim to shore and find birds until we insist she returns. She is social with people and pets, keeps an eye on the house, kennels well and enjoys her quiet time indoors. At six months, she is showing all of the promise of an amazing hunting dog and family companion. Thanks Fred.
Submitted by: Doug Summers on Dec 06, 2009
Outstanding hunting quality and excellent temperment in Fred's dogs. All of those I've had my hands on as well as mine are alert, eager, never quit driven dogs with top quality instincts and intelligence. I will definitely be looking to Fred for another. Another great thing is the quality on hand assistance Fred is more than willing to provide in way of assistance or advice at the drop of a hat or phone call. You definitely want to talk to Fred before you make your final decision on your next all around versatile gun dog!
Submitted by: Josh Zigler on Dec 04, 2009
Fred Turjan of vom Fuchsfluesschen Kennel consistently produces, in my opinion, the finest Deutsch Drahthaar (DD) in the United States, and possibly the North American Continent. I don’t offer this opinion lightly as I have seen 100 or so DD’s from various Kennels from all over the country (and a few from Canada) perform before I chose vom Fuchsfluesschen. Owner Fred Turjan’s philosophy of “producing the best hunting dogs and companions possible," is apparent in each litter the kennel produces. These dogs are excellent companions in the field and in the home.

Furthermore, when you purchase a Drahthaar from vom Fuchsfluesschen, you get a guaranteed product that owner Fred Turjan unwaveringly backs, plus Fred is one of the precious few breeders that has a wealth of knowledge and is always there to help you while training your DD. As a novice handler, I have found Fred’s insight, assistance, and knowledge to be invaluable.

If "5" is the best rating possible, Fred deserves at least a 7.5! The dogs are that good!
Submitted by: Kurt Deery on Dec 04, 2009
Very knowledgeable with the Drahthaar breed and history. Always open to helping and listening to cries of help when training your pup.

This breeder is very active in the "DD" organization and supports the North American club in full force.

Submitted by: Joe on Dec 03, 2009
I found Fred to be a great guy focused on producing the highest quality versatile hunting dogs. His kennel is ideal and he takes great care with his animals. The first dog from fred had terrific natural talent--a great nose and intellect. I was so satisfied with the experience and the animal, I'm going back for a second.
Submitted by: Roxanne Turner on Dec 02, 2009
Fred's dogs demonstrate the best of both worlds - intense prey drive with intense points to match, paired with an insane desire to please as well as retrieve under any conditions. Drahthaars are notoriously 'strong' dogs to work with, but Fred seems to have cracked the code in producing incredible hunting partners that are amazing in the field, biddable, and a joy to have in the home.
Submitted by: TOM WESTON on Dec 02, 2009
I bought Nero from Fred 16mths ago. Nero is an excelent dog, full of desire and ability. I also got the added benefit of Fred. He has always been availiabe to help train me and nero in the DD ways. In the 2 yrs iv'e known Fred he has never not been there for his handlers. I would recommend fuchsflusshen kennels To any would be dog owner. Knowing first hand the Quality of the Dogs!
Submitted by: Dennis Higgins on Dec 02, 2009
I have owned one of Fred's dogs for better than five years and had the chance to observe quite a number of the dogs he has bred in the field and under testing. His dog dogs are consistantly well balanced and highly talented, with high drive but still calm in the crate, kennel or home. Simply put, Fred breeds some of the very best Drahthaars in the U.S and Canada.
Fred is always available to help his owners in any reasonable way and is totally reliable. His dedication to the breed and his owners is absolute. Fred will be the first breeder I will contact for my next Drahthaar. Dennis Higgins
Submitted by: JOHN TRESSEL on Dec 02, 2009
I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH FRED TURJAN AND HIS KENNEL. I DROVE TO HIS HOME TO PICK UP MY DD AND WAS IMPRESSED WITH WHAT I SAW. FRED WAS VERY KNOWLEDGABLE ABOUT HIS PUPPIES AND HELPED ME PICK THE BEST ONE FOR ME. FRED WAS ABLE TO HELP WITH THE SIZE OF THE PUP, COAT, APPEARANCE AND PERSONALITY AND HE WAS RIGHT ON WHEN THE PUP REACHED ADULT SIZE. MY DOG WAS THE FASTEST HUNTING DOG I HAD EVERED TRAINED AND SHE TOOK STEADINESS TO A NEW LEVEL FOR ME. SHE IS STEADY TO WING AND SHOT FOR UPLAND AND WHEN IM DUCK HUNTING I PUT HER ON A CAMO MAT AND DONT WORRY ABOUT HER BREAKING. I CAN JUST WORRY ABOUT SHOOTING THE BIRDS AND WHEN I SAY HER NAME SHE IS OFF MAKING THE RETRIEVES THRU ANYTHING. THE BREED IS REALLY AWESOME.

JOHN TRESSEL
Submitted by: Todd Rockhold on Dec 02, 2009
I bought a male pup from Fred this last spring. He sent me everything I wanted and more. This pup has looks, brains and talent. Living in North Dakota, I get to hunt over 60 days a year and at 8 months this pup is doing it all very well. You won't find many people in the DD breed that have more passion, knowledge and willingness to help than Fred. He spends a huge amount of time on his breeding program, helping owners handle their dogs and supporting our club at the local and national level. If you're looking for a DD pup, call Fuchsfluesschen and talk with Fred.
Submitted by: Allan and Barb Roberts on Nov 14, 2007
From our very first inquiry, through the birth of the pups, purchase and months of followup training, we found Fred to be an extremely knowledgable and dedicated breeder, hunter, and owner. The facility is top notch and the animals are well cared for. Each pup is matched to the prospective owner so as to increase the success rate of a life long relationship with the dog. Fred encourages ongoing training and provides his personal services to help in the process of training and handling the dog, support in getting to know the breed better and any other question or concern the owner may have. Our 8 month experience thus far is one of utmost satifaction!

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Fuchsfluesschen Deutsch-Drahthaar