Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Fisher Creek Kennels

Testimonials (28) | Back to Fisher Creek Kennels
Submitted by: Curtis Burback on Jul 29, 2013
I Bought Griffey Jr. from Mark in Feb. 2012 from the litter of Hanna and Griffey. This dog is not only a rock solid hunter but also a fantastic family dog. I have taken Griffey through professionally taught "Do-It-Yourself" classes in which the trainers work one on one with you and the dog. Griffey was only 6 months old at the time (the second youngest dog in the class) and honestly one of the best/most natural hunting dogs in any of the classes. Even better than most of the dogs that have had previous training. The trainers kept complimenting Griffey on his natural abilities to point, be steady on wing, track/trail, honor, and quarter. I was also told multiple time that Griffey is one of the birdiest dogs they had ever seen. This dog was definitely bred to be a hunting machine and his instincts are incredible. With a little work and proper training this dog could easily hunt with the best of them and I plan on testing his skills in field trials some day. When training time comes he is very focused, listens well, and his nose is always to the ground. He also loves to retrieve things, but isn't quite retrieving to hand yet.
Along with the amazing hunting abilities Griffey is also a great family dog. He has never had any accidents in the house, was very easily trained, and is great with kids. He is high strung at times with tons of energy and is very eager to run, play, and hunt. The attention span can also be small at times, especially when there are birds around, but that is what he was bred for so I can accept that. By giving Griffey the proper attention and training he has become all I could ever ask for in a hunting dog/companion. It was a pleasure doing business Mark as he was great at communicating all aspects of the dogs, demonstrating the dogs abilities, and breading a HEALTHY litter of pups and I would recommend him and his dogs anyone looking for a quality pup. Thanks again Mark.
Submitted by: Terry Oehler on Jun 10, 2013
I bought a pup (AKA Rambo) from Mark in April of 2012. The first bird was a flush, the rest have been rock solid points. My buddies dog (a 10yo GSP) went on point the second time out, Rambo went on point from about 15 - 20yds away, not sure if he is an instinctive honorer. He works well in the field staying within 40yds moving side to side. He has a great personality and is very loving in our house. He loves to play fetch and fetches in the field. He is a ball of energy and does have some dominant traits with my female. I am very pleased with Rambo and would definitely recommend a dog out of this line.

Mark is easy to work with and reasonable. Some of the local breeders were asking $1000 or more for a pup with questionable breeding. It is worth the drive.
Submitted by: Steve Durante on May 13, 2013
We purchased a GSP from Fisher Creek a little over a year ago. She is everything we expected and more. She is very energetic and motivated when it comes to birds. She has been a great addition to our dog "family"
Steve and Charlene Durante
Submitted by: Jeff & Audra Uher on May 07, 2013
We came all the way from Indiana to purchase our first GSP, Greta from Mark last spring and we definitely made the right choice. There isn't as much bird hunting here, but she is a hunting machine just the same. My husband trained her himself after we saw that she was already pointing shortly after we brought her home. She, without a doubt, knows her job as soon as the guns come out. She also knows when our Yukon is full, the guns are loaded and she gets in, that we are heading back to Nebraska to hunt and her excitement exudes. She also fills many other shoes; she's my running partner, my 3 boys' baseball, tag,and wrestling partner and my husband and sons' hunting partner, and when we are done for the day, a great companion to all of us. There isn't anywhere we go that people don't comment that she is the most beautiful dog/GSP they have seen. Hands down, Mark's dogs are the best of all worlds and we would recommend him to anyone looking to buy a GSP and also sincerely thank him for ours.
Submitted by: Lindsey Messinger on May 02, 2013
I bought my GSP puppy from Mark (Fisher Creek Kennels) about a year ago (when he was 8 weeks old). It took almost 2 hours for me to pick out the puppy I wanted from the great group of puppies available. Since then, he has come to be my best friend and is a joy to be around every day. He has been easy to train to city and house life, but thrives when we are in the field. He has so much excitement and drive, it is inspiring just to watch him. Although still young, he has been very responsive, a very quick learner, has a great nose, and is always eager to please! I will certainly turn to Fisher Creek Kennels for my next puppy and would highly recommend Mark's Kennel to anyone looking for a life-long friend and hunting partner.
Submitted by: Lenn Pritchard on Mar 31, 2013
Two years ago I got a GSP from mark. The dog was one year old an he had reacquired from a previous buyer, I was somewhat concerned because of this but Schamas turned out to be the best dog,best friend a person could ever want. The dog was very well behaved and I can't tell you how much enthusiasm this dog had for life. I live in Arizona next to the Desert and we went walking for birds twice a day. For one year this was my best friend. I don't know what Mark does but it right. In February I lost Schamas to a car accident. I was devastated. It could not of been worse if I lost a kid. I didn't know what what to do. My wife suggested I call Mark and see if I could get a new pup from the same parents. Unfortunately Schams's father pasted last year. Mark told me he had a one year old pup from the same parents that we was starting but would agree to sell him to me. the new pup is Rowdy, a very aptly named dog. Again the dog has an enthusiasm for life that is hard to understand. I love this guy. I would not hesitate to recommend Mark for any dog requirements. I don't know what he does but it works
Submitted by: Ryan Dougherty on May 15, 2012
I purchased Lucy from Mark almost 2 years ago in August. I've hunted her two seasons and I can't put into words how happy I am with her nose, all around hunting ability, and her work ethic in the field. This dog is an absolute hunting machine and I have to give credit to Mark and his bloodlines. She pointed her first bird at 4 months on opener in IA in front of friends and family and they couldn't believe it. She retrieved her first bird at 6 months and had an amazing rest of the season. I only trained her about 4 times out in the field before we went out her first season. Mark's blood lines are fantastic, not only that but everywhere I take her I get compliment after compliment regarding how good looking my dog is. I would recommend Mark to anyone looking to purchase a GSP. In fact I hope he keeps at it because I know that my next dog will be from Mark as well.
Submitted by: Jim Diekemper on Mar 06, 2012
My GSP Remi is almost 2 years old! From the day I got her from Mark she has been the best hunter and best friend a person could ask for she always aims to please and is always by your side! She loves to hunt and has no quit in her! Mark has top notch dogs and I HIGHLY RECOMEND fisher creek kennels!!!
Submitted by: Walter Wayne Bullock on Jan 23, 2012
I purchased my german short hair from Mark Harstick. Her name is Jazz and she was born May 10,2011. I did my first hunt with her when she was 6 months old. I will let everyone know that she is a natural born pointer/hunter. She sweeps the fields and point when she spots a pheasant. She also retrieves. I need to still work on her flushing. I have hunted her with approximately 10 other hunters and everyone had nothing but praise for her. I had her spaded at three months, I wish I had not did that because she should have been bred to carry on her great hunting skills. I have a friend in Tennessee that has put a down payment on Mark's next litter.
Submitted by: Chris Hall on Jan 17, 2012
I got a female from Mark at the end of last summer so I have not
hunted her yet. She is my second GSP, my first was one of the best dogs I had ever hunted with,Lucy has more natural talent than my last dog. She is great with the kids, and is strong as an ox. I will be getting a second dog from Mark in a couple years. I hope that when Lou is trained we can go hunting.
Submitted by: Travis Thomsen on Jan 15, 2012
I bought a male GSP pup from Mark this summer. First off Mark was very accomodating on us looking at the pups and with 3 small children it was a great experience for them. The shorthair i bought from Fisher Creek Kennels has been an excellent pup to date. His mild manner sets him apart from other pups that I have trained, he is very willing and eager to learn. Duke has been on wild pheasant and quaill and is a good pointer with exceptional pointing skills for a dog that is only 9 months old. Duke is very good with kids and really works hard for my young boys who are hunting birds for their first year. Great dog!!!
Submitted by: Bill Duncan on Jan 19, 2011
Hunted December 2010 with Mark and his dogs; Hannah & Griffey. These are great animals, complete hunting machines. I give them the highest possible recommendation I can. This trip was one of the best hunting experiences I've ever had and will forever be etched in my memory. My 8 year old son bagged his first pheasant over Hannah. Thanks Mark....
Submitted by: Nick Zrust on Jan 17, 2011
I bought a puppy from Fisher Creek Kennels in September 2009. He's been a very good dog for our family in the house or the kennel. He was very easy to train. Sparky has been alot of fun to hunt with in the 2010 hunting season. Thanks Mark for a wonderful hunting dog and companion. Nick Zrust
Submitted by: Kim Wagner on Jan 16, 2011
The German Short Hair we bought from Fischer Creek Kennel has been an excellent hunting dog as well as a great companion for our 4 sons. He was easy to train for pheasant hunting as well as a house dog. He is an excellent swimmer, and was a gentle protector for our sons when they were young. As he has aged he still has a great nose and still gets excited to hunt when the guns are brought out.
Submitted by: Thomas Rosas on Jan 12, 2011
I purchased a male GSP from Mark in August of last year. He is seven months old now and I am very happy with him. He holds a good point and shows great potential for being a retriever. I feel that I made a very good investment in my dog with Fisher Creek Kennels!
Submitted by: Chrystal Steinhauser on Jan 07, 2011
Just wanted to say few words about my experience with Fisher Creek Kennels and Mark Harstick.
About three and a half years ago we got our first dog Bosco. He is the best first dog a person could want. He is a great hunter, strong and never wants to stop. Out in the field he is all business. At home he is well behaved and loves to be around people. Mark checks in with us from time to time, and has become a good friend, and always there to answer any questions we may have .
Submitted by: Sabryn Phillips on Jan 02, 2011
I am very happy with the dogs we got from Mark,Asher and Harper. Asher was very easy to potty train,he only had a few accidents. Asher and Harper both were pointing, and shot birds for them at four months of age. Thier sire, Griffey, is very impresive in the field,and points very nice. We also had the dam,Hannah, at our house for a couple of months,trained her to be steady to wing,shot,and fall. We completed her senior hunter title, and we look foward to completing her master hunter title this fall.I think anybody that wants a good family dog should go to Mark for a pup.
Submitted by: Jamie O'Connor on Dec 24, 2010
The pup I got from mark we named Harp. She has been a very easy dog to work with. She shows a strong drive and is eager to please. I have had her out hunting numerous times and has done very well for a pup that is only six months old. She has pointed a handful of wild birds this year for me, and amazed me how she took to retrieving like a pro. Surprisingly she also loves the water. I dropped a bird and it fell in the creek, she jumped in after it without any hesitation! I have been very pleased with getting this pup from mark.
Submitted by: Julie on Dec 10, 2010
We got a puppy from Mark's last litter that we named, Asher. He has been well mannered from the time we got him at 6 weeks. He was very easy to potty train and is great in the house with my 4 young children. He listens well, and gets along great with our other GSPs. I would definitely recommend getting a GSP from Mark.
Submitted by: Jim Diekemper on Dec 07, 2010
I got my puppie remy from mark when she was 4 months old! Mark already had her on birds and was shot over! She is very mature dog for her age she already points and holds birds is gun broke and retrieves! she has been to chad for a week and is ready to go on a hunt! One of the best attributes about remy is she is loving and enjoys being around my 3 kids! she is going to be a great pet and a very great hunter! Mark has some of the best GSP that i have ever worked behind!
Submitted by: Ian Broden on Nov 21, 2010
I named the pup Mose and have taken him to Chad a couple of times to get him on birds and then left him there to be gun broke for 2 weeks just before bird season. We have been hunting at least once a week. I have finally taken him to a couple of spots where he can find birds. At 5 months he has gained alot of confidence and is not afraid to hunt thick cover now. I finally got to shoot a bird he pointed and held until the bird flushed and he found where it was at right away. He kept walking out into a pool of water that was up to his chest but I did not see the bird so I made him look where I thought it was at. After 20 minutes of looking where I thought it was I went back to where he wanted to go and I did see feathers in the water and eventually seen the quail in there too. I am still learning to hunt with him and we still have alot of training ahead of us.
It has been addictive getting into this, I am planning on doing AKC and NAVHDA hunt test with him and would like to get another dog to help him out in a couple of years. He is alot of fun to have around the house too. I do get alot of compliments from neighbors and other people I run into when I am walking him on what a good looking dog he is. He also wowed my family when I showed them how dedicated he is when playing fetch with him and throwing the tennis ball where he can not see it and doing "blind" fetches. The dog will just not give up! I accidentally threw a tennis ball over the neighbors wood fence a couple of weeks ago and he could smell it and started digging under the fence to get it.

Thanks for selling me a good dog!

Ian Broden
Submitted by: Mike Kluna on Nov 03, 2010
Hey mark I got Duece from you last winter. He has been a great dog and very ez to train. I took him out for the youth season he pointed very well and retreaved everything. I cant wait to get another dog. Thanks Mike K
Submitted by: Dale Taylor on Mar 12, 2010
Mark is a class act breeder of quality GSP's and raises great upland birds at his game farm. His Griffey X Mindy/Hannah pups should be dynamite....

Dale Taylor
Premier Gundogs Training Kennel
Submitted by: Randall McCann on Mar 07, 2010
Bought my puppy in December and have had nothing but fun with him. He started pointing immediately on getting him home. Thanks Mark for all that you did getting Rocky to us. Amazing dog and an extremely helpful kennel.
Submitted by: todd marino on Feb 15, 2010
Just wanted to let you know how my puppy is doing here in Minnesota. She is doing great.I have had her on pigeons for about 3 weeksnow, and she has been on 2 trips out in the field with another finished gsp following and seeing how it is done.Also I am getting her used to gun shots.I'm very glad I got a puppy from your two great dogs. She is now registered with the AKC. Thanks and have a great season. Todd and Critter
Submitted by: Dean Batenhorst on Feb 14, 2010
Received puppy 5 months ago. Very happy with his demeanor, his hunting and pointing abilities, very good nose for birds. Has a lot of energy and a great family pet.
Submitted by: Craig Steinhauser on Feb 12, 2010
Mark is a great guy to work with,got my dog Zoe a few years back and My son and I could not imagine going hunting now without her. Hard worker, and never wants to quit. We get birds from Fisher Creek Kennels as well. Healthy strong birds and good flushers.
Submitted by: Chad Phillips on Feb 08, 2010
We could not be more pleased with the puppies that Griffey sired for us. Great confirmation and on the ground running and hunting whenever they are let out. Mark is a fair and honest guy to deal with. He kept in touch and always called to check in to see how the pups were doing. We are definitly going back to Fisher Creek Kennels for future breedings outside of our kennel. Great Master Hunter bloodlines.

Chad Phillips, Phillips Gun Dogs

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Fisher Creek Kennels