Breeder Login
Username/Email: 
Password:   
  Forgot your password?
Find a Breeder Puppies For Sale Dog Trainers Hunting Preserves Forum Dog Pedigrees Post a Classified
Gun Dog Breeders - Breeder listings specializing in sporting dogs

Gun Dog Breeder Reviews for Chippewa Kennel

Testimonials (33) | Back to Chippewa Kennel
Submitted by: Jeff and Patti Wieland on Jan 20, 2014
"Breezy", our 8th Shorthair, is an 8 month old Morgan x Garrett pup whelped 4-30-2013. We really couldn't be happier with her as both hunting partner and family dog. We did a great deal of research on NAVHDA & DKV breeders before deciding on Howard and Vicki's Chippewa Kennels after seeing Morgan, Garrett, and several other Chippewa dogs at a reunion hunt. The deciding factors for us were: a personal recommend from a NAVHDA Judge and trusted wild bird hunter friend; the NAVHDA test history of Chippewa breedings; Howard's reputation as a hard-core hunter; Morgan and Garrett's test scores; the litter was a repeat breeding; Howard & Vicki's support of buyers with "puppy days" and advice; and the happy and stable natures of both sire and dam and other Chippewa dogs we met.

We've been blessed with wonderful shorthairs that were calm around home, good with kids and other dogs, and serious predators in the field. Patti and I decided that we wanted a really happy, outgoing, bold pup this time around, especially since a shorthair has to have some hutzpah to handle Central Oregon waterfowl hunting conditions. I can honestly say that Breezy is the real deal, although there were so many nice pups in her litter that it was a tough choice. As another buyer said, "We could have probably thrown darts and ended up with good pups."

Breezy is as bold as she is happy, and as talented as she is bold. Although I wasn't going to push her too fast just for the dove & grouse openers, she was clearly ready and gun broken at 16 weeks, so we've hunted grouse, ducks, quail, chukar, pheasant, and huns together, and except for the busted birds you'd expect from a young dog -- wild pheasant gave her fits at first, but she seemed to mostly figure them out by closing day -- I haven't really felt handicapped hunting a pup this season. She's got a great nose, a strong pointing instinct, and plenty of prey drive. She's an excellent marker and a solid tracker and land & water retriever. Although I make sure she doesn't get too cold at this young age, snow, sub-freezing temps, and retrieving ducks out of trout water hasn't phased her. As you might expect with her outgoing personality, she's got opinions and isn't afraid to express them, and although you couldn't call her hyper, she's smart and curious and definitely at her best with lots of exercise and when learning new things and working together.

Perhaps what pleases us most about Breezy is that we've just let her be herself and explore her world while teaching her manners. That's paid off in spades with a joyful pup that's as happy to be with us as she is to be hunting. We hope that Chippewa dogs are still available when we need our next german shorthair.
Submitted by: Jason Hall on Jan 02, 2014
A few years ago my wife & I purchased a beautiful black & roan GSP from Dr. Meyer at the Chippewa Kennel. Riley is a Garrett x Piper pup, and our first Shorthair. Riley has proven to be an extremely motivated hunting partner, fantastic house dog, and a generally great addition to our family. I went into this looking for a hunting partner, and surprisingly got a bonus when my wife decided to hunt as well. I believe the combination of the Chippewa Family & watching a fantastic dog work inspired her to take up the sport. To that I am very Thankful!

Riley is my first attempt at training a hunting dog, and with out some help, all the talent she has could have been wasted. The Chippewa family has done their best to train me, and I have applied all that knowledge towards training her. Either while attending a training event at Dr. Meyers, or during a NAVHDA training event, I always felt like the Chippewa family was there to help. Some things I tend to be a slow learner on, and for that being a part of the Chippewa family truly helped avoid learning the hard way. Anytime I was confused about what to do while training her, I could reach out for some help. Quite often, it was a simple conversation over the phone, and I could then resume training with confidence. Even with all my short comings, she has proven to be an excellent hunting dog!

Very talented dog + Chippewa Family = Great Hunting dog!
Submitted by: BRUCE MAULDIN on Dec 31, 2013
Our Chippewa pup is 2 years and 9 months. Mollie was 14 months when she passed her first hunting trials. We were so proud of her ability, and of course we were beaming with pride. Mollie has the best nose we have seen. We have hunted most of the upland game birds in two states and Mollie never tires! Mollie is our third GSP. You will never met finer people than Vickie and Howard Meyer who own the Chippewa Kennel. Finally, Mollie's parents are Gracie and Garrett.
Submitted by: Tom & Linda Lusby on Nov 17, 2013
It's been two years since I wrote the testimonial below about our two GSP's from Chippewa Kennel owned by Howard and Vickie Meyers. Ruby who is now eight continues to be a great hunter and family pet. Sage who is two years old is from Gracie and Garritt. She has the best nose of any hunting dog we have ever had. She points and holds birds at 10 to 20 feet away until I come up and kick the cover to flush the bird. She then retrieves the bird right back to me. Un like Ruby who we had trained, we had the pleasure and challenges of training Sage ourselves with support of Howard and several members of the Willamette Valley chaper of NAVHDA. We tested Sage at 10 months old in the NEVHDA Natural Ability test and she tested a Prize 1.

There were a couple of dog trainers from Minnasota hunting their dogs at the farm we hunted at this year in South Dakota and after watching Sage hunt were shocked she was opnly two years old. One said Sage was the best working pointer he had ever seen and he does a lot of dog trials with his pointers. They ask what Kennel she was from.
We can't say enough about Howard and Vickie and their Chippewa Kennel. Chippewa Kennel's produces great GSP's. We think Ruby and sage are their best.

Tom & Linda Lusnu

Submitted by: Melissa Mendelson on May 29, 2013
My husband and I got Bird, our female, from Howard & Vicky in 2011. She's the product of musical Gracie and handsome Garrett. We adore her and cannot imagine our life without her. She's our first dog and first GSP. We decided the day we brought her home that we'll forever have Shorthairs. Bird is so smart, snuggly, fast, and focused. She does so well tracking and pointing making it easy for two novice hunters. In addition, she's a great companion for runs, hikes, and this fall trying her paws at search and rescue. We love her and are forever grateful to Howard and Vicky for sharing such a wonderful pup with us.
For the hunter-oriented shopper, Bird scored a prize II at 6 months (1 point shy of a prize I). Her focus and eagerness to get on Birds is impressive to even the most experienced hunters. Plus, she looks pretty sharp in an orange vest holding a point.
Submitted by: Jim Petersen on May 25, 2013
At less than a year old, our pup Ike (Morgan x Garrett, 2012) is shaping up to be an amazing dog. He earned his NAVHDA Natural Ability prize 1 at just 9 months of age. Besides being a natural hunter, he's a wonderful family companion and is great with our kids.
Submitted by: Philip Spulnik on May 23, 2013
I have owned 5 pointers that were excellent hunters but Luke is far and above the best hunting dog I have ever owned. We got Luke from Howard in Dec. of 2011. I tested (NAVHDA Natural Ability) Luke at 5 1/2 months and he scored a perfect 112 pts. This was the last pick of the 4 males in the litter!!! If you live close by Howard will help you with getting your puppy started. He always gets back to me with answers to the many questions I have about training issues. This past year I hunted Luke on pheasants, chukar, huns and quail. He performed as well as a seasoned hunting dog.
Submitted by: Kevin Hawkins on Mar 13, 2012
I purchased a puppy from Howard 4 years ago and could not be happier with the dog or Howard. My Dog hunts wild birds between 30 and 60 days each year and is pleasure to have around the other 300 days. He was very easy to train, (naturally points, backs other dogs, tracks, retrieves) and is still eager to learn whatever I might be teaching him to do. My dog is a smaller male (50 lbs) his best assets are his calm demeanor, superior nose, and stamina.

He hunts methodically whether I am hunting by myself or with 6 others with the right amount of fire and intensity that I love shorthairs for and also with a lot of self control that many shorthairs could use more of.

His nose is not to be questioned. If this dog says there's no bird, move on. If a bird goes down shot he will retrieve it no doubts. Of the hundreds of birds shot over him this year I cannot recall any that came up behind him or ANY that were not found after being shot. He had several retrieves over 400 yards this year.

Often times I will hunt 3 or 4 days in a row. Full days rocky ground. No foot problems. I am a one dog guy and it is so nice to be able to leave town and count on hunting for a long weekend knowing my dog will be in the game the whole time.

Howard has put a lot of time, talent, and attention into developing his dogs. He really cares about his dogs and customers selling only to serious hunters and following up his sales with training advice, opportunities and an open phone line for questions or hunting reports. I have yet to find another breeder who produces a dog I would rather have or that I would rather buy from.
Submitted by: Tom Lusby on Dec 20, 2011
It's been 3 years sense I submitted the testimonial on Rube our now 5 year old GSP we got from Chippewa Kennel. We continue to hunt every year both South Dakota and Oregon and Ruby does an unbelevable job. She pointed and held the point and then retrieved maybe 75 birds this year. She hunts hard from day light to dark and is ready to go first thing the next day. Everyone that has seen her hunting says she's the best bird dog they have ever been around. She is also a great family dog. Howard and Vicki owners of Chippewa Kennel knows how to breed great GSP. We have just purchased a new pup from Chippewa Kennel which we named Sage. She is from Gracie and Garrett and If she is half as good of a hunter as her Aunt (Ruby) she will be great.
Submitted by: Bryan Thomas on Dec 07, 2011
Just wanted to let everyone know how much I think of my dog Kona, who is 5 years old. I have been able to do my first serious hunting with Kona. We went to a game reserve in August in Central Wa. We put out 6 chuckars in that heat. Very little scent was availble due to the dryness and the heat. Kona was tireless. He was in every nook and cranny where a bird could be. He eventually found 4 of the 6 and I accidentaly walked one up. Its just exciting to watch him work. It is my poetry for the soul. Since Aug, I have done six weekends of hunting at state release sites in Wa. He has always found birds at these sites which is hard due to the pressure of so many hunters. He is a big love and craves attention. He is a very beautiful dog and gets lots of compliments. I would definetly recommend that you see Howard if you are looking for a hunting GSP. You will not be disappointed. When it is Kona's time I will be seeing Howard for my next dog.
Submitted by: Barbara on Sep 20, 2011
I have been a bit slow to write this testimonial because of the tone it would have to take – gushy and boastful. But what the heck, here it finally goes: I am insanely crazy about Nyima, my 6 year old male GSP that I got as a pup from Chippewa Kennels. Howard told me that he had second thoughts about selling one of his pups to a non-hunter, but decided (thankfully!) to take a chance on me. Nyima is my third GSP and frankly, I cannot imagine owning (make that: ‘sharing my life with’) any other breed. In the summer we spend about 8-10 hours every week hiking locally – slightly less time in the winter months. We were down about 1 ½ months early this summer recovering from a strained CCL (boy, was he not happy when I’d insist that he slow down). Fortunately, he recovered quickly and we returned to our normal routine. If I had no other perspective than that of the people who see us out together, Nyima would simply be “beautiful, muscular, well-trained, obedient…” Being with him in the out-of-doors is pure joy. He is so happy to be on a trail, in the woods, or in open fields. Nose on the ground ; eyes spotting a duck at distance in a pond… He is so bloody intelligent – I swear he even knows what I’m going to do before I do it. When I put him into a heel, in short order he will drop back and pop up in a right side “heel.” I’m absolutely positive it’s because he knows I’m blind on that side. At home he’s pure love: sweet, affectionate, mellow. He has full run of the house when I’m at work. Never has chewed anything other than a toy; had only one in-house “accident before he “got it.”. For fun, we’re currently enrolled in an “odor work” class. The other folks in the class hope we’ll never compete against them because Nyima can find a “hide” in no time flat.

I don’t know what magic formula Howard uses for breeding such incredible dogs, but I am thankful he has it. I’m so grateful that he decided to let me have one of his pups! There is no denying that GSPs, regardless of the kind of home they go to, require a lot of training. But training a dog with so much natural potential is pure pleasure.

Submitted by: Kathy Barrett on Jul 14, 2011
Our GSP, Izzy, is now three years old and we are delighted with her. She has an incredible natural hunting ability and an equally wonderful disposition. People are always commenting on what a beautiful dog she is. We have appreciated Howard's willingness to advise and help as well.
Submitted by: Tom Paterson on May 31, 2011
Our 3 year-old Lacey, from Chippewa Kennel, came to us in the most unusual way, and we cannot thank Howard enough for making her move to our family happen. We had had a GSP for 14 years. After her death, we waited for two years before searching for another; our Chelsea had set a high standard. Then, I contacted breeders, humane societies, and rescue services hoping to find a two year-old or so. No luck, except that Howard had taken my name and number. One day in fall 2010 he called me and asked if I was still looking. "Yes," I said. "Your stars have just aligned." he replied. He told me that a GSP owner about 20 miles from my home had suddenly died and his daughter had called him asking what she should do, being unable to keep the dog. Howard kindly put us in contact and we soon adopted Lacey. Lacey is a strikingly beautiful, lean, loving family pet now. She knows her commands, has a great disposition (expressed toward people of all ages), has settled into our routines, and, full of energy, relishes her walks and trips to the dog park, where she fends off bullies by simply outracing them. She snuggles, greets visitors with kisses, and gets along with other dogs and even cats. A pure joy. Thanks, Howard.
Submitted by: Ed Fiez on May 28, 2011
I am a serious bird hunter with 40+ years of hunting chukars and pheasants over German Shorthaired Pointers. In the spring of 2010 I started my fifth puppy and the first from Chippewa Kennels. Annie (Grace X Dukes Chukar) was whelped on February 17, 2010 and hunting chukars in the Idaho Owhyee’s in early October. Her advancement during the season was outstanding and by the end of hunting in January was a seasoned hunter. She just completed (May 2011) her Natural Ability Test with the Willamette Chapter of NAVHDA earning a Prize 1. In addition to being an outstanding hunting companion, Annie is great yard and kennel dog and just loves being around people. I think this can be credited to Howard and Vicki in during a great job of with early pup development, especially with socializing these pups with human contact. Annie was very comfortable with us at 7 weeks and already responded to the don’t do list of bad puppy behavior. I am really happy with Annie and the support and help I have received from Chippewa Kennels. I highly recommend their kennel for the combination of great genetic, early pup development and follow-up support
Submitted by: R. Drew Falkenstein on May 05, 2011
I last posted a testimonial at the end of 2008. My Chippewa shorthair Ryder had just completed her first season. We've been on countless wild birds since, and its been a pleasure to watch her develop into the exceptional animal that she is today. The genetic ability in Chippewa dogs is plain to see. My hunting partner has taken to calling her "Radar" after last year's performance on early season sharptails in Montana. That's as good a compliment as a foot-hunting, wild-bird enthusiast could get I guess, but its one that probably goes more to lineage, and Howard's breeding program, than anything i've done. These dogs are just exceptional.
Submitted by: Matt Hendrickson on May 17, 2010
Let me start by saying I found Chippewa Kennels here on Gun Dog Breeders. After reading all the testimonials and talking to Howard I knew I had found the breeder I wanted. Howard is always willing to help and give advice in a positive way. I got Cooter just over a year ago and can’t believe what a great dog he is. He has gone way past my expectations and just like all the others they are great family dogs. I would like to say that these dogs when out of the field are the mellowest GSP I have ever seen. Every one of these dogs I have seen is so willing to please and also easy to work with. I look forward to getting another Chippewa pup soon. Cooter got a prize 2 at 103 in his natural ability test 3 weeks ago. I would highly recommend Howard to anyone that is serious about a truly great hunting dog.
Submitted by: Larry Cordes on Jan 26, 2010
I have been extremely impressed and pleased with my Chippewa GSP, Bella(Gracie x Cody 2009). At 8 months she scored a 112 (maximum possible) on the Navhda Natural Ability test. Within a few weeks of the start of her first season she was hunting at a level that my previous dogs had not reached until the age of 2 or 3 years. She maintains a comfortable walking range, keeps track of me, points, and retrieves (land and water). Her temperment is outstanding. In fact I'm not sure what she enjoys more - chukar hunting with me or lounging on the couch with the kids watching American Idol.
Submitted by: Seth Bynum on Nov 13, 2009
Halfway through my pup's first hunting season, I can say without any reservation that Howard Meyer's dogs are loaded with natural ability, drive and intelligence.

I came across Chippewa Kennels from Gun Dog Breeders.com and I'll definitely be going back to Howard for my next pup.

I own a male from the 2009 Gracie x Cody litter, and this little dynamo has exceeded every expectation I have set for him. We just returned from three weeks in Montana, where River pointed and retrieved dozens of wild pheasants, sharp-tailed grouse, and huns.

Along with four of his littermates, River earned a 112 Prize I in his NAVHDA Natural Ability test in August 2009, at just shy of 8 months old.

River is a total athlete and a sight to behold in the field. He can hunt tirelessly in the chukar hills for 8 hours, bust through thick cover to find pheasants and slog through thick, weedy ponds to fetch downed waterfowl.

Without a doubt, River has a wonderfully well-balanced disposition. At home, he's as much a sweetheart as his mother, Gracie. He is obedient and loves to please (even when his puppy desires get the best of him), eagerly greets visitors (if sometimes a bit too eagerly!) and is an instant, playful friend to every dog he's ever met.

And he's a looker, too. Gracie's "hot roan" coloring makes River one of the best looking shorthairs I've ever seen. I can't count the number of compliments I've received about what a good looking dog River is.

Don't hesitate to contact Howard if you're interested in a fantastic hunting companion and loyal member of the family. He has been very accommodating from the moment I first met him. Howard runs a truly first-class facility and he goes out of his way to help new puppy owners set their dogs up for success!
Submitted by: Larry Kruckenberg on Mar 01, 2009
I've known Howard Meyer since 2004 and have purchased 2 GSP pups from him since that time - full sisters, albeit from 2 different breedings of Cody and Delta. Both were Prize I NA pups at 7.3 and 8.1 months respectively. They were easy to train and they have turned out to be exceptional bird dogs. I bought my first shorthair in 1975 and have owned many since. But I can say, without reservation, that these 2 are the best I've ever partnered with. They are both family dogs and tireless hunters. Their desire to hunt and please knows no limits.

We hunt hard and often during a 5-month bird season, logging about 50 days on the western landscape from Alberta to Oklahoma and North Dakota to Arizona, pursuing everything from quail to sage grouse and all-sized fowl in between. These dogs never miss a beat. They have great noses, are staunch pointers and also retrieve very well.

I've had the pleasure of spending time in the field hunting with Howard Meyer and his dogs. I've also seen his kennel firsthand. He and his dogs are first class, and so is his operation. To my way of thinking, Howard is the quintessential dog breeder, especially for the walking hunter, and one who always has your best interests in mind. The legacy of Chippewa Kennel contines to grow with each litter produced. If you're looking for a consciencious breeder who raises and sells exceptional GSP puppies and started dogs, I would highly recommend you contact Chippewa Kennel.
Submitted by: Mark Barrett on Jan 11, 2009
I have an 9month old GSP from Chippewa,and she is nothing short of a great dog. Izzy is my first experience with raising/training a pointer. She has a sweet disposition and an obvious desire to please whether in the field hunting or hanging around the house. Howard has been a great help with introducing Izzy to birds and sharing his knowledge and experience in training pointers as well. Overall, awesome dog!
Submitted by: Mike McClelland on Dec 17, 2008
Switch is a male 2 yrs old from Delta and Cody 2006
in short he a a hunting machine with a happy and kind disposition his desire to hunt is unmatched by any other dog i have owned!

Mike McClelland
Cardwell Gamebirds
Submitted by: Jay Parker on Dec 15, 2008
Training , hunting, and living with Fossil, my 2+ year old GSP from Chippewa Kennel has been nothing but a good experience. From the get go this pup has been all business on birds and has not required any sort of force training. I am especially impressed with his long tracking retrieves on winged and running birds - none of which have ever been crunched, he is a soft mouthed natural retriever ready to enter thick cover, water, whatever. I am a novice handler/trainer who has just given this pup ample opportunity on pigeons and wild birds and I have not had any "issues" or bad behaviors to correct. I've trained a good solid "whoa", and "here" and now I've got a great gun dog who will hunt with me without the use of an e-collar to keep him in range. He's hunted 13 species of birds so far - from snipe to honkers - with enthusiasm for everything. He is also a very friendly and gentle house dog to boot - very safe with visiting toddlers, etc.. I can't thank Howard enough for this dog, and look forward to getting another soon.
Submitted by: Phil Swain on Dec 15, 2008
I have been hunting and judging GSP's for over 30 years. I have hunted with Dr. Meyer, and hunted and judged his dogs and that is why I chose to use a Chippewa bitch to breed to one of my males. Chippewa GSP's are high energy, family friendly hunters who demonstrate the characteristics of GSP's that have made them a top choice for hunters for years. Whether a hard days hunt or laying in front of the fire with the kids, Howard's Shorthairs are some of the best I've seen. At 8 months, my puppy is an awesome dog with great prospects.
Submitted by: Jeff on Dec 11, 2008
Spent 2 years looking for a GSP in the PNW. Have 2 Chippewa GSP's. What else can I say. I can not say enough positive things about Howard, Vicki, and these wonderful dogs!

THESE ARE REAL FAMILY HUNTING DOGS, not some field trial or puppy mill product that is all too common these days.
Submitted by: Truman Sturdevant on Dec 09, 2008
Gino, purchased from Chippewa Kennel as a started eleven month old GSP is progressing very well. He has a great disposition, is easy to train, is a great retriever and has excellent endurance. His first season included a South Dakota pheasant hunt, where he was a big factor in four hunters shooting their limit.
Submitted by: James Costamagna on Dec 09, 2008
My puppy form Chippewa Kennel is now 9 months old. She has been hunting on 5 different occasions. She started pointing by mid day of her first hunt. On her last hunt she tracked down and retrieved a wounded Roster. What can I say she is a fantastic hunter. Thank you Howard Meyer
Submitted by: Francis Merriman on Dec 09, 2008
I obtained my German Shorthair Pointer from Chippewa Kennel in September of 2005. I have hunted with my GSP (Bosch) starting in September of 2006 and we have just completed our third very successful pheasant season here in Washington State. My GSP has a great temperament and the best nose for finding birds of any GSP that I have ever owned. I will put my GSP up against any other hunting dog in the field for his ability to find birds. He will hold a rock solid point and retrieve to hand every bird that I shoot. I found my experience of obtaining a GSP from Chippewa Kennel to be very pleasant and professional. I personally recommend Chippewa Kennels for there great line of German Shorthair Pointers. I am looking forward to obtaining another GSP from Chippewa Kennel’s in the future.

Frank Merriman
Port Orchard WA
Submitted by: Tom Lusby on Dec 09, 2008
I bought a German Shorthair pup (Ruby) from Chippewa Kennel in 2006. She has turned out to be the best upland bird dog I have ever had. She is also a great family pet. Howard Meyer owner of Chippewa Kennel is the most knowledgeable dog breeder an trainer I have been associated with. He follows the life of ever pup he sells. When ever I had questions during Ruby's training I could call or email Howard with my questions and he would get right back to me with suggestions. I just returned from hunting in South Dakota (Ruby's third trip)and she pointed or flushed every bird I got (25 roosters). She also retrieved ever bird. I would be glad to talk to anyone about Chippewa Kennels and Howard Meyer.

Tom Lusby
Submitted by: Ben on Dec 09, 2008
I recieved a pup from Chippewa Kennels and couln't be more satisfied. He is both an indoor pet and hunting companion. He has pointed,tracked and retrieved at five months to get my sons first pheasant. He is now 8 months and is retrieving ducks. He will recieve his natuaral ability test this spring. I'm confident he will pass with flying colors. Howard knows how to breed the perfect dog.
Submitted by: R. Drew Falkenstein on Dec 09, 2008
I have a liver and roan pup from Delta and Cody's November 2007 litter. Simply put, her maturity and competence in the field are astonishing. Ten to twelve month old pups have no business doing the things shes done this year. I don't consider myself an expert, but I've certainly seen a few dogs work, and the fundamental attributes that she so obviously possesses (primarily nose, desire, and biddability) can only be product of a first-rate breeding program. You don't produce dogs like this by chance.
Submitted by: Alan Romm on Dec 08, 2008
As a family owner of shorthairs for over 34 years and having some 8 hunting buddies with shorthairs that are all a direct result of my previous or current dog(s)I can honestly say our puppy has exceeded our very high expectations. The natural abilty of our puppy has come through in flying colors. I would say she is the best puppy we have ever seen in action. Even though we were not able to work with her as much as we had intended she still is an amazing dog and a great addition to our family. Hunting with her is way too easy unlike most young dogs she is all business in the field. In her first season she is pointing and holding wild birds, and retrieving to hand and working great with 1 to 4 other dogs and hunters each time out. Howard is a stand up fellow whom offers help at every turn, and whos primary concern is for his dogs and his clients...unlike many kennels whom the primary concern is $$$. We will be calling on him again when the need arises for a new hunting partner, as will my friends. All my family can say is thanks Howard.
Submitted by: Kevin Hawkins on Dec 08, 2008
I had been looking for a German Shorthair pup for about 6 months when I met Howard. After meeting him, his dogs, and watching his dogs in action I had no doubts that he was producing the best dogs for what I wanted. My Chippewa pup is now 9 months old and has completely exceeded my expectations. The pup is showing an exceptional prey drive and sense of smell. He points, tracks, honors other dogs' points, and retrieves very consistently with minimal training. The dog has a wonderful, calm disposition and impresses me daily with his intelligence and desire to learn. In addition to producing outstanding pups, Howard is a great guy to do business with and was very helpful with puppy training tips and advice. I will definitely buy another pup from him in the future.
Submitted by: Rick Schaefer on Dec 08, 2008
It has been my pleasure to own a Chippewa GSP for the past two years. My experience with the breeder was very positive, and the pup has proven to be exceptional. "Rose" is 2yrs and 4mo. old. She is an aggressive hunter who ranges widely when hunting chuker, but can be held in close when working pheasent. Rose points dependably and she retrieves readily to hand. She performs blind retrieves on land and in water. Six weeks ago I handled her down a 15' bank, across the Malhure river, up the other bank and into a thicket of willows to retrieve a downed mallard. Good house dog too!

>> Submit your testimonial | Back to Chippewa Kennel